We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lacking atmosphere and very mediocre service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Granville

The Granville
52 Wellesbourne Road | Barford, Warwick CV35 8DS, England
01926 624236
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #46 of 106 Restaurants in Warwick
Price range: $14 - $28
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Doing business, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Lacking atmosphere and very mediocre service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

What a shame....we were looking for somewhere new to try and a workmate recommended this place. We made a point of going there one Friday evening and oh dear, what a disappointment. As soon as we set foot in the door we got a "cold" feeling that made us want to go out again! But, we'd travelled a few miles and wanted to give it a go....

Decor - strange. Dull, uninviting. Best place was by the open fire. Rest of the bar area very cold, nowhere really to sit, very odd wall hangings. Restaurant area about the same. Despite being a Friday it was very quiet. Shown to our table - menu very narrow. No chicken or much of an alternative to steak or lamb. So not liking either, I plumped for the fish cakes as a main. Nice. Good quality. Can't say much more. Started with mushroom and tarragon soup which had a nice flavour. Bread, but no butter. Asked for a bottle of Sauvignon Blanc - ended up with Riesling. Not much of an apology from the landlady who said she hadn't put her glasses on...! Then she sat chatting with her chums making us feel like we were intruding on her Friday evening social event. Service poor and inattentive. Food fair. Perhaps the chef should take his wares to a place that better appreciates him. Wouldn't rush back and would not recommend. Not good value for money. Many places far better.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valerie K, Owner at The Granville, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you for your review. We always give out a Customer Questionnaire at the end of the evening with the bill, but unfortunately you didn't complete it. We are also very happy to deal with any issues on the night, which fortunately is not often required. In terms of the decor and atmosphere - I realise this is down to personal taste, however, we do receive extensive positive comments from customers on the ambience and service. In terms of food choice, we have recently introduced a new Spring Menu and, whilst keeping customers' favourites, we always extend it to include new dishes to keep our returning customers interested, including some 'specials' at the weekend. .I remember your visit - and the mix up with the wine was a genuine one - you ordered a bottle of Muscadet - it sits next to the same "A-shaped" bottle of Reisling in the wine fridge. It wasn't opened and it was swapped quickly with an apology and without fuss - I made the quip about reading glasses as I could sense you were unhappy. The "chums" you refer to are customers that are part of a Granville drinking club that have visited our establishment religiously every week for the past 15 years. I sat with them briefly to exchange pleasantries at the end of the evening when the busy trade had calmed down and other waitresses were still on the floor attending to remaining customers. I'm sorry that you thought the food was fair and not value for money. I can only take heart from our many new and returning customers that this is not the case.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    38
    19
    22
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dover, England
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Good food, good value, good ale, good service. What more can you ask?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Stumbled on the Granville by accident, but what a lucky stumble! Two course lunch for £11.95 and a choice of three good ales- job done. The wine list is not extensive but covers most bases and prices are very reasobable. The food is of high quality and obviously prepared with skill and care with attention to detail, eg hot plates for hot food, and no automatic service charge; for each of those failings I always deduct one point, but in this case I am delighted to award a 5.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Perfect End to Our Olypmic Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

A bit late writing this review but better late than never! We found The Granville on the way back from going to the Olypmics. Now we both probably walked in looking dreadful as we had been caught in the rain but the welcome was warm and you immediately feel at home. They didn't have the started I wanted but this wasn't an issue just meant I'd have room for pudding instead. My husband had Fish and Chips for main and it was huge and he loved the Batter. I had the Breast of Lamb which was beautifully cooked. For pudding it was a Trio of Peach deserts including Pannacotta which was a delight. I will be finding an excuse to be in the area again to go back.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Really Good Food in a nice setting....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Visited The Granville a couple of years ago and it was distinctly average but on our last visit a few days ago it was excellent. A good menu with well cooked food and the waiter seemed to know about wine. The pub is situated in a quiet village just outside Warwick and it's a nice place to have a relaxing meal. When you go there try and get a table at the back of the restaurant - when we went the tables were well spaced out.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Fantastic meal out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

Visited The Granville on our way to Stratford, and so glad we did. Had seen review in Good Pub Guide, but couldn't find it on Trip Advisor under the village name of Barford (note to Trip Advisor and management). As soon as we walked in we were welcomed by staff, and I could tell it was my sort of place! Modern decor and comfortable surroundings. We had three courses and each one was delicious and well presented. Prices weren't cheap, but the quality of food was excellent, so we were happy to pay them. Would definitely recommend this place, just a shame we don't live nearer!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Granville also viewed

Barford, Warwickshire
Hampton Lucy, Warwick
 
Warwick, Warwickshire
 

Been to The Granville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Granville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.