We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Guest Home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Heron Lodge Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stratford-upon-Avon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Heron Lodge Guest House
Save
You added Heron Lodge Guest House to your Saves list
260 Alcester Road, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 9JQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Brea, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Comfortable Guest Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We enjoyed our overnight stay at this guest house. It was close to Stratford and the owners were very helpful in telling us how to get to the places we wanted to visit. We had a wonderful full English breakfast with our choice of many items. I guess our only complaint would be that the bathroom was quite small, but that's kind of to be expected in England. It was sufficient, however.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    18
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
14
47
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

This B & B is out of town so is very quiet and comforting. It is a very pleasant walk to the local pub past the Anne Hathaway Cottage & Garden which is a lovely way to stretch the legs. The rooms provide all the necessary items you need for your stay. The following morning David will prepare a good breakfast for you which will keep you going on your journey.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

We were so pleased to have chosen Heron Lodge. David and Sarah are perfect hosts and helped us with directions when needed. We had a spacious room with a separate small lounge. Our breakfast was very satisfying too. We only spent one night here but we had time to walk to Anne Hathaway's Cottage and the town centre which was just lovely.Luckily we had a fine day or the walk wouldn't have been so easy and enjoyable perhaps.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Although I was visiting on business, I would definitely return to Heron Lodge if I was visiting this part of England. Far enough away from the immediate hustle and bustle but near enough to explore by walking. I could not have been made more welcome after a long and rainy drive down the M6 from Scotland. David and Sarah are lovely hosts, helpful and welcoming and unobtrusive. I would not hesitate to recommend their guest house to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Great B&B and an excellent base to explore Stratford-upon-Avon and the surrounding area. David and Sarah were fantastic hosts, providing clean, comfortable accommodation. The breakfast was fantastic, good choice and locally sourced products. Whilst the B&B is a good 20 minute walk from the centre there is a day time bus and the taxi fare was <£6 one way.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
179 helpful votes 179 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Great little B&B to see the sights of Straford.
About half an hour walk down one road into the centre. Also walking distance to Anne Hathaway's cottage.
Private on-site parking.
Warm welcome from owners.
Room 5 = Spacious, cosy and nicely decorated. Massive bathroom
Tasty breakfast with a wide variety of choice.
Corner shop opposite for your essential needs
Would highly recommend this B&B

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

A very pleasant guest house, with ample parking for guests. The hosts David and Sarah, were extremely kind and thoughtful. The rooms are clean, modern and have everything you need for relaxing stay. The breakfast was seriously good, plenty to eat and top quality products too. The only down side for some could be the walk into town which takes about 20 minutes at good pace, however it does have a bus route. We had a wonderful stay and wouldn't hesitate to recommend Heron Lodge when staying in Stratford. Thank you both!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Heron Lodge Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heron Lodge Guest House

Address: 260 Alcester Road, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 9JQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An award winning 4-Star accommodation in historic town of Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeares country, famous for its memorable breakfasts and high standards of accommodation and customer care from locals David and Sarah Russon. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Heron Lodge Guest House Stratford-Upon-Avon, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heron Lodge Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.