We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value and good food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rose and Crown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Rose and Crown to your Saves list
Rose and Crown
30 Market Place, Warwick CV34 4SH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 25 Warwick B&B and Inns
Solihull
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Excellent value and good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We eat here for our business meetings and usually phone ahead with our orders. Food is always great and service excellent. Would not hesitate to recommend for a group or business lunch. Evenings tend to be a bit too busy for eating as used as a venue for people meeting up forntheir night out.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    76
    24
    15
    6
See reviews for
41
90
8
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

I went with two friends on Tuesday August 21. I had the salmon fishcake. It was enormous! But delicious. I'd not recommend having the chips - reason being there was a lot of potato in the fishcake and chips were delicious but a bit much and I couldn't manage a pudding! I'd go for a salad next time. The menu was reasonable and there was lots of variety. There was also a specials board. I'm going to go back next time I'm in Warwick. My friends had the bangers and mash and the BBQ chicken and both said they were v good. The deserts weren't that inspiring unfortunately but I didn't try as I was too full!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookline, MA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We stayed for two weeks while I was on business in the area. This is a local pub with a few rooms overhead. Our room was large and well furnished for a room over a pub. Staff was more than friendly and attentive, which really means something when they have large crowds of local people gathering in the evening for drinks and, in many cases, dinner. The menu is limited but good and varies with the day of the week. It is a B&B and breakfast can be anything from toast to a Full English Breakfast. Cereal, toast and juice is self served. Cooked breakfast was, when we had it, very well done.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Had a large family gathering at the Rose and Crown on Saturday evening. We were a very large group and I have to praise everyone with the way they looked after us. Everything was very well organised and the food was excellent. Thank you Gemma you made our evening very special.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

I just popped in for a quick bite to eat. The meat platter was fantastic. The beef was rare, the pork really tasty, the sausages hot, the bread warm, the pickles sweet and the service just right. All simple things but excellently done.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hackensack, New Jersey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

We visited in July for 1 night, making our reservation through Booking.com. Upon arrival, we were shown the wrong room, a very small room on the first floor with one bed. Since I had booked a room for 3,(and all 3 of us were standing there) it was obviously incorrect, and then we were shown a large room on the top floor with a queen bed and a single bed which was quite nice, except there was a mystery water stain (still wet, quite big, about 1' x 2 1/2') outside the bathroom door. The man who showed us the room told us that he had 2 bookings for the same name for the night (really?) and that is why we were shown the smaller room. My main complaint is that when we went to check out, I paid the bill as Booking .com says that you pay the hotel direct, even though Booking.com does require your credit card number. I was assured that the credit card had not been charged, so I paid the bill (fortunately on the same credit card) and when I accessed my account upon arriving home, found that I had indeed been double charged, one the charge I authorized listed as The Rose and Crown and one from www.roseandcrownwarwic, for exactly the same amount (down to the pennyas this was with a conversion from pounds to $!). I sent an e-mail when the mistake was discovered, and 2 weeks later I have heard nothing, so I contacted the credit card company.

I also would like to point out that there is no parking available except on the street with meters, and that the car must be moved by 9 am to avoid charge, and parking is only permitted in 1/2 hour intervals, no repeats, so it is hard to enjoy breakfast when dealing with this time frame. Parking is free after 6pm so no problem at night, if you are lucky enough to get a convenient space.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peach_Pubs, on behalf of the manager at Rose and Crown, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review us. It’s a great help for us to see and hear what our guests experience, so we can make sure we improve and ensure everyone has a great time, and in turn come back.
We are sorry that you were double charged for your room we have since refunded for the over charge. We are upset to hear that you did not receive a response from us when you emailed as we strive to respond to every email, unfortunately yours was somehow missed. We are in the process of re-energising our rooms and we started with the carpet area outside the bathroom in the room where you stayed.
Once again I do hope you accept our apologies, as we do endeavour to make everybody have a great experience with us. If you do come back over to Warwick please email or call and we will make sure that you have the experience that we always try to deliver.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Situated in the middle of Warwick it has five ensuite rooms. Ours was big enough to accommodate a third bed. Contemporary decor to a high standard. Clean and very comfortable with the full range of amenities. The rooms are above a very popular bar/restaurant open from breakfast until the early hours. The bar had a great atmosphere. The restaurant and food were excellent in both quality and value for money. The staff deserve a special mention, helpful, efficient and served you with a smile. Once you've found the place and worked out the car parking arrangements (NO CAR PARK), you'll have a great stay. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rose and Crown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose and Crown

Address: 30 Market Place, Warwick CV34 4SH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Warwick
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Warwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Rose and Crown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rose And Crown Hotel Warwick
Rose And Crown Warwick

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rose and Crown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.