We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Warwick - Stratford Upon Avon to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Warwick - Stratford Upon Avon
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stratford Road | M40 Jct.15, Warwick CV34 6TW, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Warwick
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Perth, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Travelling back to Scotland by car we stopped off for an overnight stay having booked by phone only an hour previously. Service at reception was friendly, the room was well up to standard, dinner, which was excellent, was able to be booked by reception at the "Porridge Pot" (Pub and Carvery) next door. Next morning the breakfast, which was included in the price, was mostly continental but cooked sausages, scrambled eggs and beans were available for those who wanted more.
The price was very reasonable and the location was good and very quiet.
I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    273
    107
    29
    7
See reviews for
186
200
23
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Five of us booked into this hotel aware that it would not be up to the Holiday inn Hotels standards, well was I wrong, being an express hotel did not vary from the bigger hotels upper class standard. The staff were very helpful, the rooms were adequate and had everything at hand. I cannot faulter the rooms or staff, however the only reason I gave it four stars is because they only had scrambled egg, sausage and beans for breakfast. The full english seems to have disappeared, however there was sufficient cereals, etc. I feel it essential to also mention that onsite there is a restaurant called the Porridge Pot, I highly recommend this for atmosphere, food and service.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Now that this particular Holiday Inn Express has completed its make-over, it regains my 'recommended' status. Located in its own grounds, close by J15 of the M40, it is ideal for Warwick's attractions and also Leamington Spa, Stratford-upon-Avon, et al.
It is possible to get some very good rates at certain times and, as a commendable breakfast is included, it is a force to be reckoned with in an area which is not short of hotels.
Extra points for: dog friendly. Lose points for: charging for the car park.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed here last year and again this March. Comfortable and adequate room, slept very well. Good choice for breakfast which is free. Very good location for Stratford, Warwick Castle and Coventry. Well worth what we paid. Stayed over the road at the Hilton for one of our nights and much preferred the Holiday Inn Express for comfort. All staff were polite and helpful

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night and that was enough. Small but adequate room. Very clean. But such an uncomfortable bed both the double and the sofa bed. The sofa bed was so uncomfortable. You could feel every metal spring. Not good. Also, the room was so,so cold. I turned up the heating in the room to Max but we were very cold all night. Breakfast was fine and all staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGMWARWICK, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Warwick - Stratford Upon Avon, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for such constructive criticism and your candid feedback, this allows us to make improvements to our service and standards and to then enable us to reach the high standards which our guests have come to expect from us.
We value all of our guests opinions, and we hope should your future travel bring you Warwick that you will give us the chance to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel on Easter Saturday night. We booked two rooms which I had requested to be close to each other but when we checked in one was on the first floor and one was on the ground floor, since we are all adults I didn't bother to complain.

We arrived in the evening and were given a card to leave in our electricity slot of our room in order to keep the heating on when we went out for the evening. The rooms we cold on checking in but we put the cards in the slot and went out for dinner expecting to come back to a warm room. When we came back the rooms still felt cold event though the heating was on.

The heating units were noisy and didn't seem to be giving out much heat. We turned the unit off in our room so the noise didnt keep us awake; my daughters left it on in their room.

None of us got much sleep, we were all cold, the beds were hard and the heating / air conditioning unit was noisy. In the morning when we checked out the receptionist asked how we slept and I told her we had been cold in the night, she replied saying she had also spent the night in the hotel and had also been cold.

Please fix the heating - I know it's cold at the moment but I am someone who usually finds hotel rooms too hot!

The hotel was cheep but I guess you get what you pay for.

Wifi is also expensive.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGMWARWICK, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Warwick - Stratford Upon Avon, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time and trouble to share your experience with us, we apologise for the temperature of the room not achieving its full potential on this occasion we have brought this to the attention of our Maintenance Manager who is addressing the issue. We do always have additional heaters and blankets for guests who need more warmth these are available at reception.
We sincerely hope you choose to stay with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

The location of this hotel is great for Stratford and Warwick, but the cleanliness could be improved. There was a thick coffee or chocolate stain on the side of the bedside table which had been there I guess for a few days and there was a dubious stain next to the bed on the carpet. Everything you need, as with all of this brand, was in the room but the bed, could be improved with a better quality, less saggy mattress so that when whoever you are with turns over in the night, the other person doesn't wake up.

Also we were quoted one price on the phone but reception tried to charge us more as she said that we didn't book in advance. We did call in advance but the person who took the call told us we had to pay when we arrived at the hotel. Luckily we had the reference number and proof of the original price quote. Originally the quote was for £128 (£134 with car parking) and reception tried to charge us £157! Also I think that the Car park should be free if you are staying here! The hotel get enough business, not to charge. Even the pub (Porridge Pot) offers 4 hours of free parking. With the hotel being just off the junction of the motorway the only way to come here is either by car or bus....however there isn't a coach parking area, so that leaves just car drivers to be the paying guests.

A small thing, although important, the coffee/ tea tray hadn't been replenished properly as there as there was only one decaf coffee (we arrived at night) and only two sugars...and yet this is a double room with even a sofa bed so effectively there could be up to 4 people staying here. The next day, we were topped up nicely however. Another small but important thing, is a toilet brush would be useful.

At the time of writing this, we haven't eaten breakfast. The reason being we arrived late and breakfast was only served from 6.30- 9.30 and being Good Friday I would have expected it to be served till10.45am like it is on Saturdays and Sundays.

Room Tip: If you book in advance make a note of the reference number in case they try to charge more when you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGMWARWICK, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Warwick - Stratford Upon Avon, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to review your recent stay with us at our hotel.
I would like to begin with an apology for the issues in your room, having read your comments I can understand your disappointment. I have personally spoken with our Housekeeping team, who I can assure you will be more vigilant when checking the rooms before our guest’s arrival.
We have car park barriers to enhance security for our guest’s vehicles when staying with us. We do feel it is comparable with our area, and we do strive to keep all costs to a minimum for our guests staying in the hotel.
I sincerely hope you will chose to stay with us again in the future and give us the chance to serve you to the standard we pride ourselves upon offering.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Warwick - Stratford Upon Avon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Warwick - Stratford Upon Avon

Address: Stratford Road | M40 Jct.15, Warwick CV34 6TW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Warwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Warwick
#5 Family Hotel in Warwick
#5 Romantic Hotel in Warwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Warwick - Stratford Upon Avon 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Warwick Stratford-upon-Avon is 1.5 Miles from central Warwick. Holiday Inn Express is a mile from Warwick Castle and 6 from Stratford-upon-Avon. We're a 45-minute drive from Birmingham Airport and the Birmingham N.E.C. A buffet breakfast with hot and cold options is included in the price of your room. It's just 1.5 Miles to Warwick-based companies including IBM and Ford, and a 10-minute walk to Tournament Fields business park. Warwick Parkway train station is 2 miles away. Highlights of Warwick town centre include Warwick Racecourse and shops and restaurants. Nearby Stratford is Shakespeare's birthplace and home to the Royal Shakespeare Company and many historic attractions. Holiday Inn Express Warwick's bar is a relaxed spot to mingle over drinks, watch live sport on the large TV screens and enjoy free WiFi. Our comfortable Guest rooms are non-smoking and have a 32-inch flat screen TV, free WiFi and double or triple-glazed windows and a choice of pillows. Car parking is available for £3.50 Per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, IHG, BookIt.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Warwick - Stratford Upon Avon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Warwick - Stratford Upon Avon Hotel Warwick
Holiday Inn Warwick
Warwick Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Warwick - Stratford Upon Avon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.