We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Billesley Manor Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Billesley Manor Hotel to your Saves list
Billesley Manor Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Billesley | Near Alcester, Stratford-upon-Avon B49 6NF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
England
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very pleasant staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Enjoyed our two night stay very much. The room had a lovely view and a comfy bed, duvet was removed after we said we were too warm and replaced by a sheet and cotton blanket which was so much better. The evening meals were superb, thoughtfully put together with quality ingredients - congratulations to the head chef and his team! The massages we had were great but we were out and dressed after 25 minutes, not what I expected! I was prompt so that I could be on the treatment couch at 3-30pm but was not taken straight through, I was back out in reception at
3-55pm! This cost £35 so I would have expected the treatment to last a full 30 minutes. The spa was very busy but it was a conveyor belt system. As a masseuse myself I believe the therapist should be allowed 15 minutes between treatments for an optimum service and for herself not to appear rushed. I would not have this again as it was very poor value. The staff were great especially Freddy (just our sense of humour) - all the waiting staff and receptionists were very hard working (maybe a touch overworked at times....) Would return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billesleymanor_gm, General Manager at Billesley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thak you for your review, I am pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay. The timings against our treatments are a guideline to allow you to organise your time. I hope that quality of the massage was enjoyable. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    470
    362
    184
    125
    65
See reviews for
142
668
11
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Northwood, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Stayed here in a very comfortable room adjacent to the swimming pool. Even though there were wedding parties on each night the room was very quiet.
All the staff were very helpful and welcoming, particularly the receptionist.
The restaurant was very attractive and the food delicious.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billesleymanor_gm, General Manager at Billesley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for you review, It is great to read that the events taking place in te hotel did not impact on your stay at all. Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

After having such a lovely dining experience the night prior, expectations were drastically dropped the following morning at breakfast. Very minimal selection on the hot counter, only to be told by the manager at the time, it is because the food got used on Sunday's guests. That is not our problem to resolve, but the hotel should have ordered enough stock for Monday's guests too. Attitude of the watering manageress was rude and extremely unhelpful, not to mention the lack of customer service skills she had!

As well as the breakfast, we were very disappointed with our room. The space was lovely but room was not at all like the pictures we viewed on line, and the bathroom was very dated with permanent stains in the toilet, lucky our children are not fussy! We will not be staying again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billesleymanor_gm, General Manager at Billesley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review to Trip advisor. Please accept my apologies that the room was not as expected. Although there are many picures available across the web of Billesley Manor it is difficult for a hotel with a diverse arrangement of accomodation to be able to define exactly the decor of the room you will be alloctaed. All of our rooms have the same standard of amenities and all meet with the AA 4 star rating. Your further points have been addressed with the team directly, please accept my apologies. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Myself and 5 friends have just arrived back from a great spa weekend. Lovely staff, amazing spa treatments, delightful 3 course meal served by a lovely lady Freddie. Great accommodation in one of the barn rooms. Great location and beautiful building. Will definitely recommend and will be returning!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billesleymanor_gm, General Manager at Billesley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for your great review, I am pleased that you enjoyed your spa break. I look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We held our wedding here this September with just under 90 guests attending. If you want a stress free wedding day and for everything to run smoothly on the day this is not the hotel for you. Several things did not go to plan, like the wedding breakfast food running out or for guests to be charged for drinks despite us paying a lump some for the bar to be free for a period of time for our guests. We were totally surprised by them getting these basic things wrong for a venue of this standard. Obviously guests were impressed by the look of the place & we were lucky to have great weather but feel very let down by poor planning, communication & coordination on the day of our wedding by Billesley staff. Don't have your wedding here.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billesleymanor_gm, General Manager at Billesley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Further to our direct communications I would once again like to apologise that due to the details and timings changing on the day there was an issue with a few people waiting for the BBQ to be replenished. If you are not happy with the resolution already settled between yourselves and the hotel please contact me directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

I have just returned after a wonderful weekend at Billesley Manor, and just had to compliment the service provided by all staff there. We had a fantastic weekend and are planning a return in December.
We were checked in incredibly efficiently, even though we had arrived a little early there was no problems with this. We had champagne and chocolates in our room, which was on ice and delicious truffles. The spa was just fantastic, we had treatments on Friday and Saturday. both were just impeccable. The hotel's restaurant was also incredibly good, service was attentive and they got everything right.
The receptionists were lovely, forgot to catch they're names!! Disappointed they didn't meet us for the wine in town!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billesleymanor_gm, General Manager at Billesley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review, I am so pleased that your weekend went to plan and that the team ensured you were well catered for around the hotel. See you in December. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed at the manor for a Saturday evening, we had been brought a dinner B&B stay for a birthday present.

The hotel is in a lovely location and the room was very pleasant and quite stylish.

We had a lovely afternoon enjoying the pool and spa facilities which we also recommend. The one problem that spoilt the stay was that upon returning to the room to get ready for dinner we found there was no hot water for showers. We phoned reception who said they would send someone, we waited 30 mins only for the duty manager to arrive and run the hot water tap (good idea but obviously we had been trying that!). He said to leave it with him and it may take some time, we said we understood but asked that he phone us with an update as we were getting ready for dinner.

Long story short, no phone call or update about the water until later that evening when we bumped into him after dinner, we asked if the water had been fixed which he confirmed and apologised and asked if we had been able to utilise the spa for our showers. This option was news to us and we stated we hadn't been given any update at all on the water situation despite asking, to which he just apologised turned on his heels and left us.

All in all a pleasant stay but the way we were dealt with by the duty manager and staff afterwards stating sorry there is nothing else they could do was just frustrating!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billesleymanor_gm, General Manager at Billesley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Please accept my apologies that the hot water ran out when you need it and that there was a lack of communication to let you know when you would be able to have a shower. The team are all trained in Customer Service however some specific situations take time to establish the problem and I am sorry if this was unexpected. The training is constant and I will use this as an example at the next session. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Billesley Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Billesley Manor Hotel

Address: Billesley | Near Alcester, Stratford-upon-Avon B49 6NF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#9 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Billesley Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 16th Century, four-star Billesley Manor Hotel has 72 bedrooms and sits in 11 acres of beautiful countryside just outside the medieval town of Stratford-Upon-Avon. Visit the Royal Shakespeare Theatre, discover the myths and magic of Warwick Castle, then enjoy a quiet moment in the hotel’s library, where legend claims that Shakespeare penned As You Like It.A beautiful country retreat with a Health & Leisure Club that features an indoor pool and outdoor tennis court. The hotel also has a listed 100-year-old topiary garden and fountain. The 2 AA Rosette Stuart Restaurant serves modern British food made from seasonal, local produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Billesley Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Stratford Upon Avon
Stratford Upon Avon Barcelo
Billesley Manor Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Billesley Manor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.