We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Find” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Giovanni's Restaurant

Giovanni's Restaurant
15 Smith St, Warwick CV34 4JA, England
01926 494904
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 106 Restaurants in Warwick
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Scotland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Excellent Find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Having walked through Warwick looking for a place for dinner we decided that Giovanni's looked good and we were not disappointed. The staff who I think are also the owners are very friendly and welcoming. The food was excellent and our pasta plates were so full we had to share a dessert, the cheesecake, which was delicious. Locals are lucky to have such a nice place to eat , a true Italian restaurant in a lovely town.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    24
    10
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent service and great food!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We called here after a trip to Warwick castle and were not disappointed by the quality of the food and the service. We were made to feel very welcome and it is a lovely family run restaurant, a rare thing these days. The food is all homemade and you can tell, even the vegetables are home grown, and very nice too. If you want quality food, served in a friendly enviroment, then this is the place to go. If we were local then we would definitely be regulars but unfortunately we live in Cheshire. To add to the good service, my grandson had left his ipod in the restaurant and they have offered to send it back to us and have been very helpful. If we're ever in Warwick again we will definitely return to Giovanni's.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A Traditional Family-Run Italian Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

I have been using this restaurant for many years, usually for special occasions. The quality of the food,cooked to order by the owner, is consistently homely and traditional, and presented by friendly and accomplished staff. Some might consider the menu a little limited (don't expect pizza as there are 2 local venues doing this kind of confection) but what this restaurant does it does very well. Prices are in line with with other restaurants of this quality and the house wines represent good value and quality. Give it a try....I think you'll go back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“very good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Very good. Excellent service in a family business. Nice variety in the menu with specials. House wine very good. Comfortable.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best Italian food in a very long time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

We were recommended this restaurant by the hotel we were staying at and they were absolutely right, great food and great service. Don't be put off by the decor it's all about the homemade food which was amazing.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Giovanni's Restaurant also viewed

Warwick, Warwickshire
Warwick, Warwickshire
 
Warwick, Warwickshire
Warwick, Warwickshire
 

Been to Giovanni's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Giovanni's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.