We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely homely guest house” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Woodstock Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Woodstock Guest House to your Saves list
Woodstock Guest House
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   30 Grove Rd, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6PB, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
WINTER - special from £68
Jersey, United Kingdom
1 review
“A lovely homely guest house”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

I spent three very relaxing nights at Woodstock - Jacke and Dennis were kind hosts and made me feel very welcome. I was initially drawn to it by the beautiful display of flowers in the front garden. I appreciated very much the secure car parking, the homely comfortable room and the great healthy breakfast. In this day and age, it is refreshing to see all the little special touches and attention to detail that this guest house offered, together with, at the same time, all the mod cons.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    23
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
69
111
27
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dunchurch, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Went for a short stay over the weekend. First Class. The room was great, very clean. Breakfast in the morning was a great start to the day - absolutely delicious. Jackie and Dennis were always willing to go out of their way to accommodate any needs.

The guest house is very conveniently located for all of Stratford, and only a short walk to the RSC Theatre. Jackie and Dennis again were very helpful in recommending a number of excellent restaurants and bars and can get you some discounts too!

Perfect for a chilled out getaway, epitome of the phrase 'a home away from home'.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selangor, Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

My family and I truly enjoyed our stay at Woodstock. It surpassed our expectations for a B&B, and both Jackie & Denis were truly welcoming to receiving guests. Breakfast was superb (according to my dad, it was the best breakfast he has had in our whole trip to London/Paris!)
The home was also within walking distance to most of the attractions - such as the RSC theatre and also Shakespeare's birthplace.

I would highly recommend this place to stay, if you were coming to Stratford Upon Avon for a visit.

Room Tip: Although all rooms come with ensuite bathrooms, Room 4's bathroom is detached from the bedroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hollycat2202, Owner at Woodstock Guest House, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you so much for the review.
I can gladly say " we now have Room 4 en suite " at last !!!! a job we kept putting off....
Hope to see you again, and maybe you can have Room 4.

thank you
Denis & jackie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hessle, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Woodstock is where we stay whenever we visit Stratford. The garden is beautiful, the rooms spotless and the breakfast, which includes fresh fruit salad, is delicious. Yet Jackie and Dennis continually seek to provide that little extra to make one's stay even more perfect. In a recent past visit, this extended to providing a teddy bear for the night for my granddaughter, who had forgotten hers. I would not want to stay anywhere else in Stratford.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull, England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We visit Stratford 2 or 3 times a year and Woodstock is the perfect location for us. Convenient for the town and the theatres and with on site parking.

Jackie and Dennis are perfect hosts, the rooms clean and comfortable and breakfast is always delicious. Nothing is tto much trouble and I would highly recommend this establishment to anyone looking for accommodation in Stratford.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
w.yorks
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Myself and my friend along with our children stayed here for two nights on the 14/9/12. Jackie and Dennis are perfect hosts giving us plenty of maps and information for us to make the most of our weekend there. The rooms are lovely and spotlessly clean, breakfast was lovely with a good choice and nothing was too much trouble. Jackie recommened a local pub 5 min walk away called the Windmill which served very good bar meals (we went here on the Friday night), altogether a fantastic stay and we will definitly stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

my wife and I stayed for sadly only one night but...but Jackie and her husband Dennis made us feel very welcome, my wife was at a loose end most of the day as I was on business until early afternoon but she was made very welcome (an early check in) and the help she was given to find her way around meant she had a very enjoyable day. The place is immaculate, the breakfast superb; my onyl criticism is we stayed in room 4 and the screen to the bathroom was somewhat odd in my view; I do not think that getting a local tradesman to build a doorway (there is ample space to fit) to make the bedroom/bathroom use completely private would be burdensome. otherwise a superb stay and highly reccommended; we would defintely stay again but not in room 4 unless the screen was repalced by a lockable door.

Room Tip: not room 4 if you want ensuite privacy: cannot comment on other rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hollycat2202, Owner at Woodstock Guest House, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for your review back in September 2012.
Just wanted to say " Room 4 " has had a makeover and has its own" en suite shower room " February 2013.

Hope to see you again.

Thank you
Denis & jackie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Woodstock Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodstock Guest House

Address: 30 Grove Rd, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6PB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Woodstock Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Woodstock House is a beautiful and carefully maintained Edwardian Town House built in 1910 for the Retirement of George Arbuthnot, the Vicar of Holy Trinity Church. Denis and Jackie offer very comfortable accommodation with excellent full English breakfast and secure free on-site parking. FREE Wi-Fi ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Woodstock Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodstock Guest House Stratford-Upon-Avon, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Woodstock Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.