We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really worth the visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anne Hathaway's Cottage & Gardens

Anne Hathaway's Cottage & Gardens
Shottery, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 9HH, England
44-1789-204016
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$21*
and up
Type: Historic Sites, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This fifteenth-century, charming thatched cottage was the childhood home of Anne Hathaway, Shakespeare's sweet-heart and wife.Experienced guides explain the stories behind the Shakespeare connection and the history of some well-known English idioms such as "chairman of the board".There are nine acres of gardens and grounds to explore including a lavender maze, a woodland walk, the Shakespeare arboretum and a living willow cabin where you may listen to some of Shakespeare's sonnets.
Camberley, Surrey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Really worth the visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The cottage is out of town but worth the journey and,if the weather is fair, you can actually walk to it from Stratford. There is a lovely garden with willow sculptures and arches plus the main house which is charming. There are guides to tell stories and the history which make it an interesting visit. Access to the upper floor is by steep stairs so may not be suitable to some but just the ground floor would be worth the admission price as long as you could walk around the garden. There is a nice gift shop and a few plants from the garden are sold as well. The tea shop across the street was closed but it was mid November and early morning so check as it may be open during certain hours.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShakespeareBT, Digital Marketing Officer at Anne Hathaway's Cottage & Gardens, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Thank you for visiting Anne Hathaway's Cottage and taking the time to write a review. I am glad your enjoyed your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

953 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    557
    304
    66
    19
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Expensive”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

£9 per adult for a 30 minute visit to the house. The cottage is pleasant enough but little of it is from the time of Anne Hathaway. There are tour guides who introduce the house but to be honest, it's pretty basic stuff. Most of the commentary ended "and that's where we get the phrase "xxx". eg Cold shoulder, good night sleep tight, pot luck, threshold, etc etc. It was quite repetitive.

We stretched out the visit by wandering around the gardens. Not surprisingly, in November, there wasn't a huge amount to see, I'm sure it's better in summer. There's a woodland walk, with some great mushroom circles, but I can't begin to explain the broken model of Julius Caesar in one clearing, with painted face, nylon toga, a plastic laurel wreath and random arms hanging from trees.

I think we then found Yorick in another clearing. It was a skull made from papier mache.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShakespeareBT, Digital Marketing Officer at Anne Hathaway's Cottage & Gardens, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Thank you for visiting Anne Hathaway's Cottage and taking the time to write a review. Sorry that you felt that the price wasn't right. As an independent charity we receive no public subsidy or direct government funding. We continually review our ticket prices to try and make them good value.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire, UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great tour guides”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

You can zip arpund Anne Hathaways cottage in about 30 minutes, but I would really suggest you listen to the tour guides that are in around on your arrival. They have some excellent stories and great facts about the cottage and the people that lived there.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShakespeareBT, Digital Marketing Officer at Anne Hathaway's Cottage & Gardens, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Thank you for visiting Anne Hathaway's Cottage and writing a review of your experience. It is great to hear that you found the guides informative and interesting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester UK
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
61 attraction reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“Lovely situation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We visited here with our eldest daughter and grandchildren in early November. We had a family ticket for all the Shakespeare sites but had to pay £9 for our daughter. Compared to NT and English Heritage prices this is pretty expensive for what you are seeing! Having said that we enjoyed our visit even though it was a freezing cold day. The cottage is beautiful and the gardens were interesting and I would love to see them in Summer glory. The vegetables plots provided a good display but most of the flowers were fading as you would expect in November. The cottage itself is interesting but I think our visit was 'made' by the interesting guide explaining things. She certainly captured the interest of the grandchildren(ages 7 & 6)
We didn't tackle the woodland walk as it was very muddy but did enjoy the maze although again very muddy (but it was November!) The children especially enjoyed the cut out sculpture of the British Isles and loved locating places. The gift shop is good and the staff are very helpful. We wanted a particular children's Shakespeare book but they were out of stock so they kindly found out that it was available for us at Mary Arden's farm where we were visiting next.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShakespeareBT, Digital Marketing Officer at Anne Hathaway's Cottage & Gardens, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Many thanks for visiting Anne Hathaway's Cottage and taking the time to review your trip. I am glad you enjoyed the gardens and the guides enhanced your visit. The family ticket for the Shakespeare Houses is valid for a year, so I hope you manage to return in the summer to see how the garden has changed through the seasons.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We visited on a gloomy winters day, but the cottage and grounds were beautiful nonetheless. Fascinating historical insight given by the guides, particularly David who was brilliant!! The woodland walk, the maze, the tree collection and the beautiful sculptures were all great. Will try and return in better weather to see the cottage garden flowers in bloom. Heartily recommended.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShakespeareBT, Digital Marketing Officer at Anne Hathaway's Cottage & Gardens, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Thank you for visiting Anne Hathaway's Cottage and reviewing your trip. It is great to hear that our guides added to the experience and you enjoyed the garden. Tickets are valid for a year so please do return to see the Cottage garden flowers in all their glory.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anne Hathaway's Cottage & Gardens also viewed

Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 

Been to Anne Hathaway's Cottage & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anne Hathaway's Cottage & Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.