We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Great Food, Bar Staff Questionable!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ingon Manor Hotel Golf & Country Club

Ingon Manor Hotel Golf & Country Club
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Ingon Manor Hotel Golf & Country Club to your Saves list
Ingon Manor Hotel Golf & Country Club
Ingon Lane | Stratford-Upon-Avon, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 OQE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Location, Great Food, Bar Staff Questionable!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Recently went to this establishment for my Brothers Wedding, it was a fantastic venue with beautiful views and more than enough golfing opportunities. I was impressed with the events manager who was dealing with the Bride and Groom, he was very helpful, useful, friendly and crucial to the smooth running of the day. His service was impeccable and everything went to plan. However, I have to comment on the bar staffs attitude, which to me seemed lacking in the positive department and sometimes they came across as quite rude, this is aimed mainly the male bar tenders and the female tenders were rather good. They served the pig roast well and in a orderly fashion. Apart from the male bar staff, everything was tip top! Would use the venue again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stuart A, Manager at Ingon Manor Hotel Golf & Country Club, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Hi

We are pleased you enjoyed your Brothers Wedding and thank you for your kind comments.
It is unfortunate you found the male bar staff lacking in the positive department, they work really hard behind the bar on busy wedding nights and we get lots of great feed back and comments from Bride & Grooms and guests of how pleasant the staff are.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    14
    9
    8
    2
See reviews for
6
15
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed for 1 night on the 28 June and have to say we will not be staying there again! Room was lovely but we had to endure the digusting laddish antics of a group of golfers who had no respect for other guests! We were woken up several times in the early hours with noisy drunken guests returning from town with the final returnee using foul language to get entrance to the hotel from his mates upstairs. Maybe if the hotel had a night porter such incidents could have been avoided. My advice is if you a non-golfing couple give this hotel a wide berth!! We certainly will!

Room Tip: Choose another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stuart A, Manager at Ingon Manor Hotel Golf & Country Club, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Hello

Sorry to read that you were disappointed when you stayed at the Hotel with disturbances from a golf group staying at the hotel, please accept my apologises for the troubled night you encountered.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biggleswade, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

The golf course that accompanies this hotel is extremely picturesque and offers a good challenge to all golfers. Uniquely this hotel doesn't charge an arm and a leg for its drinks and refreshments post golf round. It is not too large, having only about 20 rooms so is useful for golf society breaks. It is also very handily located being only 3-4 miles out of Stratford Upon Avon. So for golfers with wives who do not play it is very easy for them to spend their days taking in the charms of Stratford.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stuart A, Manager at Ingon Manor Hotel Golf & Country Club, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for your comments, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you back again in the future.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southam, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We had our wedding at Ingon Manor on 5th May 2013. Lynne and Stuart were very helpful in the planning phase and gave us all the advice we needed to help make it a day to remember. We arranged to sample some of the wedding menus a few months in advance in the restaurant and this helped us to make our choice for the day. We also opted for canapes which were very nicely presented and tasty and helped bridge the gap between the wedding service and the wedding meal. The meal itself was excellent and the service for our 73 guests was impeccable. In the evening we had a hog roast with coleslaw which was served upstairs in a room adjacent to the Elizabethan barn. Again this worked very well for our 150 evening guests.
We were allowed access to the barn on the afternoon before the wedding to allow us to decorate it with fairy lights, chair covers and bows, balloons, bunting etc.
On the wedding day we had access to both upstairs and downstairs in the barn as well as to the large patio area with comfortable seats which was ideal for the sunny day we were fortunate enough to enjoy. All the staff were very courteous and efficient, especially Stuart who acted as M.C. and provided anything we found we needed. We were also able to use the courtyard (complete with fountain) which was useful especially for our group photos.
The evening disco provided as part of the package was also good and the lighting in the barn (including lots of large candles) really made a great ambience.
We would thoroughly recommend this venue.

