We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant surprise after just dropping in” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 7 Square Restaurant Warwick

7 Square Restaurant Warwick
7 Old Square, Warwick CV34 4RA, England
01926 411755
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 106 Restaurants in Warwick
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Doing business, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Relaxed dining in a friendly and welcoming atmosphere. Set in the heart of picturesque Warwick town centre, close to Market Square and Warwick High Steet, 7 Square occupies an authentically Georgian building dating from 1700. Our restaurant is a blend of both classical and contemporary designs which is mirrored by our food - a blend of traditional and modern international cuisine.
Singapore, null, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise after just dropping in”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Directed by a traffic warden heroically booking a big bike on a pavement, we were welcomed by an irate Jack Russell maybe the least auspicious start to any restaurant visit we've had! This was more than compensated for by excellent service and fresh cooked food. Our starving teenager ordered bruschetta and when it arrived did not look like what he expected. He went from abject disappointment to recommending it to new comers to the restaurant, and nagging his dad to write this review. I think this is the first time generic "mixed vegetables" starred brilliant fresh asparagus. Set lunch just very fresh. Excellent value for money.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    30
    5
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Lovely food - great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Lovely lunch, good value, beautiful restaurant would definitely recommend it - especially the homemade beef burger

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“What a delightful place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

7 Square is located in a picturesque corner in the beautiful Warwick town centre, opposite St Mary’s church.
We held our wedding reception here in October 2012 and had a very good service, the owners are nice to deal with and they organized the event very professionally, our guests were pleased and impressed.
The French-inspired food was of high standard and well presented, we had the whole restaurant area for ourselves, big enough for about 40 people, while the bar area (linked to the restaurant via a short corridor) was left available to use for both us and other customers.
We were also pleased with the final overall price, it wasn’t as high as in some other venues typically used for weddings so the price-quality ratio is excellent.
We can certainly recommend this place to those who are looking for a venue to hold their wedding reception, just pop in and have a chat with the owner, but also do come here for lunch or dinner in a cosy and pleasant environment.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good food but lacking in atmosphere and attention to detail”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

A 'boutique' restaurant spread across the reception rooms of a house - cosy and nicely decorated and stayed open late for us which was appreciated, although we felt a little rushed at times - but the lack of other diners and choice of cheesy, unimaginative pop background music made it less atmospheric. When I'm eating French food I prefer it to be accompanied by something a bit more authentic than an entire Christina Aguilera album...
The food was tasty and good quality, and it was a nice touch for the chef to come out to ask if everything was ok, but for the prices charged, we felt the quality and attention to detail of the service could have been higher. We are not 'foodies' or particularly precious about our surroundings normally but with a meal and drinks for 2 coming in at just over £90, would expect to be served by a waiter in uniform/smart dress, to not have wine poured for you without being asked and left to get warm, when you have a full pint of beer in front of you, and not to have the owners pet dog running around the dining room during dessert ( as much as I like dogs!).
Overall we enjoyed the food - but with just a bit more attention to detail and service feel the experience could have been greatly improved.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We were looking for breakfast. found this by accident. Really cheap and extremely good value Best breakfast in a long time :-)

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 7 Square Restaurant Warwick also viewed

Warwick, Warwickshire
Warwick, Warwickshire
 

Been to 7 Square Restaurant Warwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 7 Square Restaurant Warwick, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.