We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Locked Out!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Fox and Goose Inn

The Fox and Goose Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stratford-upon-Avon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Fox and Goose Inn
Save
You added The Fox and Goose Inn to your Saves list
Armscote, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 8DD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Locked Out!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

My friend booked a stay in this hotel using the Groupon offer and from the moment we arrived we felt like we were an inconvenience. The promised afternoon tea is just a slice of cake - take it or leave it. As we had been made to feel so unwelcome we decided to drive into Stratford for dinner. We came back to the hotel at midnight and found we had been locked out! We had no choice, but to make alternative arrangements and go back in the morning for our belongings. Needless to say we didn't have breakfast the next day.

When asked why we couldn't get into the hotel we were informed we were late, we had asked the bar staff what time we needed to be back before leaving and told there was no curfew. The key was left at the back door (not easy to find and we have no proof of this), but no one had told us this was what would happen. We had been told the pub shuts when the owner wants to go to bed so be warned this is before midnight!!

I wouldn't recommend this hotel or restruarant. The staff seem incapable or terrified of the manager, the manager is rude and unfriendly. Not sure why he is running a pub and hotel. If you have purchased the Groupon offer and not yet stayed I would ask for your money back now and save yourself a trip. The village it is located in is beautiful, but that's all this place has going for it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    17
    4
    5
    6
See reviews for
4
37
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kingston u Thames
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

I love the Fox and Goose - must do because I've been going on and off for 10 years! I've been alone on a number of occasions and with friends (who have also returned) on others. It's a real 'country pub' with farms all around so there will be the odd spider but the one I found was quite friendly!
Good old fashioned pub with very friendly locals on one side and a very nice restaurant and good food on the other. Breakfast choices amazing...
Nothing too much - sandwiches and wine left outside my room for late return from Stratford theatre....I'll definitely be back for my 11th year.

Room Tip: I have been in all the rooms and each has its own very different character but all are comfy. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evesham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We enjoyed our two night stay at the Fox and Goose. We asked about afternoon tea when we arrived, and were told we could have it when we liked. We decided to have it first so we could go out. The tea and cake we were given were good. There was as much as you wanted to eat for breakfast, which was also very good. The staff were friendly and helpful. Our only minor quibble is that the mugs provided for tea and coffee in our room were not washed up while we were out, although the towels had been changed. No problem as we could wash them under the taps in the bathroom, just a detail. The bathroom itself was spotlessly clean, though the rooms could probably do with some refurbishing. The Cluedo theme is an interesting one.

R and B Forrester

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

The place itself was lovely, however the management seemed a little unconcerned. I had been contacted regarding the fire and so no hot food was available. I mentioned on the phone whether the afternoon tea was still available, he said so, or that I could have a complementary drink. This didn't happen, nor was afternoon tea offered. The room was not a clean one, although it was nice. The cups were cerainly not clean. The breakfast did not include much, which it could have, even though there was nothing hot, no bread, cheese etc as one might expect in the circumstances. It all seemed as if the management were not really taking things seriously. I wouldn't go again, even with a groupon offer.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westmids
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the fox and goose on an overnight stay via a groupon deal promising b&b and afternoon tea.
Upon arrival the pub is located in a pretty village and looks lovely.
We were greeted by who I assume the manager was and a member of bar staff who I think was new as he didn't really have a clue.
We were shown to our room (miss scarlett) which I was quite impressed with. The room appeared clean and spacious with a comfy bed and lovely roll top bath.
To make the room excellent little things could be easily done; the shelf in the bathroom was thick of dust, someone else's hair attached to the shower hose, mini fridge turned on etc but that's probably being picky.
Afternoon tea sort of happened because I asked. The drinks were fine but the cakes on offer looked sweaty and stale so we passed on those.
Comfy nights sleep and breakfast served between 9-11 which was great as not too early. Breakfast seemed unplanned and a bit unprofessional but was very tasty non the less!
Stratford is only 8 miles away so a great base.
I would go back on an offer but would not pay full price!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We returned fron our groupon stay on the 20th July at the fox and goose and wanted to register out disgust. We were contacted 2 days before to be told that there had been a fire and so no hot food was available, which we felt was too short notice to rearrange somewhere else so decided to go anyway. We were not offered the afternoon tea as per the deal even though we were told onn the phone that this wouldn't be a problem. There was no hot water available at any time which is unacceptable and disappointing as there was a lovely roll top bath in the bathroom. The bathroom had wallpaper falling off the ceiling and the general decor was tatty. The teacups were filthy and the bathroom floor was covered in someone elses hair .We were also woken up by a phone call late last night asking us when we would be back even though we were in our room and had been told by the manager that if we came back after hours it would be no problem as he hd given us a key to the outside door. We left at 9.00 am this morning and tried to find a member of staff to speak to but everywhere was locked up and deserted so just left the key in the key hole and left.I also sent a txt to the manager outlining my complaint. I look forward to his comments.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

we recently came here for our anniversary - WRONG CHOICE! worst hotel we have ever stayed in -
let's start with our room (Miss Scarlett) - less than a third of a toilet roll, no replacement - we had to go and ask for ourselves, no toiletries, non working wall clock and as for the tea tray in the room - several sachets of instant coffee, one GREEN teabag, one half dirty cup and a sachet of opened bscuits!
We had been warned that there had been a major kitchen fire but the afternoon tea was a joke - cup of tea with tea bag in and a slice of stale cake. The whole place was shabby, not only areas of fire damage.
we went to halford bridge to eat dinner and they booked us in for breakfast the next day - but on arising at 7.40am all of our hotel doors, including the exit were locked without a soul around. we never met the manager at all. SO , being completely fed up we excaped down the fire excape, never to return! we had a superb cooked breakfast in Banbury!!!!

Room Tip: dont bother at all!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fox and Goose Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fox and Goose Inn

Address: Armscote, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 8DD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
The Fox And Goose Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon
The Fox And Goose Inn Stratford-Upon-Avon, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fox and Goose Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.