We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable and relaxing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Emsley Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Emsley Guest House to your Saves list
Emsley Guest House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   4 Arden Street, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6PA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Enjoyable and relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

A lovely and welcoming establishment. Ray and Melanie made us feel very much at home. The room, the breakfast, the location - everything was ideal. We are vegetarian and were well catered for. Would definitely stay - many thanks to Melanie and Ray.

Shirley and Sean O'Donnell

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emsley, Owner at Emsley Guest House, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Hi Sean & Shirley,
Thank you for the great review - short and sweet and lovely comments! Thank you for coming back to us again, it means so much to us when guests return. It was lovely to see you both and hope we have the pleasure of your company again on some future occasion.
Best wishes,
Ray, Mel & Hayley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    39
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
79
162
26
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Had a lovely stay here. We were welcomed with a pot of tea and homemade biscuits which were yummy. the room was quiet and comfy. The breakfast was fantastic. Will definately stay again if in Stratford for a night at the theatre. Thank you to Melanie, Ray and Hayley.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emsley, Owner at Emsley Guest House, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to do a review for us, we really appreciate it and thank you for your lovely comments too. It was a pleasure to meet you and we hope to see you again in the not too distant future.
Best wishes,
Ray, Melanie & Hayley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lund, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

The location is excellent: literally a two-minute walk from the railway station, about five minutes from Shakespeare's birthplace and ten minutes from the theatres and the river. (There is also a launderette just round the corner.) As well as a really good breakfast, Melanie also does cream teas and packed lunches on request. The room was well-planned and scrupulously clean every day. The Wi-fi worked really well, even on the top floor. Even the plumbing was above average. If you're hyper allergic it could be useful to know that the owners have a dog, but she never goes into the bedrooms or the breakfast room. The house is located next to a main road, but I couldn't hear any traffic whatsoever from my room. Also, I could see the theatre from my window, which was very nice. I couldn't have been given a warmer welcome, and I really appreciated all the thoughtful little extras, from homemade biscuits and hot-water bottles in the room to discounts on local attractions. I stayed for a whole month and didn't run into any problems. Ray, Melanie and Hayley were always happy to cater for special requests, and went out of their way to make my time in Stratford as comfortable and enjoyable as possible.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the house are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emsley, Owner at Emsley Guest House, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Hi Mette,
Thank you so much for the lovely review, we really appreciate it. It was a great pleasure to meet you and have you stay with us for a whole month. You were the perfect guest and if you are ever over here again it would be lovely to see you - even for just a cup of tea.
Best wishes for your future,
Ray, Melanie & Hayley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oundle, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

This is a fabulous place to stay. Ray and Melanie made sure that everything was to the highest standard and were really welcoming. The breakfasts were just gorgeous - Melanie's cooking is quite outstanding - which is the only downside, really: I just had to have a large cooked breakfast every single morning so I didn't miss out ;-) The room was spotlessly clean (thanks, Hayley) and the bed really comfortable. The location is good, too, as it's in easy walking distance of the theatres and town centre. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emsley, Owner at Emsley Guest House, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thank you for the lovely review, and for giving Hayley a mention. She works so hard in the background but without her we couldn't cope! Glad you enjoyed your stay with us, you were the perfect guest, and we hope to see you again at some point. Thanks again for your lovely comments.
Best wishes,
Ray, Melanie & Hayley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Once again a very warm and friendly welcome from Melanie, Ray and Hayley. Our second visit and already we have been given 'our room' (York). We use this guest house for visits to the RSC which is only a 5-10 walk away, as are the restaurants, shops, bars and all the Shakespeare experience you could wish for. We have already booked our third visit and are looking forward to sampling the excellent breakfasts and hospitality again and listening to Ray's tales of life as 'mine host'.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emsley, Owner at Emsley Guest House, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thank you for making the time and effort to do a review, we much appreciate it. Its always great when guests return to us, it means we must be doing something right. We are glad you had an enjoyable stay and look forward to seeing you both again soon.
Best wishes,
Ray, Melanie & Hayley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Ray and Mel gave us a wonderful welcome and I really cannot contemplate staying anywhere else on our next visit to Stratford. From the homemade biscuits and marmalade, to Ray's breakfast braces, it's the attention to detail that set the Emsley Guest House apart from other B&Bs I've stayed in over the years.

The rooms are bright and clean, the beds are comfortable and the showers are warm. The cooked breakfasts, whether fry up, omletter or smoked salmon muffins are delicious and filling.

Ray is always on hand with a story to tell or some advice for where to go or what to see. All in all a throughly enjoyable visit and we will be returning as soon as possible!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emsley, Owner at Emsley Guest House, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to do a review, we really appreciate it. Thank you for your lovely comments, we work very hard to give our guests the best experience we can so it is nice when our efforts are appreciated. Hope to see you again at some point.
Best wishes,
Ray, Melanie & Hayley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

If you need the ideal bed and breakfast experience, then visit Melanie, Ray and Hayley at this more than first class "home." It does feel like home because you are made to feel so welcome and individual. Everything and I mean everything is catered for in a guest house. Co-ordinated items in the bedroom make a special contribution to the feeling of care given by this wonderful family. Stayed in many guest houses over many years, but this is simply the best!!

I have given all the options an excellent rating and I mean them!

Room Tip: Each room is tastefully decorated and there is a combination of beds to suit everyone's situatio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emsley, Owner at Emsley Guest House, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Thank you for being our 300th review!! and thank you for your lovely comments. Its always a great pleasure to see you both and we are grateful for you coming back to us again and again. We look forward to welcoming you both back again in the not too distant future.
Best wishes always,
Ray, Melanie & Hayley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Emsley Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emsley Guest House

Address: 4 Arden Street, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6PA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Emsley Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Emsley is a newly refurbished four star rated Victorian Town House Bed and Breakfast, centrally located, five minutes walk from town centre and Shakespeare's birthplace. We are also the closest B&B to the train station.All rooms are en suite, centrally heated, tastefully decorated with generous tea and coffee making facilities home made shortbread biscuits, LCD TV/DVD with Freeview, free WiFi and free parking. Spacious family rooms sleep up to five adults. Special diets catered for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your Emsley Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emsley Guest House Stratford-Upon-Avon, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Emsley Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.