We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Party Venue” 5 of 5 stars
Review of No.1 Shakespeare Street

No.1 Shakespeare Street
No1 Shakespeare St | Stratford upon Avon, Warwickshire, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6RN, England
01789 264787
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Hamburgers, Tapas, Vegetarian, British, Bar, Bistro, Gastropub, Grill, Sandwiches
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
stratford upon avon
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Great Party Venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We held a 40th party here that went without a glitch and over 70 friends had a great night.
We arranged our own band and the venue organised the DJ for after.
The room looked great, the staff were helpful they food was well received.
I would definitely use the venue again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shakespearestreet, Owner at No.1 Shakespeare Street, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments and we are delighted you had such a memorable evening for your party. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.
The Team at No 1
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    7
    2
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Brilliant Hen Do venue”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

I organised an evening here for my best friend's Hen Do for 15 of us and it was great. The emails from them beforehand were prompt and helpful and reassured me that I'd made a good choice (we live 100miles away so I wasn't at all sure what to expect).

They arranged a massive buffet for £12 per head and had sectioned off 2 seperate areas for us (one in the bar and one in the club - again not something I would have known to do as I didn't know the layout). The food was tasty and filling and good value for money.

They took payment on the night and gave me an invoice which explained everything clearly, it was much better organised than other bars when I've organised big events.

It was also nice that our coats were taken and put in a special section for our reservation, and that one of the bouncers showed us where our reservation was up stairs - it was all seamless and stressfree for me.

The only minor downside was that the bar staff couldn't mix cocktails when asked - but this didn't ruin our evening at all.

The atmosphere and music was fab, just what I'd hoped for. Thank you.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shakespearestreet, Owner at No.1 Shakespeare Street, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you very much for your fab comments about No 1 and we are delighted you had a fantastic evening for your Hen Party. Sincere apologies for the issue with the cocktails (the barman was new) but we do have a wide variety of cocktails available and would be happy to make one for you if and when you are next in Stratford - on the house of course!
The Team at No 1.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great gig venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We have been to Number 1 Shakespeare on a couple of occasions to watch live bands. Fantastic place now attracting bigger names. Well worth a visit.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Kitchen closed on Sat Evening!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We looked this up on trip advisor, found the voucher code another reviewer had mentioned and called several times during the day to see whether we needed to book for an early dinner. The phone went to voicemail and despite leaving a message we were never called back.

We went to No 1 anyway which was open but after checking the barman told us (at 6pm) that the kitchen wasn't open. Assuming it was a bit early, we asked what time it would be open and were told it wasn't opening at all that day. No explanation as to why. Won't be going back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice freshly cooked food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

The food was delicious. The portions were very generous and it was all freshly cooked. We used a voucher code which got 25% off which was worthwhile, but the bar man didn't know anything about the offer

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed No.1 Shakespeare Street also viewed

Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 

Been to No.1 Shakespeare Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage No.1 Shakespeare Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.