We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay at White Swan” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The White Swan Hotel

Save Saved
You added The White Swan Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The White Swan Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rother Street, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6NH, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Trip Advisor - 10% off
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great stay at White Swan”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Lovley hotel in centre of Stratford. Recently refurbished the room we had was very spacious, bathroom with slipper bath and fantastic shower. Only drawback is the £8.00 a day parking charge which is not mentioned anywhere on website nor by the staff on checkin. However, when I complained that I had not been aware of the charge it was deducted by the receptionist. Overall would recommend to anyone looking for comfortable stay in central location in Stratford.

Room Tip: Room 201 very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    269
    143
    28
    18
    5
See reviews for
52
285
8
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Solihull, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Booked this hotel for a night away for my husbands 50th birthday, From the moment we arrived we were impressed, reception staff were very helpful, our bag was carried to our room by a very friendly guy who told us how things worked in our room. we has a lovely room 106 the bed was huge and very comfy the bathroom was amazing. my only complaint was there was no long mirror in the room which i found annoying and unusual for this standard of hotel. We dined in the hotel and we were very pleased the standard was high. A most enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ENGLAND
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

3 of us went to the White Swan hotel for a meal on 16th nov 2012 we was early for our time wa shown straight to our table, and drinks order taken all very quick we ordered 2 starters both very nice main meals came looked nice on the plates with side orders all in small individual little saucepans this very good. All meals very tasty sweets very nice but small portions for the male looked lost on the plate service good restuarant very clean but the only down fall lack of light inside as only candles burning . would recommend a visit

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

You can rely upon fellow Tripadvisor reviews to spot a good one. Thanks everyone. After seeing the reviews I booked this for me and 6 colleagues.
Firstly the staff, without exception every single one of them was helpful and welcoming. The guy on reception was very helpful, making sure we knew the way to the restaurant in town that we were visiting.
The rooms are of a good standard, I stayed in one of the higher grade rooms, can't remember what they called them.
Nice British beers in the bar.
Breakfast was a good menu with some of my favourites on, I had the Eggs Benedict - excellent.
Nice touches like free soft drinks on the fridge and a good choice of coffee, tea and hot choc if you want them (I stuck to the beer in the bar)

My room, 111, had 2 windows, one looked internally onto the hall of the hotel so I kept that closed, the other looked out to the centre of the hotel where the big extractors for the pub/restaurant were running so that was closed too. Fine for me as it is winter, and we stayed in the bar until 2AM, it was therefore very quiet when I got to bed.
If I returned I'd probably not want that room again.

I'm not sure why everyone is faffing about parking, there is an open public car park right in front of the hotel which is free between 6pm and 8am - have a look on Google Streetview and you can see it!

The hotel still feels fresh and new and has that new carpet smell in the corridors.

It's a sound choice this one.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We arrived early and asked to check n, but the room was not ready, so we elected to check out Anne Hathaway's cottage. Great experience. Later we returned to the hotel, and so began a rather poor experience. The rooms are so small they resemble jumped up broom closets. Parking is a good walk away, and I found the management was poor. The night clerk was the est of the lot, and he was very helpful. Apparently soap and towels were in short supply as they were not placed in the rooms in other than meager quantity. The food was marginal, however the restaurant staff was delightful.

Room Tip: there are no really good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We spent a weekend here in the Hamlet character room. We really liked the hotel and the reception was very efficient. Room was great, very clean and exactly like description and photos. Room is situated overlooking the main street. We had no problem sleeping but the bin lorry did wake us at 6.00 each morning and can imagine it might be very noisy in summer. The room was cold but a fan heater was provided. Breakfast was nice but the full english was quite a small portion we thought for the price. It was fine for me but my husband could have eaten it twice. The location is great; attractions are all in walking distance. We left our car in the car park used by the hotel which was easy walking distance. In the evening it was lovely to sit in the bar and soak up the atmosphere over a drink. Just the place to end the day after visiting the theatre.

Room Tip: Hamlet character room situated right at front of hotel. Fine in November but if I was staying in sum...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

The hotel is fresh, rooms have a nice design, pretty comfortable. The hotel's location is excellent - 3 min walk to Shakespeare's birthplace, 5 min to both river Avon and New Place. Beds and pillows are extremely uncomfortable. Reception staff is cold and unwelcoming.

Room Tip: Even-numbered rooms can have a wall-and-conditioner-blocks-in-your-face view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The White Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Swan Hotel

Address: Rother Street, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6NH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The White Swan Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel offers luxury accommodation in Stratford-upon-Avon, while crucially maintaining the charm, character and period features of the original building.The White Swan dates back to 1450, making it one of the oldest pubs in Stratford – and the front of the hotel is a cosy, traditional pub, continuing to serve outstanding cask ales and the best pub food in town.Our 41 four star guestrooms, marry traditional, original features with modern conveniences like iPod docks, flatscreen TVs and ensuite bathrooms.One thing not to miss on your visit to this historic Straford-upon-Avon pub is the antique wall painting in one of our front rooms. Commissioned by William Perrott, who owned the building in 1560, the special painting depicts the story of Tobias and the Angel - a subject doubly appropriate for a tavern of that time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your The White Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Swan Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon, England
White Swan Stratford Upon Avon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The White Swan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.