We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend in Stratford” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Emsley Guest House

Save Saved
You added Emsley Guest House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Emsley Guest House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   4 Arden Street, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6PA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Weekend in Stratford”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Travelled with my wife and daughter. Chose Emsley because of the reviews on Tripadvisor and we were not disappointed! The property is ideally situated for Stratford being only a 5 min walk into the centre. Emsley is well decorated throughout and our room was excellent. I can not improve on other reviewers opinions about breakfast only to agree totally with them and say it was fantastic.
However, the most impressive thing about this property are the owners Ray, Mel and Hayley. They really are welcoming, genuine people and offer great advice on where to visit and eat. A short story to illustrate the point. We travelled from Manchester and had a nightmare journey to get to Stratford (major accident on M6, we only travelled 30 miles in 4 hours). Having booked a cream tea (recommended), we phoned Mel to let her know we would be late. We arrived at 5.15pm, settled into our room, then half an hour later went down to the breakfast room for aforementioned cream tea - homemade scones, homemade jam, clotted cream, fresh strawberries and lots of tea and coffee. Just what we needed after our journey. We could only manage 4 of the 6 scones we were served. No problem, the 2 remaining scones were saved
and along with another scone and more jam was placed in our room on Saturday afternoon. On our return from a morning in Stratford we found the tray of jam and scones and this time left nothing! Additionally, the complementary biscuits in the room each day are also homemade and are also excellent!! Emsley really is a home from home and we will definitely have a return visit. Thank you Ray, Mel and Hayley

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emsley, Owner at Emsley Guest House, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you so much for the lovely review and fantastic comments! We are so glad you had a pleasant stay, and enjoyed the cream tea! It makes all the hard work worthwhile when our guests appreciate it. We hope to have the pleasure of your company again at some future date.
Best wishes,
Ray, Melanie & Hayley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    279
    35
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
67
129
25
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

I stayed at the lovely Emsley Guest House during a quick overnight trip to Stratford-Upon-Avon and had such a wonderful stay. The closeness to the train station, the center of town, and the Royal Shakespeare Theater cannot be beat. Plus the extra amenities they offer is an excellent touch. I cannot recommend it enough!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emsley, Owner at Emsley Guest House, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Hi Sarah,
Thank you for taking time out to do a review for us, we really appreciate it. We are glad you had a good time in Stratford and hope the rest of your holiday was memorable. It was lovely to meet you.
Best wishes,
Ray, Melanie & Hayley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CORDOBA,ARGENTINA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Good location near the railroad station.Very nice room,nice decoration and good ventilation.Tea and coffee hardware and inputs in the room.Excellent English beakfast plus juices,fruits,yougurts,cereals etc.serviced by the owners in the living room decorated real english way.We had real good time.

Room Tip: Rooms are in the first floor ,no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emsley, Owner at Emsley Guest House, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you the lovely review, it is much appreciated. We are glad you enjoyed your stay in Stratford. Sorry about the lack of an elevator but unfortunately the house was built in 1860 and I don't think they had been invented then! It was a pleasure to meet you and we hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday.
Best wishes,
Ray, Melanie & Hayley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Yet another super stay at this perfect guest house. I honestly cannot fault the Coulson family. The property is spotless and absolutely everything is catered for and I mean everything. Beautifully decorated and furnished accommodation. Relaxing and a home from home which adds to the pleasure of my annual visit to the RSC Theatre. Okay I went to see David Tennant as Richard II [fantastic] but I now feel I also travel to Stratford to meet up with Melanie, Ray and Hayley once again. Bravo folks and keep up the good work. Incidentally the cooked breakfasts are 11 out of 10!! Location is ideal for a leisurely stroll into the beautiful town of Stratford too; a matter of minutes.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emsley, Owner at Emsley Guest House, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for another lovely review! It is always a great pleasure when guests return to us. I suppose we must be doing something right! We are glad you enjoyed "David's" performance too. He is never a disappointment! Thanks again for taking the trouble to do a review and we look forward to seeing you both again next year.
Best wishes,
Melanie, Ray & Hayley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

I stayed here for three nights alone in a twin room and it was a very pleasant experience, clean room and bath, great amenities, friendly and considerate owners, plentiful and tasty breakfast, good location.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emsley, Owner at Emsley Guest House, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Hi Julia,
Thank you for taking the time to do a review for us, it is much appreciated. It was a pleasure to meet you and you were the perfect guest. We would welcome you back any time. We wish you all the best with your studies in Scotland.
Best wishes,
Ray, Melanie & Hayley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

What a fabulous place to stay when visiting Stratford to attend a play at the RSC (or any other reason for that matter) Just a few minutes walk and you are in the heart of Stratford with all its attractions and eating establishments. Walking home after the theatre was a safe and short stroll. Ray, we had some great conversations and thoroughly enjoyed Melanie's breakfasts (note to self must try a cream tea next time). You, Melanie and Hayley have got everything right to make your guests feel comfortable, well-fed and safe. This will be our base in Stratford for future visits to the theatre (already booked two dates in 2014).

To sum up, great hospitality, comfortable rooms, fab breakfasts, convenient parking opposite - you three have got it right. Thank you Vicky & Andy T

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emsley, Owner at Emsley Guest House, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Hi Andy & Vicky
Thank you so much for the lovely review, it is much appreciated! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you both again in 2014.
Best wishes,
Ray, Melanie & Hayley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

On September 16, 2013, we arrived by train from London. The Emsley Guest House was a two block walk from the train station (took about five minutes to walk). From the moment we arrived until we checked out four days later, Ray, Melanie, & Hayley did all they could to make our stay in Stratford upon Avon a memorable one. Ray knows all the historical places and provides easy to follow directions on how to get there.

The breakfasts became an event in themselves. There are enough choices that we had something different for breakfast each of our four days.

We had the Oxford room-upstairs and in the rear. The room was immaculate and very quiet; just right for a sound sleep after a hard day of sightseeing. WiFi and TV were available in our room.

The location is quite central with most attractions, restaurants and pubs less than a 10 minute walk. The room rates were reasonable, and The Emsley House offers great value for a stay in Stratford upon Avon.

Room Tip: We liked the Oxford room because it was in the rear of the house and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emsley, Owner at Emsley Guest House, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you for the lovely review, it is much appreciated. We are so glad you enjoyed your visit to Stratford and it was a pleasure to meet you. We hope the rest of your trip was great too.
Best wishes,
Ray, Melanie & Hayley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Emsley Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emsley Guest House

Address: 4 Arden Street, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6PA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Emsley Guest House 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Emsley is a newly refurbished four star rated Victorian Town House Bed and Breakfast, centrally located, five minutes walk from town centre and Shakespeare's birthplace. We are also the closest B&B to the train station.All rooms are en suite, centrally heated, tastefully decorated with generous tea and coffee making facilities home made shortbread biscuits, LCD TV/DVD with Freeview, free WiFi and free parking. Spacious family rooms sleep up to five adults. Special diets catered for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Emsley Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emsley Guest House Stratford-Upon-Avon, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Emsley Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.