We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing open in winter” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Warwick Castle

Warwick Castle
Castle Lane, Warwick CV34 4QU, England
0871 265 2000
Website
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #11 of 18 attractions in Warwick
Type: Castles, Historic Sites
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Imagine a totally electrifying day out at Britain’s ultimate castle. Where you can immerse yourself in a thousand years of jaw-dropping history – come rain or shine.Where ancient myths and spell-binding tales set your imagination alight, and your hair on end. Where princesses are pampered and maidens are wooed, as winners become true heroes and losers are confined to dark, dank dungeons to be forgotten for eternity. It could only be Warwick Castle.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Hull
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Nothing open in winter”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

We spent 4 hours here on a coach trip & there wasn't much going on. As it was winter most of the shows were seasonal so not on. It was a very cold day, so even sitting outside was not possible. I'm disappointed that even when you pay admission, these places still choose to charge you for most of the entertainment inside. Depend what you like but to me this was boring & expensive if you actually want to do anything here. Not really for young kids either as (unless your made of money) there isn't anything to see or do (in winter months) we went in feb. I'm unsure why this is even open those times of year.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick_Manager, Guest Experience at Warwick Castle, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you for your review Mossybird. It’s disappointing to hear you felt there wasn’t much going on during your visit. We do vary our entertainment schedule through the year including fewer outdoor shows and more indoor talks and tours over the winter plus special events such as our recent ‘Warwick at the Movies’ exhibition. We will make sure your feedback gets passed to the relevant teams for consideration as they look to plan next winter’s entertainment schedule. Thank you again for your review and we hope you will visit again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,683 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,429
    1,177
    533
    307
    237
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Top Contributor
368 reviews 368 reviews
188 attraction reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
218 helpful votes 218 helpful votes
“The Warwick trap!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

If you have small children, they might like it and even enjoy the visit to Warwick Castle. But, if you don't have small children, avoid Warwick Castle. We visited it last October and found it quite disappointing, at least from our point of view. Too much restoration was done in the Castle, transforming it in something much more like a Disney World attraction: it looks fake. Too fake and overcrowded. The acting parts are poor and silly. The wax figures representing the Court of King Henry VIII are tacky and kitsch. Additional fees, here and there, are ridiculous. A real touristic trap. London has many other much more interesting attractions for adults and teenagers and at even better prices. Why losing time and money at Warwick? I wouldn't recommend a visit to anyone, not even to an enemy (if I had one). Avoid!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick_Manager, Guest Experience at Warwick Castle, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Hello Luizdutraneto, thank you for your review. We are disappointed to read some of your comments about your visit and would appreciate hearing some more details from you about this. Please feel free to get in touch (you can find out how from the ‘Contact us’ page of our website) if you would like to discuss your comments further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Disappointing, but took up the whole day”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

We have a Merlin annual pass so this was on our hit list. Thankfully parking is included with the pass so that wasn't an issue. I'd really been looking forward to going and read all the hype so was expecting quite a lot, we managed to get there on the last day of the Christmas decorations, it was cold and rainy but that didn't overly bother us. I thought that it would appear more festive but it didn't. All the staff in costume were friendly enough playing their parts. The Merlin Tower was alright but I don't think it's worth paying the extra.
The princess tower was advertised for younger children upto 8 years (my son is 5) and I wondered why they were asking if we were sure we wanted to go in, I thought this seemed quite sexist as they only asked us and not others with young girls. As it happens it was a very 'girly' experience of not very bright princess looking for prince in shining armour story, and that's all it was a story. As it happens he really enjoyed it and his 18 month old sister did too, I think it would be one to take the little ones to while the older ones go in the dungeon!
The highlight of the day was the duelling gentleman show, this was done with a good sense of humour for both children and adults and there was the added drama with booing and cheering as well. Well done to them.
If you walk across the walls allow plenty of time and take a drink, it's one way and an awful lot of steps, it's worth it for the amazing views though.
We took our buggy and quite quickly realised we weren't going to use it for most of the day as most places were inaccessible (castle gives it away really) and there weren't many places to leave it, especially in the rain. As it wasn't busy we parked it in the one undercover buggy park and left it there for the day and just used a carrier, thankfully we'd taken it with us.
I'd visit again in better weather to give it another chance as the weather did get colder and windier as the day went on, we gave up on the bird show as it was really windy and they only had one bird out, again I don't know whether this was because of the weather.
Overall it left an impression on us and we want to go back as we're sure we've missed loads but not entirely sure what. If you're going to go don't pay full price as there are always offers and I think I'd possibly look at the two day special offers (I think it was 2nd day for £1) so you're not rushing as there wasn't much on when we went and we were still there until closing. Overall a very mixed feeling.

Needs better signposting for accessible routes and lifts were difficult to figure out in the watermill (couldn't get the doors open for ages)

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick_Manager, Guest Experience at Warwick Castle, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you for your review of your Christmas visit to Warwick Castle hugjen, we’re pleased to hear you generally enjoyed your day and are hoping to return in the future. We’re pleased to hear about how friendly you found all of our costume characters and that the Duelling Gents fighting show was the highlight of your day. We’re happy to hear your children enjoyed the Princess Tower although it’s disappointing to hear of your experience entering this area and so I have passed your comments onto the relevant attraction manager. It’s good to hear you found a convenient undercover buggy parking area here; we are currently looking to add more buggy parking areas around site. Thank you once again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back, perhaps your little ones would enjoy our Mike the Knight or Horrible Histories events?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Spoilt by prejudice.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

We visited warwick castle last summer. My 12 year old who is severely autistic was laughed at by to kiosk attendants. When speaking with the management I was informed that this could not possibly have happened and they refused to take any further. Somewhat medieval attitude. Also, whereas a number of attractions within the castle used to be free now there is a fee charged for everything and the old dungeons have been turned in to some sort of cinema ( for which there is an additional fee!) Prejudice and expensive.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick_Manager, Guest Experience at Warwick Castle, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear 92AnnB, thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear of the experience you had during your visit and would like to discuss this with you in more detail. Please refer to the ‘Contact Us’ page of our website to get in touch. We hope to hear from you soon so we can investigate further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A Good Day Out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

We visited the Castle twice last year mainly because we ran out of time to see all the attractions, the day we went the birds of prey were on display which was incredible to watch, on our second occasion there was a re-enactment group showing their display of fighting skills.
The visit to the dungeons is one not too miss, however don't be surprised if your children are close to the minimum age for entry that they want to leave before they go past the first level. The actors (as in all the displays) make this a scary and very enjoyable experience.
We booked ours on a 2 for 1 ticket which makes it a cheaper experience.
Well worth a visit and look out for cheap deals

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick_Manager, Guest Experience at Warwick Castle, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you for your great five star review of your two recent days out at Warwick Castle 186424David_M! We’re pleased to hear you were impressed with our actors and their scaring skills within the Castle Dungeon. We’re also happy to hear your two visits allowed you to make the most of our varied entertainment schedule which changes throughout the year. Thank you again for your feedback (and tips for future visitors!) and we hope you’ll visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Warwick Castle also viewed

Kenilworth, Warwickshire
Warwick, Warwickshire
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to Warwick Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Warwick Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Warwick Castle to your Saves list