We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pub with a carpet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Salmon Tail

The Salmon Tail
37 Evesham Road, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 9AA, England
07807634258
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $8 - $23
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch
Description: The Salmon Tail pub is located near to Stratford upon Avon Town Centre. We are a traditional local pub with a modern edge and pride ourselves on the quality of our products and the high level service that we offer. If you are looking for a quiet drink, whether that be Real Ale, Lager, Cider, Wine, Spirits or Soft drinks then our lounge area will offer you a calm, quiet and relaxed area to do so. Add our brand new open fire and the scene will be set. If you are looking for a more energetic night out with pub games included then our Bar Area offers a WPC Pool table, Darts Board, Quiz and Fruit Machines and 2 large Plasma Screen TVs showing 99% of sporting events including most Premiership Football. We really do cater for everybody and are very keen to make our pub the heart of the community that can be shared by all.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Pub with a carpet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

Visited this pub last saturday, the only pub imbetween Stratford upon Avon town centre and the racetrack, pleasantly surprised, obviously very busy but the owners had obviously thought about it previously as there were plenty of staff on. No hanging around to get served and very pleasant they were too.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salmon T, Owner at The Salmon Tail, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Kim,

Thank you for your kind review of the Salmon Tail. If you visit the pub again for race day or otherwise please make yourself known to a member of staff so that we can personally thank you.

Kind regards

The Salmon Tail
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    7
    4
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

Nice food, great value for price. Quick, prompt good friendly service with a smile.
Free parking, close to town center (5 min walk ) makes it a perfect place to go have a nice meal and a drink after shopping in town centre.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“We so wanted to be delighted but we weren't!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

This pub has changed hands frequently over the last few years. At one stage it also changed its name and became The Beadle. Finally it closed, then happily it opened again earlier in 2011 under new ownership. As locals we welcomed the reopening and thought we should support it and hoped that this would be the first of many visits.. We went to one of its Curry Nights. The curry is prepared for the Pub by a local Indian/Bangladeshi restaurant then it appeared to have been reheated under a grill or maybe in a microwave. The result was a dry, crusty curry with very dry and over done rice. The nan seemed to have suffered a similar fate. The portions were small which was probably a blessing in disguise. With a couple of beers each the overall bill was as much as if we had been to a proper Indian restaurant ,Stratford has several, by far the best (Chutney's) is no more than a half mile along the road from The Salmon Tail. We wanted to be bowled over so that we could make this our "local" both for a regular drink and for eating but we weren't.(bowled over).

  • Visited September 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Quality value honest pub food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011 via mobile

Great service, good home made pub food at a great price.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Salmon Tail also viewed

Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 
Welford on Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 

Been to The Salmon Tail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Salmon Tail, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.