We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of First Night

First Night
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added First Night to your Saves list
First Night
140 Alcester Road, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 9DR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Outstanding experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Myself and my partner had a three night stay at First Night in August 2013
I am not sure were to start, The owners Tina and Gary were the nicest and friendliest people you could wish to meet, they let you do your own thing but made it quite clear that they were there if you needed them, nothing was too much trouble for them.we had a double room with shower room that was spacious and very very clean, we had a patio area outside the room with table and chairs, however we were offered access to the rest of the garden which was huge and lovely if we so wished, it was like home from home. Breakfast was excellent, cooked to perfection and served by cheerfull Gary with all the love that Tina had put into cooking it.
I honestly can not think of anything other than nice things to say about First Night.
SomeOther guests that were staying at the same time as us they were from Spain, a mother and daughter, the mother was not too good on her feet so Gary would drop them off in his car each day to their destination as he would not hear of them getting a Taxi. What can i say. Home from Home. A fantastic couple and a fantastic guest house. We will definately return and we have told all our friends about it, we only hope it is not booked when we want to return. Thank you so much Gary and Tina for a lovely place to stay.

Room Tip: I would say to choose any room,as you can see that the owners have very high standards, however ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
12
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Stayed here for two nights and chose it for its closeness to the town centre and price. The facilities were lovely and the people who run it were really friendly. Nothing was too much trouble for them including bringing fresh orange juice to our room after spending an extremely hot afternoon out in the town. Will definitely stop there again if I am going down that way again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Tina & Garry are friendly accommodating hosts just on the outskirts of Stratford Upon Avon.
within easy walking distance to the centre. Very compact accommodation but every thing you need and a very attractive rate for such high tourist location.
We had a lovely outdoor patio which was a nice place to sit in the evening.
June & Mick awakino point boutique motel New Zealand.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

I read the review for First Night on trip advisor and thought I'd give it a try. I stayed here for 5D4N. Having stayed at a B&B only once before and had a bad experience at it, I was apprehensive about trying B&B again. First Night totally changed my perception.

Everything from booking to checkout was a breeze. Echoing the comments below, the owners of First Night, Gary and Tina are wonderful hosts and really the nicest people I've met during my 2 month holiday in the UK.

Breakfast spread is huge and portions are generous. The room is clean and it comes with floor heating, tv, water heater, coffee/tea, hair dryer and basically most of the things you'd find in a hotel room. The place is within walking distance to a Morrison's (15 mins slow walk) and also the town (25 mins slow & leisurely walk).

As my train out of Stratford-Upon-Avon was late in the evening, they took care of my luggage while I went into town for a theatre show during the day. Upon returning to collect my luggage it started to rain a little. Gary offered to drive me to the train station and wouldn't take no for an answer! He even gave me a bottle of water and a box of apple juice for my trip back!!! Cherry on top of the cake! Having travelled a lot and stayed at 5 star hotels before, I've never come across such personal treatment. Not even when staying at the presidential suite at the Grand Hyatt!

These guys are a gem! If you're looking for a place to stay in Stratford-Upon-Avon, look no further. This is it.

Room Tip: Choose rooms on the ground floor as they are away from the main house and you get your "own lit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Stayed here for a few nights. Hosts very welcoming, and know a lot about Shakespeare/theatre/etc. Recommended a couple of nice places to us.
The room itself was nice, big enough with a cupboard and plenty of drawers, a decent TV you can easily watch from the bed, and coffee and tea facilities. Everything was comfy and pleasant.
The bathroom was very small, and the shower not that great. It was done as a wetroom with a bin, toilet, sink and shower, but crammed into a space only slightly bigger than a normal toilet cubicle. Not exactly nice, but I suppose it's only a practicality.
The breakfasts are brilliant. Full English (bacon, sausages, hash browns, tomatoes, beans, fried/boiled/poached/scrambled eggs, mushroom, white/brown toast) is available every morning. Vegetarians can have the same, but with vegetarian sausages and no bacon. Lots of other options (cereal, porridge, yoghurt, fruit...) are available too, and the hosts will no doubt account for any extra dietary requirements you have.
The house is positioned about a 10 minute walk from Stratford city centre, and about 20 minutes from the RSC. It's not really a very nice walk, but hey, it's short. There's a take away just around the corner, and access to the canal, which is very convenient.

Overall, this is a really great guest house and great value too. I will definitely try and book this place again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Stayed over August Bank Holiday weekend. Gary was a fantastic host, very accommodating. Room was a bargain and very comfortable. The breakfast was great and was tailored to your tastes - would highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buntingford
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

As a base for four nights while working away from home the annex room was ideal, although having a shower in the very compact en suite was something of a challenge. The space between the wall and the shower curtain is just about manageable if you breathe in. I was unable to get a connection to their wifi signal despite several attempts but it was probably good for me to have a few evenings not chained to my laptop. For the first 2 nights Gary and Tina gave me a light breakfast on a tray that I could have before leaving very early at 6.30am. They were delightful hosts and the room was quiet and private.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to First Night? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Night

Address: 140 Alcester Road, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 9DR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
First Night Stratford-Upon-Avon, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage First Night, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.