Room Tip: Room 6 is the bridal suite - nice large room overlooking the driving range and very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stuart A, Manager at Ingon Manor Hotel Golf & Country Club, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Hi
Thank you writing a lovely review on Trip Advisor and for you kind comments on the staff.
We are pleased you had a great Wedding at Ingon Manor and look forward to seeing you in the near future.
Kind regards
Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pinner
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

First the good, the staff were attentive and helpful.We arrived at the hotel around 7.30pm and just found no one on reception and a member of staff loudly skyping a member of his family from his own country,when somone finally arrived we were shown to our room, which was okay,a little small with a very small flat screen television on the wall, the good thing was the bed probably the most comfortable King size bed ever, (huge),nice outlook over the gardens.For breakfast you could have virtually whatever you wanted cooked to order, although the juice and cereal table looked sorry for itself, but the waitress again was very attentive,we had the bar food menu which was very good and reasonably priced.
Overall it did just not come up to my expectations, as I had taken my wife away for the night (visited Stratford on Avon) this place is really a golfers hotel, as it seems all who were staying were guys playing on the golf course there.Would I stay again, the answer is definately no, as I would look for somthing a little more cosy and welcoming.

Room Tip: nice view over garden (also parking lot)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stuart A, Manager at Ingon Manor Hotel Golf & Country Club, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Hello
Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor.
I am sorry you and your wife were disappointed with your stay at Ingon Manor.
Regards
Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

I am getting married in the near future and therefore went along to a wedding open day at Ingon Manor last weekend. On arrival at the venue, staff were very helpful and showed us around to the barn in the beautiful setting, with gorgeous views. The barn is really lovely, if you are having a smaller wedding ( no more than 70 for a sit down meal). For the evening, there is plenty of room for guests to enjoy, including a large patio area, an upstairs balcony and further room in the barn, not to mention the golf course! The only thing that really let's this venue down is the horrible water fountain that is in the courtyard area. It is broken with little or no water flowing, bricks falling off it and moss growing all around! This really needs some work and then the venue would be lovely!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stuart A, Manager at Ingon Manor Hotel Golf & Country Club, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Hi

We are pleased you enjoyed the Wedding Open Day.
The Barn is such a lovely venue for a wedding and with the water fountain now back to its former glory, the approach to the Barn is complete.
We hope you enjoy your Day at Ingon Manor Hotel Golf & Country Club in the near future.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

This is our groups second visit to this venue for a golf weekend, and certainly won't be the last. It has changed dramatically in the past few years, from a quaint 'could you please lock the front door when going to bed' to the more commercial enterprise it now is. It was a fun place previously, but the quality of the restaurant now makes up for the loss of 'quaintness'.

It would be easy for the hotel to be complacent as there are only a few rooms, but from arrival they are helpful. The receptionist taking you up to your room - nice touch.

The meal was excellent, not quite as good as the neighbouring golf hotel, but next to nothing in it. Breakfast was good, but could be improved upon and the lack of food after a game of golf on a bank holiday is just not right.

All in all, taking the cost, the ambiance and the meal into consideration, this hotel is above average for the cash outlay, and added to the gem of a golf course, you'd be daft to miss it.

As I said at the start, my group will be back, and we will not leave it so long next time!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stuart A, Manager at Ingon Manor Hotel Golf & Country Club, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Hi
Thank you for your comments on your stay at Ingon for your Golf Break.
We are pleased you enjoyed your golf and accommodation, the chefs appreciated your thoughts on his food.
Hopefully we will see you again this year.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ingon Manor Hotel Golf & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ingon Manor Hotel Golf & Country Club

Address: Ingon Lane | Stratford-Upon-Avon, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 OQE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 29 Hotels in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Ingon Manor Hotel Golf & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ingon Manor Hotel Golf And Country Club
Ingon Manor Hotel Golf & Country Club Stratford-Upon-Avon, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ingon Manor Hotel Golf & Country Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.