We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dinner with friends” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Globe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Globe to your Saves list
The Globe
3.5 of 5 Guest house   |   10 Theatre Street, Warwick CV34 4DP, England (Formerly The Lazy Cow)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 25 Warwick B&B and Inns
Astwood Bank, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“dinner with friends”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Five of us booked a table for dinner and on arrival were greeted by a free glass of champagne . The globe were celebrating the reopening of the premises after a refurb.
The exterior and interior have been given a face lift and the new seating is a big improvement as is the stylish decor in the restaurant area . The Bar was buzzing and inviting . We were warmly welcomed and shown to our table . The new menu offers a wide choice of food including sharing platters to start. We ordered the seafood platter and the little Spanish savoury pastries .
We had a range of main courses ,The house burger was excellent as was the slow cooked pork belly ,the friend who ordered chicken picanto said it was amazing.We were all too full for desert but there is a tempting selection on offer. The service was extremely charming and professional , we really felt at ease and looked after. The new regime here have kept the prices to a very affordable level giving excellent value for the quality product and service we enjoyed . All in all a truly lovely experience we will be back soon ,Just wish we lived closer .

Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
6
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Came here with friends just after it opened (wednesday 29th April) and thought we'd try it out after changing from the lazy cow, back to it's old name the globe, with brand new owners/managers en tow!
Well what can i say! Fantastic! Great new menu, all with alot of mediteranean influences, sharing platters, great steaks, great service along with great food! Had a seat near the open kitchen, brilliant to see all the chef's work hard who don't get the recognition they deserve sometimes, & the waiting staff very attentive, yet unintrusive
I will definately come back real soon.
#teamglobe

Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Ate here before it was rebranded and it was called the lazy cow. food was absolutely gorgeous and staff were really tentative with their service.

Came back here in march for my 21st birthday meal after the re brand, and it just didn't live up to the previous experience. Food was good, but not great.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A family mini-break for just the one night and meal in their restaurant.
ROOM: When we arrived at room 10, it was commented there was only one bed and was just about to walk out to complain when we discovered a door to a second room (kids room with Wii), great to have separate sleeping areas meaning we could ....... watch tv later!!! Only down side was the bathroom was the far side of the kids room, which meant tip-toes if caught short in the night and the kids tv only worked with the games machine, so no lay in. In the bathroom there was a large shower with an equally large shower head, but disappointingly not much pressure and water to match the size.
PARKING: There is no parking at the hotel but there is a car park (£4 for 24hrs) very close-by but those with walking difficulties will struggle as on a hill.
RESTAURANT: The prices weren't cheap but not overly expensive but believe me you get what you pay for. Amazing, what can I say, the service was good, Maurice (aka Sam) was informative and polite, the food was not only good but generous in portion size, compliments to the chef. After a couple of hours scoffing we sat there like happy stuffed little piggies.

Room Tip: Room 10 has two rooms, one for adults, one for kids with the extra bonus of a Wii in the kids room w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, UK
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here for one night in March. Receptionist very helpful. Room (a superior one apparently) was nice enough but needed a bit of TLC. The desk has definitely seen better days and there were a few chips in the paintwork. Nothing that would stop me staying here again you understand but for a superior room you may well expect more. Jacuzzi bath was nice and clean but noisy (aren't they always?). Decor in rooms is best described as Classic Nightclub (gold ceilings!), not unpleasant but a bit on the dark side. Thin walls. We now know a little bit too much about our neighbours piccadilloes. Quiet despite being very close to the town centre - but as that town is Warwick perhaps not surprising. Despite it being busy in the pub/restaurant downstairs we were not disturbed. Nice big TV. Comfy beds. Toweling robes, Nespresso machine, you know the kind of thing...

Breakfast was excellent in all respects. Good service. Plenty of decent food. No rush.

All in all a very good place to stay if you want to be close to all that Warwick has to offer. Would recommend, especially if you can get a good deal on the room.

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

After some administrative difficulties at the reception, I was escorted to my room.
A very luxurious room, almost exactly as in the pictures. The technical state of the bathroom could be better, but that was on schedule to be replaced in a few weeks after my stay.
I'd definitely come back there next time.
Only thing is that the rooms are quite noisy.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

My stay at The Globe was really nice. Very cosy yet modern rooms, incredibly good kitchen, nice beers and very nice and attentive staff. I would recommend anyone to spend a night or more at this place!

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Globe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Globe

Address: 10 Theatre Street, Warwick CV34 4DP, England (Formerly The Lazy Cow)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Warwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Warwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Globe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Globe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lazy Cow Hotel Warwick

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Globe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.