We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm & Truly Personal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Emsley Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Emsley Guest House to your Saves list
Emsley Guest House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   4 Arden Street, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6PA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Shah Alam, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Warm & Truly Personal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We arrived by train at Stratford-upon-Avon station and we walked to The Emsley which is only 3mins walk (very convenient even with luggage). Ray welcomed us to The Suffolk Room, a big family room for 5 of us...it was very spacious (2 dbl beds and single bunks-all are good comfortable beds), super clean, fluffy bath & hand towels, nice smelling body wash & lotion and best part is private ensuite shower plus a second bathroom only for us! Courtney brought us a tray of coffee & tea, and my children 15,14 and 11 yrs finished the homemade biscuits immediately.

Mel's hot breakfast was the best home cooked meal in a cosy breakfast room. Ray gave us proper road directions and suggestions for such short time visit. I just wished we stayed longer and urge you all to taste this family's warm and truly B&B personal hospitality. We definitely made the right choice for value for money, really!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emsley, Owner at Emsley Guest House, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Hi Fidal,
Thank you so much for the lovely review! It is very kind of you to take the trouble to do one for us. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. It was a pleasure to meet you and your family, and we hope to see you again some day. Best wishes,
Ray, Melanie & Hayley
Emsley Guest House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    311
    39
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
76
149
26
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

The Emsley has that personal touch that I believe you do not get in the large hotels and we have stayed in many a hotel. Ray and Mel make you feel very welcome and to be honest it feels like you are sharing their home rather than staying at a Guest House. Nothing is too much trouble for them. Having got stuck in traffic on the M6 it was very nice for Ray to offer to make us a pot of fresh coffee and pot of tea. Just what we needed. We stayed in the York room, the bed was very comfy and the room was tastefully decorated. Breakfast could not be faulted - plenty of choices and more importantly it tasted excellent. Nearly forgot to mention the home-made shortbreads in the room. A nice little touch. We will definitely return for our next Shakespeare experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emsley, Owner at Emsley Guest House, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Hi Terry,
Thank you very much for the review, it is much appreciated. We are so glad you enjoyed your trip to Stratford and the Emsley. It was a pleasure to meet you both and good luck with the rest of your list!
Best wishes,
Ray, Mel & Hayley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tewantin, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We arrived to the warmest welcome ever when we set foot in this lovely B&B. Ray made us a lovely pot of coffee upon arrival and provided home made biscuits. The tips Ray gave us were most helpful with it being our first visit to the town. We stayed in the York Room which was immaculate and tastefully decorated. With breakfast, we were most impressed with the large variety of choices and the hot food cooked to perfection....so delicious!
This would have to be the best B&B we have stayed in.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emsley, Owner at Emsley Guest House, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Hi Chris & Ruth,
Thank you so much for doing a review for us, we really appreciate it. We are so glad you had a good time in Stratford and we hope the rest of your trip goes well too.
It was lovely to meet you both.

Best wishes,
Ray, Melanie & Hayley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We stayed here with our two daughters aged 11 and 8. We were exhausted after catching the Eurostar from Paris and then driving 1.5hrs to Stratford. When we arrived at The Emsley we were greeted at the car park by Ray who then showed us to the guest house and to our room. From the moment you step inside it feels like home. We stayed in Suffolk (the family room) which had a double, single and single bunks. The beds were so comfortable and the room and ensuite were spotless. We also had our own special key to a second bathroom with a bath, toilet and basin. In the room we had a plasma tv with Freeview, a kettle with tea & coffee, a hairdryer and even hot water bottles and homemade biscuits! Ray gave us some great tips for things to see and do and on his advice we spent an unforgettable day at Kenilworth Castle. The home cooked breakfast every morning was just wonderful and it was served to us at our table in a beautifully laid out breakfast room complete with crisp white tablecloths and napkins. Ray and his family have spent much time renovating this house and their efforts are to be commended, it is beautiful. We will definitely be recommending The Emsley to anyone we know heading to Stratford. Our only regret is that we couldn't stay longer.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emsley, Owner at Emsley Guest House, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Thank you so much for the lovely review, we really appreciate it. It was a real pleasure to meet your lovely family and they were so well behaved too. We are glad you all had an enjoyable stay and hope the rest of your holiday is great.

Best wishes,
Ray, Melanie & Hayley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

What a lovely place to stay! Superb food and comfortable sleeping arrangements for our family of 5- 3 teens and two adults. Ray was helpful with recommendations for dinner and sightseeing, without being overly assertive. Great experience!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emsley, Owner at Emsley Guest House, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time and trouble to do a review for us, it is much appreciated. We are glad you had an enjoyable stay. It was a pleasure to meet you and your family.
Best wishes,
Ray, Melanie & Hayley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Arrived to a very warm welcome and it made a great start to a short break in Stratford Upon Avon. The Suffolk room was spotless, warm and very comfortable. Even though there were tea/coffee making facilities in the room, Ray was very attentive and insisted on making us refreshements upon arrival. Ray, Mel and Hayley work very hard to ensure all guests are well attended to, nothing is too much trouble.

Breakfast was a vast array of choices and cooked impeccably. Quality food and no grease visible to the human eye. I must say the mushrooms were delicious, the best I have tasted.

Ray was very helpful offering tips and vouchers for places to visit and eat, not pushy in any way, just very helpful. We took up Ray's advice and we didn't regret it in anyway.Thank you Ray.

Room Tip: The Suffolk room is a family room and has 2 bathrooms. Great for a group of friends staying together...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emsley, Owner at Emsley Guest House, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time and trouble to do a review, it is greatly appreciated. It was a pleasure to meet you all and hope we have the chance to see you again at some point.
Best wishes,
Ray, Melanie & Hayley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAINDON
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Stayed at the Emsley again. Booked the Gloucester room which has just been refurbished to a high standard. The owners are very attentive without being pushy. Tea, coffee and homemade biscuits on arrival was just what we needed. I had a ticket given to me by a stranger as I pulled into the car park that went through to 8am the next day. This meant that I wouldnt need a parking ticket from the Emsley until the morning. As I ran downstair the next day Ray said that he had been over to my car and put a ticket under the wiper blades. This was above and beyond what I expect from a B&B. And it was pouring with rain. The breakfast covers all tastes and is freshly cooked and ample portions. Thanks for all your hard work in making our stay like a home from home experience.

Room Tip: All rooms are of a high standard, just be aware that the top floor has steep stairs leading to it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emsley, Owner at Emsley Guest House, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Hi Carol,
Thank you so much for the review, and coming back to us again, it means so much to us. We are so glad you had a pleasant stay and it was great to meet your lovely mum too! Hope to see you again at some future point.
Best wishes,
Ray, Melanie & Hayley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Emsley Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emsley Guest House

Address: 4 Arden Street, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6PA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Emsley Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Emsley is a newly refurbished four star rated Victorian Town House Bed and Breakfast, centrally located, five minutes walk from town centre and Shakespeare's birthplace. We are also the closest B&B to the train station.All rooms are en suite, centrally heated, tastefully decorated with generous tea and coffee making facilities home made shortbread biscuits, LCD TV/DVD with Freeview, free WiFi and free parking. Spacious family rooms sleep up to five adults. Special diets catered for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Emsley Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emsley Guest House Stratford-Upon-Avon, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Emsley Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.