We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice old pub in the centre of Warwick” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Roebuck Inn

The Roebuck Inn
57 Smith Street, Warwick, England
01926494900
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 105 restaurants in Warwick
Price range: $9 - $26
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Roebuck Inn is Warwick's oldest Public House, dating back to 1470. Located on the historic Smith Street, and a stone's throw from the world famous Warwick Castle, The Roebuck is a favourite for food and drinks throughout the day and night.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Nice old pub in the centre of Warwick”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012 via mobile

Called in for spot of lunch and a break on a long journey.
The bar area is quite large, but split into several areas which is nice: where I was sat there are serial low tables and leather chairs which were comfortable.
Three hand pumps and a selection of typical draught beers but only one draught cider. The food menu seemed good value with the sandwiches in particular very good for the money: I had a nice fresh granary bread and tasty B.L.T. filling.
Friendly staff, beer and tasty food: worth a look.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dilia S, Owner at The Roebuck Inn, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Thank you for your review, I'm glad you enjoyed your sandwich!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    51
    38
    10
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Lovely atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I visited with friends and we were all very impressed with the interior of the Roebuck. Our meals were delicious but not over generous and I managed my meal with ease, in spite of having a small appetite. Puddings were also good but again, more of a taster! Our glasses of wine were pricey but good quality. Having said this, I would return but perhaps have soup first to fill up! As long as you're not expecting a big plateful of food, come to this pub and enjoy its lively and immaculate atmosphere.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dilia S, Owner at The Roebuck Inn, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Hello, thank you so much for your positive review- pleased to find that you enjoyed the atmosphere and your food!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warwick
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice local”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Visit this pub if you like a pleasant surroundings, they do good food with a variety of home cooked meals on the menu.
This is the oldest pub in Warwick.
Have your lunch here and get good food at a reasonable price before you visit the castle and pay a fortune.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dilia S, Owner at The Roebuck Inn, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Thanks so much for your review! We are glad you like the pub and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Such a friendly, quaint pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We went here for drinks after dinner in the Warwick Spice. Fab atmosphere, very welcoming.

Lovely wine aswel!!

KR

L

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dilia S, Owner at The Roebuck Inn, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Thank you, pleased that you enjoyed the atmosphere and the wine!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London England
Top Contributor
306 reviews 306 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
“Lively atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stopped here for drinks after the Halloween experience in the castle and found that it had a very lively atmosphere,the drinks were also reasonably priced.

We did not sit down or try any of the food so I cannot comment on this.

Handy location being only a few minutes walk from the main area.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Roebuck Inn also viewed

Warwick, Warwickshire
Warwick, Warwickshire
 
Warwick, Warwickshire
Warwick, Warwickshire
 

Been to The Roebuck Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Roebuck Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.