We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rare to find such good customer service but you'll find it here!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Adelphi Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stratford-upon-Avon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Adelphi Guest House
Save
You added Adelphi Guest House to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   39 Grove Road, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6PB, England (Formerly Kawartha House)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Late check out weekends
Gosport, Hampshire
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Rare to find such good customer service but you'll find it here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I arrived at The Adelphi Guest House after a 3 hour drive to a very warm welcome together with pot of tea and cakes. My room was delightful (room 6 at the top of the house) complete with four poster bed with a very modern and spotlessly clean bathroom en suite. The bed proved to be very comfortable and the breakfasts were freshly cooked to order. Little touches like fresh flowers in my room and indeed throughout the house, together with a bottle of complementary water at night, made my stay extra special. To be able to use their car park was also a definite plus. Simon and Sue are gracious hosts and it is clear they care for their customers' needs and comforts. Definitely recommended.

Room Tip: If you are unused to traffic noise (as I am) a room at the rear of the property should be requested.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    33
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
58
178
30
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Had a great stay.Sue and Simon are gacious hosts,Stocked with free cupcakes and cookies baked by Sue.She also gave us a briefing of things to see and do in Stratford.It was comical that the heater broke down,followed the shower in our room and the lighting.All were given immediate attention and rectified.Breakfast was a sumptous meal.Most of the sights are within 8 mins walking distance.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I stayed here recently for two nights. Our hosts, Sue and Simon, went out of their way to make the stay enjoyable. The extra effort they took to ensure that we were well fed and acclimated to the town was a bonus. From a special birthday cupcake tea to restaurant recommendations to a nicely appointed bathroom, we felt welcomed and appreciated. Sue prepared some unusual (to us) breakfast treats and described their preparation. We would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

On arrival we were made to feel very welcome with a pot of tea and some of Sue's delicious home made cakes. Sue also keeps a supply on the table in the hall which my husband regularly helped himself too!! The little extras such as the fresh bottle of water left outside your room at night, fresh flowers in the room, mints, good quality tea/coffee/biscuits in the room all make a difference. We stayed in room 4 at the front of the house, no problems with traffic noise. The breakfast was lovely both days. You could not choose a better location for getting into town - a lovely stroll and you are right in the thick of it. We had very good meals at Hussains and the Thai Boathouse. On arrival, Sue gave us a 'BOGOF' ticket for the Shakespeares Houses which proved excellent value. We saw 'A Tender Thing' at the Swan which was absolutely superb, Sue kindly loaned us her copy of the programme to read before we went which we appreciated. The only very small negative thing I would say is, if you could put the hairdryer on an extension lead that would be great to save having to crouch and stoop forward to use it. Well done Sue and Simon, a most enjoyable weekend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We had a two night stay here and really enjoyed it . Very comfortable accommodation and easy walking distance to the RSC made it an ideal choice for us. The friendly owners are very knowledgeable about Stratford and Shakespeare (and many other things) and were happy, hard-working hosts who added to the enjoyment of our stay in Stratford. There is considerable attention to detail at The Adelphi. Thank you very much.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

stayed for only one night but wish it had been longer as sue and simon made me and my wife feel so welcome.From the moment we arrived we were greeted with a pot of tea and home made cakes along with sue giving us useful information tips on where to visit and recommending various eating and drinking establishments.The room we had was beautifully furnished breakfast delicious and would highly recommend this b&b

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We've just returned from a super 3 days in Stratford, staying at the Adelphi. Sue and Simon were the perfect hosts, attentive but not smothering. We loved being offered home made cakes and tea but also felt free to do our own thing and come and go as we pleased.

The house is beautifully furnished, particularly the room we stayed in which had a four poster bed. The room also had a lovely en suite, wall mounted tv, comfy armchairs and tea/coffee facilities.

Breakfast was wonderful, the choice was enormous and everything was beautifully cooked and served.

The location is very convenient for everything in Stratford, we walked from the station in less than 15 minutes and walked many times into town in around 10 minutes.

I can't praise this B&B highly enough, we'll definitely be going back.

Room Tip: Go for the four poster, totally worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Adelphi Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adelphi Guest House

Address: 39 Grove Road, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6PB, England (Formerly Kawartha House)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Adelphi Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will be warmly welcomed by owners Sue and Simon who aim to make your stay a friendly, comfortable home from home experience. The award winning breakfasts, made from quality, locally sourced produce prove very popular as do the home baked cakes. The rooms are decorated and furnished to a high standard in period style, reflecting the age of the property and the bedding is pure cotton of the finest quality. Great attention is given to detail, offering that little something different. We are situated opposite the lovely Fir Gardens and are only a few minutes walk from town centre shopping, Shakespeare's Birthplace, The Royal Shakespeare, Swan, and Courtyard Theatres. Anne Hathaway's cottage is also within walking distance of the house. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Adelphi Guest House Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon
Adelphi Guest House Stratford-Upon-Avon, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adelphi Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.