We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon tea....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Compton Verney

Compton Verney
Compton Verney, Stratford-upon-Avon CV35 9HZ, England
01926 645500
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This award winning art gallery near Stratford-upon-Avon offers enjoyable ways to experience art. Housed in a Grade I listed Robert Adam mansion set in Capability Brown landscaped parkland, Compton Verney is home to a growing collection of works of art from around the world including Naples 1600-1800, Germanic art 1450-1650, British portraits including Reynolds, exceptional collection of Chinese bronzes, unique collection of British Folk Art, the Marx-Lambert collection, plus an exciting program of changing exhibitions.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Afternoon tea....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Lovely grounds and have been a couple of times before. There use to be art all over the grounds and that's what made it such a nice place to visit. Unfortunately all of it has been removed which is a pity but hopefully something else will be sorted soon!

Anyway back to afternoon tea, served in the restaurant from 15:00-16:30. £18 for two. Everything is freshly made and very tasty...do not expect dainty sandwiches and small bites..there were 4 different sandwiches - cheese/pickle, salmon, ham and egg - all lovely. There were cakes and tarts on the second tier and lovely scones with strawberry jam and clotted cream all with a nice pot of tea.

A great afternoon out and very reasonably priced afternoon tea....you won't need dinner after all that!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    53
    9
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A Warwickshire jewel to revisit often”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We visit Compton Verney every year and always enjoy the permanent and specialist temporary exhibitions. We have just visited the Italian Art exhibition and were fortunate to be able to join an informative and entertaining tour of the paintings led by a lady member of the staff. As always the shop had a varied and interesting stock. The grounds looked lovely and for the first time we were able to take advantage of the recent grant of a blue badge to take the car right up to the house. Our only criticism is that the service in the cafe was very slow and rather perfunctory. It took nearly two hours to be served with and eat a two course lunch, good though the food was.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
visitor080, Manager at Compton Verney, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
We are very sorry that you felt the service you received in the café during your last visit let the overall Compton Verney experience down. We have spoken to the Catering Manager and he has explained that although your visit was on a busy day, as all our food is cooked freshly to order, he is aware that delays were experienced by some of our visitors. Whilst he thought he had spoken individually to each table to explain the situation and ensure they were aware of the approximate wait for their meal, he must have inadvertently missed your table.

Please be assured however that our visitor satisfaction is of the highest importance to us and we sincerely hope that this unsatisfactory experience will not deter you from visiting in the future. If you provide our Marketing Office with your contact details, we would like to offer a complimentary cream tea for two on your next visit to Compton Verney by way of compensation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
45 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Great collection and excellent cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We went to Compton Verney to see the Glasgow Italian paintings (exhibition brilliant but finishes soon). We were very taken with those pictures however there's a lot more than the special exhibition. There's a very fine collection of British folk art - naive pictures and some artifacts, a very good Northern Renaissance collection including two or three Cranachs (the older), a collection of British portraits and a Neapolitan collection.
.
There are extensive grounds but the weather was not kind enough to explore those.

Cafe provides good. seasonal food and we had a good lunch. Recommended.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
185 helpful votes 185 helpful votes
“Perfect day out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Popped round to Compton Verney for a family day out. Couple in their 30's and the parents. Started with a lovely lunch, delighted with the vegetarian options and non alcoholic drinks, especially recommend the ginger beer. Then a stroll round the varied, interesting and well explained art exhibitions. My favourite room has Lucas Cranach and stunning Northern European paintings. Then a visit to the gift shop, again with something for everyone. And finally a stroll round the grounds. Perfect day out.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Intetresting AND entertaining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Went with friends on Saturday and what a lovely experience.
Grounds interesting, attractive and well laid out.
Exhibitions- really interesting/entertaining AND very well explained.
Lots to do. Lots of new things to see. Thank you Compton Verney.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Compton Verney also viewed

Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 

Been to Compton Verney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Compton Verney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.