We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We enjoyed it very much. This was our second visit but certainly not the last one.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brook Lodge Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Brook Lodge Guest House to your Saves list
Brook Lodge Guest House
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   192 Alcester Road, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 9DR, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Apeldoorn, The Netherlands
1 review
“We enjoyed it very much. This was our second visit but certainly not the last one.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

This is a very good guest house.
We have been here last year already and because it was so lovely we adapted our journey so that we could stay here another time. We were here for 5 nights this year and hated to leave again.
The people are very friendly and helpfull.
The breakfast is very good. You just have to ask if you like more juice or whatever.
The rooms are very clean. We stayed in the en suite room with our son who had a separate room for himself. Wonderfull.
In the rooms there is coffee, tea, chocolate etc available.

In 15 minutes you can walk to the city centre.
It is good value for money and we can advise anyone to stay here.

Room Tip: Room number 5 is very suited for families
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    14
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
24
21
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Beaumont, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011

I stayed at Brook Lodge Guest House with my 2 grown daughters on June 1, 2011. Our accommodations were very nice and very clean. We had a 2 bedroom suite with en-suite facilities. Barbara and Giovanni are gracious hosts and when I came down with allergy symptoms, they recommended a chemist close by. I would highly recommend staying at Brook Lodge Guest House if ever in Stratford-Upon-Avon. As a plus, it has a private parking lot. Unless you have been around England and had street parking, you wont' appreciate that statement.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dundee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

was it worth the money - no
would i stay there again - no

brook lodge 192 Alcester Road, Stratford-upon-Avon was the final destination on our way home. we had previously stayed in hotel/b&b accommodation, bonnicott house hotel in lynmouth, devon & edgars B&B in st ives, cornwall. all were similarly priced & offered the same facilities. brook lodge is however the poor relation.
brook lodge has a lot of little faults that devalue the experience.
the welcome from our host set the tone. it did not feel sincere & warm. the small talk about where we had been was performed like a duty. at lynmouth we were offered tea & tea cakes & sat chatting for >1/2hr.
the room was a good size with a fitted en-suite shower room. i think this caused a certain musty smell in the room due to the fitted expelair not being adequate in size. the room looked like it had been redecorated recently, however there was a fawn coloured carpet that had picked up dirt & needed cleaning. the shower was also under-powered & did not provide a good flow of water.
breakfast was from 0800-0900. this caused delays when everyone in the b&B arrived at the same time. we probably sat for 15 minutes before our order for breakfast was taken. breakfast was adequate but probably consisted of supermarket value items, fruit juice, small eggs, thin bread, tomatoes with pieces sliced off (presumably bad bit cut off). we were able to help ourselves to cereal, fruit juice, coffee, grapefruit were served on ration by our host. top-ups were provided. although i am not a coffee drinker, i was informed that it was very weak. tea was from a t-bag & type of my liking. some of the breakfast was undercooked and limited in selection. several other diners also left food on the plate.

the feeling that i come away with from brook lodge is that they want maximum profit for minimum effort. it is run on their terms & not for the benefit of the guests.

i have never written a review before but felt so strongly in this case

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
giannir, Owner at Brook Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, June 20, 2011
We are naturally very sorry to hear that none of the things which we built on our reputation and success met with your approval (apart from the sleep quality). We also assume that the Silver Award received for years by the Tourist Board and the Gold Award received by the Food Hygiene Inspection Rating are not deserved. We regret not having been given the opportunity to address your little dissatisfactions during your stay as most of them seem (in your own words) to be due to hearsay or assumptions. We respect your views but there are a few points which need a reply for the sake of the readers of this site.
In our long experience in this activity not even one of our guests has had reason to complain about variety, quality and most of all abundance of food served. Our breakfast menu offers a variety to suit all tastes and requirements and despite the choice of one item or another we have never refused to serve both. All our food is cooked to order (which obviously may require a bit longer) and all our ingredients are top of the range and (whenever possible) locally produced like the eggs. Much to the surprise of our own supplier we only serve the top Jamaican Blue Mountain blend of coffee and for those with stronger taste we have espresso coffee (on request) hand made with a domestic Italian coffee machine. We certainly hate wastage (as a principle) but absolutely no one has ever been refused a second or even third juice. Second helpings of toast and hot drinks are standard. With a selection of 5 different types of tea and several infusions it would be impossible for us to use anything but bags (and to guess how strong the guest likes it). We are sorry for the limited selection of cooked breakfast but we always thought that Fried, Scrambled, Poached or Boiled eggs or omelette with bacon, sausage, mushrooms, tomatoes, baked beans, fried bread or hash browns were a sufficient choice but we obviously got it wrong. We will accept suggestions.
The food left on the plate cannot be assumption of dissatisfaction: sometimes the eyes are bigger than the stomach. Other times people (specially foregneirs) want to just try it. We always try to find out.
Last but not least we very often openly discuss with those guests who ask us the financial aspects of our activity. It would have given us a great pleasure to prove how even this assumption is wrong. It is hard to believe how much more revenue (and profit) we could make at the expenses of standards! We do take great pride in our work and our biggest reward is the guest satisfaction. The great number of return visitors and recommendations is our biggest satisfaction although regretfully we fully appreciate that it is impossible to meet everybody's expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

Warm welcome, good food, enough to keep you going all day. Very high standard of cleanliness. We could not have asked for more. 10 minute drive from Stratford and good location for visits out of town.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
giannir, Owner at Brook Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, June 7, 2011
Thank you very much for your comments. Surely you meant 10 minutes WALK from the town centre ;-) We are located 10 minutes DRIVE from Warwick :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2011

A nice B+B. Simple and clean. Breakfast was delicious. Staff very friendly. About a 15-20 minute walk to Stratford town, but nearer to Anne Hathaway's cottage. Bathroom was a bit small and old.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2011

Excellent car parking facilities within the properties boundary. I was greeted by the owner who showed me my room and helped me with my baggage. The room was a fair size, clean and well equipped with hair dryer, tea and coffee making facilities and usual bits in the small but perfectly adequate shower room. Comfy bed and although the room faced the road it was quiet. Breakfast was excellent with a wide range of options available, well presented in a quiet and pleasant dining room. Overall an excellent overnight stay and would recommend.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2011

It had been difficult to find somewhere to stay at short notice. Luckily, Brook Lodge had 2 vacant rooms.

On arival we were welcomed by Giovanni, with little fuss or formality we were given keys and could continue our planned visits.

Brook Lodge is ideally situated for Stratford on Avon with ample parking and a short walk into town (parking can be expensive in town). The bedrooms were very clean and tidy offering all the comforts wanted by a traveller on a leisure visit.

Next morning (after a good sleep) we went to the breakfast room and selected from the menu our individually 'cooked to order breakfasts' (no pre-cooked breakfast hanging around waiting to be served here!). Fresh and cooked to order - delicious - no sight of the portion control found in so many other establishments!

We were made very welcome during our stay, a well run and comfortable guest house. Certainly where we will stay on our next visit.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Brook Lodge Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brook Lodge Guest House

Address: 192 Alcester Road, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 9DR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Brook Lodge Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Brook Lodge Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brook Lodge Guest House Stratford-Upon-Avon, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brook Lodge Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.