We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you visit Stratford you have to go here.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Shakespeare Theatre

The Royal Shakespeare Theatre
Waterside, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6BB, England
08448001110
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The RSC's recently transformed theatres in Stratford-upon-Avon re-opened in November 2010. The new building include two theatres, the Royal Shakespeare Theatre and the Swan Theatre, both using a thrust stage. Tickets for RSC performances are available to purchase in advance on the RSC website. Visitors can also experience Theatre Tours, take a trip up the Tower for fantastic views of Stratford-upon-Avon and enjoy free exhibitions. You can also book a table for lunch or dinner in the Rooftop Restaurant and Bar or enjoy a light bite in the Riverside Cafe. There is free public Wi Fi throughout the building.
Stratford upon Avon, UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“If you visit Stratford you have to go here.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

The design internally, the space, the style, the history and of course the magnificent quality of the performances they put on. Consider the restuarant too - so much better than the old fashioned, expensive one of days gone by.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,675 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,288
    295
    62
    20
    10
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“A must if you visit Stratford”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Never seen a Shakespeare production before. so went to the RSC Courtyard theatre to see "A Much Ado About Nothing" brilliant experience and absolutely loved the performance.
It was different from what I expected, the stage comes right out into the audience, we were two rows back from the front and it was like being part of the actions.The cast were excellent and really interacted with the audience.
Theatre is lovely and gives you the feeling of what it must have actually been like in Shakespeare times. will certainly visit again

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
70 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Vibrating with history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

I took the "Front of House" tour and we were able to peek backstage as well because there was no production today. They were changing the set which was fascinating. The Deco original lobby is beautiful. The floorboards to the old original stage were pulled up and re-laid in the passageway between the lobby and the theater, so you are walking on the same board trod on by the famous old Shakespearan actors. A dream realized ... to visit this historic theater.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Managed to book tickets online before our visit to Stratford. The production of The Tempest was very good and well worth the trip.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balsall Common
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“To be or not to be, three A's me thinks!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

My wife and two friends from "up north" visited the theatre just to get a feel for it. We di not have the time to see a presentation or a guided tour so we asked an attendant if we could just pop our noses into the theatre, "no problem" was the response.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Royal Shakespeare Theatre also viewed

Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 

Been to The Royal Shakespeare Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royal Shakespeare Theatre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.