We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The White Swan Hotel

Save Saved
You added The White Swan Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The White Swan Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rother Street, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6NH, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Trip Advisor - 10% off
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Charming”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012 via mobile

Lovely property with beautifully maintained decor. Staff helpfull but minor blips with bills could be have been costly to the hotel if it wasn't for my other half spoting but it was quickly corrected! Emily was superb in the restaurant and attentive other staff in restaurant could do with taking note! Super reception lady who checked us in and out and nothing was to much bother! Keep in mainteance minor things like slightly loose toilet seat and a light fixture hanging from the wall slightly took away from a quainte room! Keep up the good work and keep working on the finer details and u will get 10/10. Will def be back!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    269
    143
    28
    18
    5
See reviews for
52
285
8
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Worthing, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

We met some friends here and stayed for the weekend. Room was gorgeous, really comfortable bed and lovely clean bathroom. Breakfast was wonderful too. The hotel has been recently refurbished and it still smelt so new and fresh and clean. Staff so courteous too we just could not fault a thing!

Room Tip: Our room was at the back of the hotel and it was lovely and quiet but our friends room was at the fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

We were wandering through Stratford considering our dinner options when we found the White Swan. The menu looked interesting so we got a drink and placed our order. I chose the lamb, my wife - who has certain food allergies so has to be careful - the chicken. The duty manager, Chris, was very attentive to these issues and they ended up making a special sauce for my wife's chicken. Everything was not as we expected - but far far better than we expected. The presentation, the flavor, the service were all outstanding. Our only regret is that we leave tomorrow and can't eat there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012 via mobile

We stopped in here for lunch before a walking tour of Stratford-upon-Avon today, thinking we would have an okay bite of food before trekking around the picturesque town for a few hours. We were immediately warmly greeted and allowed to wander through the beautiful joining rooms to pick where to eat.
A drinks order and concise menu later, we chose what turned out to be some delicious light lunch choices including a beautiful mackerel dish and a comforting and fresh sandwich. Drinks, coffee and lunch for 2 with change from £20 - outstanding value.
Later in the day, following a fabulous walk of the town and a jug of Pimm's, we returned for a spot of afternoon tea. Expecting tea for one to simply tickle the appetite of 2 ravenous women, we were greeted by a lavish afternoon tea stand which more than sated our appetites. This included spectacular swan shaped eclairs and absolutely irresistible finger sandwiches, along with perfect scones accompanied by beautiful runny jam and gorgeous clotted cream.
Again, under £20 for 2 including a crisp glass of prosecco and a more than generous jug of iced water, we felt as though we were ripping this newly opened pub restaurant off - particularly when compared to steep london prices!
The little details also thoroughly impressed, from attentive but friendly service through to the exceptionally clean and luxurious bathrooms. Given the look of the refurbished hotel attached, we will definitely be returning for much longer stay in the future.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steyning, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

My family stayed here recently and the welcome we got from Sarah, the assistant manager, was outstanding. You could not fault this hotel and their friendly, helpful and cheerful staff. The room was beautifully furnished and en-suite perfect. As the hotel is centrally located its a perfect base for anyone wanting to see Stratford and surrounding countryside. The meal in the restaurant was excellent as was the service and all very reasonably priced. The breakfast we were served was superb and again nothing is too much trouble for all of the staff here. This is definitely one of the best hotels i've experienced. Thank you again Sarah.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

We have just returned from a weekend in Stratford. The hotel is absolutely immaculate ,the rooms are spacious and the food is amazing.But by far it's greatest asset is the staff.They are extremely friendly and nothing is too much trouble.

There are lots of hotels who could learn a lot from these people.

Room Tip: Rooms on the side are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012 via mobile

I recently stayed at the The White Swan with some colleagues attending a business conference. The staff were highly attentive and friendly - it seemed like nothing was too much for them. The newly refurbished rooms were immaculate and well equipped and the restaurant is a must, everyone in our party said the rib eye was one of the best steaks they'd ever had!

I'm sure I'll visit again!

Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The White Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Swan Hotel

Address: Rother Street, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6NH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The White Swan Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel offers luxury accommodation in Stratford-upon-Avon, while crucially maintaining the charm, character and period features of the original building.The White Swan dates back to 1450, making it one of the oldest pubs in Stratford – and the front of the hotel is a cosy, traditional pub, continuing to serve outstanding cask ales and the best pub food in town.Our 41 four star guestrooms, marry traditional, original features with modern conveniences like iPod docks, flatscreen TVs and ensuite bathrooms.One thing not to miss on your visit to this historic Straford-upon-Avon pub is the antique wall painting in one of our front rooms. Commissioned by William Perrott, who owned the building in 1560, the special painting depicts the story of Tobias and the Angel - a subject doubly appropriate for a tavern of that time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your The White Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Swan Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon, England
White Swan Stratford Upon Avon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The White Swan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.