We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Sunday Lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of One Elm

One Elm
1 Guild Street, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6QZ, England
+44 (0)1789 404 919
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
One Elm is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Price range: $14 - $40
Cuisines: European, British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Doing business, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Two minutes walk from Shakespeare's Birthplace, The One Elm is a Victorian pub with a bustling bar, a pretty sheltered courtyard & a relaxed but high quality restaurant.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“Great Sunday Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

My wife and I ate here on a Sunday afternoon in March.

The roast pork was delicious and the veg so plentiful we didn't need to take the pub up on the offer of extra veg and roasties (but I might have done had I not had a large supper the night before!)

My wife also went for a side of cauliflower cheese which she enjoyed immensely and the stuffing balls were wonderfully crispy.

The absolute must for dessert here though has to be the warm carrot cake (moist and earthy) with cream cheese ice cream (thick, tangy and the perfect accompaniment).

The pub itself is a nice boozer with stripped floors and a double height extension/barn conversion which houses most of the dining space. The ales we sampled were well kept and the UBU from local craft brewer Purity Brewing Co was a particular favourite.

Shame we couldn't stay for another!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peach_Pubs, on behalf of the manager at One Elm, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for your review. Sunday is my favourite day purely because of our fab roast dinners. I’m really glad you enjoyed yours as much as we do, always a good idea to leave room for pud! Let us know when you’re next in and we’ll get that next pint for you!

Thanks
Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    70
    28
    21
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Birthday celebration”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We had planned birthday celebrations in Stratford and went to The One Elm. I rang earlier to explain the significance of the evening and the staff were brilliant with making it an evening to remember. We even got a sparkling wine reception on arrival and placed in a quieter part of the restaurant so that we could chat. The food was lovely and the evening a success. Thank you team.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peach_Pubs, on behalf of the manager at One Elm, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for your review.
The team at The One Elm are so pleased you had a fantastic night, it was a pleasure to help your multiple celebration evening a special occasion toremember!
We really look forward to seeing you for the next one!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Very nice staff, nice atmosphere, average food, long wait”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

One of the best and prompt staff I have ever met. Nice atmosphere even on a Saturday night.
However I would expect more for a £27 meal, from quantity to quality. Even though the worst part was the waiting, I was alone and the starter came nearly 30 min after having requested it and the main course took another 40 min to arrive.
Eventually during the week with less costumers this won't take that long.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peach_Pubs, On behalf of the manager at One Elm, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us. It’s a great help for us to see and hear what our guests experience, so we can make sure we improve and ensure everyone has a great time, and in turn come back. We are sorry that on this visit we did not come up to scratch.
Thank you for your time and we hope to see you back here one day soon so we can make amends.

Thanks
Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

The food at lunchtime was very disappointing, soup served cold, chorizo was not cooked properly.
Took my brother who was visiting from America but was rather embarrassed by the food quality.
The service was good though.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peach_Pubs, On behalf of the manager at One Elm, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Hello

Thank you for your review. Firstly I'd like to apologise for your poor experience at The One Elm, this is certainly not what we strive for. We are all foodies here so it's a great diappointment to us hearing that our food was not up to your standards. It is truly important to us that we give you a great experience and we let you down! I hope we see you back at The One Elm soon so we can prove that we can do better, ask for Julie and I'll get you a drink.

Cheers
Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Lovely place to eat; lovely staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We had a weekend away in Stratford and ate here twice the food and service was so good....

Excellent choice of food on the menu and really nice vegetarian options too (we had a veggie board as a starter which was gorgeous). Ate the cod and sea bass one evening - delicious - and had Sunday lunch the next day. Sunday lunch is served all day although they do sell out by late afternoon. Lovely homecooked food; will supply extra roasties and veg on request and really nice atmosphere.

I can't recommend this pub enough; it's our favourite place to eat in Stratford when we visit.

Also - had lunch one day at Act V (it's a gallery next door to Cafe Rougue on Sheep Street) which was really lovely; lots of veggie food and excellent portions.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peach_Pubs, on behalf the manager at One Elm, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Hi, thanks for you great review. We’re really happy to hear you enjoyed you food and experience at The One Elm this weekend, we look forward to seeing next time you visit Stratford.

Thanks
Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed One Elm also viewed

Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 

Been to One Elm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage One Elm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.