We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to unwind from the tourist bustle.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hobsons Patisseries

Hobsons Patisseries
1 Henley Street, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6PT, England
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Dessert
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great place to unwind from the tourist bustle.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Friendly service, efficient and excellent food and coffee. The place has a lovely buzz and you can sit outside. We have been three or four times over two years and found it has consistency. Well done.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    208
    100
    28
    18
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stratford upon Avon
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Any Excuse to come here!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We moved to Stratford about 18 months ago & once we found Hobson's, we always choose here for any chance to celebrate. We have been on our own, with family & friends, in fact any excuse at all really! We have been for morning coffee, lunch & afternoon tea & the same standard of food & service applies to whenever you go. It does get busy at peak times but that is because it is so popular & you make an allowance for this. I definitely recommend a visit!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nutley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous Independent Cafe.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

What a great find. Before sightseeing we popped in for coffee & the display of food tempted us to return for lunch.
An extensive, very reasonably priced menu with a vast selection of the most amazing pies & outstanding cakes. Food was served quickly & all 4 of us were incredibly satisfied with our lunch. Great to also support a local business rather than the usual chains.
Would highly recommend.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Refreshing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Making a quick impromtu visit to Stratford Upon Avon on our way back home to the South Coast, we wanted to have a coffee.We saw the inevitable Costa but thought that we'd like to try something more traditional and quickly stumbled across Hobsons. What a fantastic place!! Very inviting, very friendly and the array of cakes and pies were amazing. The place is very quaint and homely. There are a number of little rooms, nooka and crannies to sit. We were lucky to find a lovely table in the small front room. We only had drinks but the cafetiere of coffee, the hot chocolate, with loads of marsh mallows and tea were all excellent and nicely served. We would loved to have treid some of the fayre but as we had all not long had breakfast, we couldn't manage it. We will definitely be visiting Hobsons again, should we return to Stratford Upon Avon

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kings Lynn
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Cake Expectations!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

After visiting Shakespear's birthplace our party of ten happened upon this amazing café just up the street and wow what a delight !!!!! The staff were extremely helpful finding us tables especially as the place was so so busy . Professional staff served us at the counter where we placed our orders , they were polite and efficient but nothing prepared us for the very high quality fresh sandwiches in a range of quite alternative fillings, as well as the usual favourites. The desserts however were the crowning glory , there were so many different varieties of diet busting calorie consuming cakes it was a nightmare to pick one , however we ended up with a Mountain Cream Scone which unfortunately beat us - yum yum !!!! I would highly recommend this place for quality dining , just be prepared to pay for it , as slightly expensive but worth every penny.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hobsons Patisseries also viewed

Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 

Been to Hobsons Patisseries? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hobsons Patisseries, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.