We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay at The Emsley!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Emsley Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Emsley Guest House to your Saves list
Emsley Guest House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   4 Arden Street, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6PA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Stay at The Emsley!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We stayed for one night at the Emsley in April 2013, and we were delighted with the standard of accommodation and the welcome we received. We stayed in the Gloucester Room. I would recommend The Emsley to anyone who wants to stay within easy walking distance of Stratford's attractions. The home-made shortbread was also excellent!
Mr & Mrs Barker, Norfolk

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emsley, Owner at Emsley Guest House, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Mr & Mrs Barker,
Thank you so much for doing a review for us, it is very much appreciated. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again at some future date.
Best wishes,
Ray, Melanie & Hayley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    311
    39
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
76
149
26
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

We were really impressed by the Emsley, Ray made us feel most welcome and we were even fortunate enough to get parked in front of the guest house itself so didn't have to worry about parking - although the car park is only yards up the road anyway.
The room was lovely, very clean and cosy with a fantastic en-suite and Mel's homemade biscuits were a special added touch!
The breakfast was perfect, catering for all needs but as a full English connoisseur, I certainly left the dining room happy and ready for the day!
Ray, Mel and Hayley were all impeccable hosts and genuinely lovely people to talk to, we really would recommend the Emsley to others visiting the beautiful Stratford, if going to the RSC, it is a short pleasant 10 minute walk so perfect.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emsley, Owner at Emsley Guest House, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you so much for the review, it is much appreciated. We are glad you had an pleasant stay with us and we hope to see you again at some point in the future.
Best wishes,
Ray, Melanie & Hayley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington State
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

My husband and I stayed here on our whirlwind trip of England. We chose this B&B on the recommendations of the Rick Steve Guidebook and TA reviews. We only had one night and a day in Stratford Upon Avon--but we made the most of it thanks to Ray and Melanie owners of this charming B&B. When we arrived, we were worried about parking on the busy street, but Ray met us at the door and after checking us in and helping us to our room he gave us the pass for the car park just down the street--very convenient.

Our room was nice and clean. A double bed and a single (which we laid out our clothes on) we had room for our suitcases and the bath was clean and very adequate. Everything was spotless!
There were night stands and a small desk/dresser which was very handy.

But the best part was the suggestions from Ray. Since we were only in town for one night and seeing a play in the evening, we needed to know what we HAD to see and Ray gave us a map and marked it for us! The perfect guide!

The B&B is in a good location--an easy walk to all the sights. And a safe area to walk in the evening after seeing a play at RSC--which was a highlight of our trip

In the morning we had a great breakfast -- and again Ray gave us some suggestions to see on our drive to Keswick. We appreciated their helpfulness, especially since we were only a one-night stay. We would definitely return to the Emsley Guest House

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emsley, Owner at Emsley Guest House, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you so much for the lovely review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay, and even though it was brief we hope you managed to do everything you wanted to. It was a pleasure to meet you.
Best wishes,
Melanie, Ray & Hayley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinver
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Warm and friendly welcome with much appreciated pot of tea and delicious home made biscuits. Our room York was spotless and very comfortable and very quiet at the back of the house.Breakfast was excellent. It was an easy short walk into the town and so convenient for the train station .
Colin and Sue S

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emsley, Owner at Emsley Guest House, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Hi Colin & Sue,
Thank you so much for the lovely review, we really appreciate you taking the time and effort to do it for us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope we see you again at some future date. It was a pleasure to meet you both.
Best wishes,
Ray, Melanie & Hayley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

A lovely warm welcome, Ray and Mel did everything they could to make our stay as nice as possible. The parking arrangement was easy and very convenient. The guest house has been beautifully renovated, very high standard and you can tell heart and soul has gone into it!!! We stayed in the family room, very cosy, clean and very well equipped.

The breakfast in the morning was lovely and we truly did feel very well looked after. I would definitely book here as my first choice if we go again.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emsley, Owner at Emsley Guest House, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Hi Rachel,
Thank you for doing a review for us, we are very grateful. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and it was a pleasure to meet you. Maybe we will see you again at some future date.
Best wishes,
Ray, Melanie & Hayley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke On Trent
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We arrived at The Emsley guest house on sunday at approx 11am and got a lovely warm welcome from all the family. We were shown to our room The Norfolk a twin room which was lovely with lots of character and very cosy and warm. We were made coffee and home made biscuits which we have never experienced before in any accomodation. We were given lots of useful information by the owners Ray Mel and Hayley. The breakfasts were amazing and you could choose the previous night from a list that spoilt you for choice so we had to try bit of everything! Anything you could wish for for a home from home experience was there for you from hot water bottle to makeup wipes. The guest house is in prime position and only took a few minutes to walk into the centre of town and to all the fab bars and restaurants. We visited Warwick castle while we were there and the owner of the guest house even gave us vouchers to get money off the entrance fee and voucher to restaurant. So very kind and helpful and we will definately be going back!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emsley, Owner at Emsley Guest House, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you for the lovely review, it is much appreciated. We are so glad you had an enjoyable stay. It was a pleasure to meet you both and we hope to see you again at some point in the future.
Best wishes,
Ray, Melanie & Hayley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We have stayed at this friendly, comfortable and well-located guest house several times, and each has been a cosy and hospitable experience. We wanted for nothing, nothing was too much trouble for our super hosts and everything you need is included. Nicely finished rooms, Wi-fi, a good solid breakfast and a short wander into town to see the sights are all at your fingertips. We would recommend this guest house to anyone wanting a home-from-home saty.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emsley, Owner at Emsley Guest House, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the trouble to do a review for us, we really appreciate it. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the near future.
Best wishes,
Ray, Melanie & Hayley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Emsley Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emsley Guest House

Address: 4 Arden Street, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6PA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Emsley Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Emsley is a newly refurbished four star rated Victorian Town House Bed and Breakfast, centrally located, five minutes walk from town centre and Shakespeare's birthplace. We are also the closest B&B to the train station.All rooms are en suite, centrally heated, tastefully decorated with generous tea and coffee making facilities home made shortbread biscuits, LCD TV/DVD with Freeview, free WiFi and free parking. Spacious family rooms sleep up to five adults. Special diets catered for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Emsley Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emsley Guest House Stratford-Upon-Avon, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Emsley Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.