We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous location & Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Billesley Manor Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Billesley Manor Hotel to your Saves list
Billesley Manor Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Billesley | Near Alcester, Stratford-upon-Avon B49 6NF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Merseyside
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Fabulous location & Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Very pleasant room in a lovely old Manor House. Wonderful location just a few miles outside Stratford upon Avon with beautiful grounds and an amazing Topiary Garden. Absolutely superb food served in a beautiful panelled dining room with attentive service Well worth a visit

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billesleymanor_gm, General Manager at Billesley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at Billesley Manor, the grounds are a delight and the listed Topiary Gardens too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,073 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    425
    318
    149
    119
    62
See reviews for
126
591
10
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Staffordshire Moorlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

This was my first stay at this establishment and was for two nights, I found the Staff to be helpful, professional and friendly. The accommodation was clean and comfortable. The pool and grounds excellent. The food first class, what more can I say, it was a very enjoyable experience and I will certainly visit again when I want to explore that area.

Room Tip: I had room 8 which was large, very nostalgic with a four poster bed and wood panel walls overlooking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billesleymanor_gm, General Manager at Billesley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for your first class review, I am pleased that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay at Billesley Manor and I look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

My husband and I have stayed at the Billesley Manor a number of times and have found the hotel consistently good on all occasions. Our first ever stay was possibly the best because we were given an upgrade and enjoyed a nice large room. Subsequent stays have been in smaller rooms which aren't quite so nice.

The grounds are beautiful with plenty of nice places to sit and the location is good for Stratford. I found the swimming pool and spa to be good, but the treatments are expensive.

The food is excellent, we have had wonderful meals every time we have visited. The breakfast is particularly good. Bar snacks are quite pricey but delicious.

We found every single member of staff to be polite and eager to please. Rooms have always been clean and well looked after.

On the whole we have enjoyed staying at the Billesley Manor on a number of occasions and would definitely come back.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for an upgrade or a spacious room as some are very small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billesleymanor_gm, General Manager at Billesley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Many thanks for the great review, its great to read that time and time again you enjoy our lovely hotel, I hope to meet you next time you visit us. Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

My friend and I stayed two hights on a groupon deal and it was first class. The staff were lovely, professional, yet friendly. We both loved the spa, great swimming pool and my friend enjoyed the gym. Excellent food and lots of choice at breakfast. Special mention for Aiga who served us the restaurant and remember our order from the day before. Relaxing, enjoyable, special - what more could we ask.

Room Tip: Our room, number 25, although having to walk down stairs proved to be a good room to access the spa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billesleymanor_gm, General Manager at Billesley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for your review, look out for more great value offers over the summer months on our website. I look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield England
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed a couple of nights ago. We shared the Hotel with a coach load of Japanese tourists visiting Shakespeare's birth place, they loved this pretty old building.
Staff were very helpful and very friendly. Breakfast was good. We had dinner in the restaurant and this was nice but small portions .
I liked this Hotel and will use it again.
The room was modern and efficient but no coffee in room.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billesleymanor_gm, General Manager at Billesley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Thank you for your positive review, I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.
Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arundel, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We arrived at 2.00pm on friday. It looked beautiful and peaceful. Firstly we were not offered help with our lugguge - we were given the key to our room and pointed in the general direction - not what I would expect from a four star hotel! Why, also, is a pot of tea for one, ie one pot, one teabag, one cup - £3.00 and exactly the same ie one pot, one teabag BUT two cups, cost £6.00 - a rip off, even the lovely man serving me was embarrassed at the price! Our room was lovely and spacious howeverver, above us was a conference room and a member of staff was carrying chairs down in the afternoon from there and stacking them outside our room, clearly on his way to take them somewhere else... in the middle of doing so, he finished his shift and left the chairs stacked outside our room. It clearly was the sort of hotels for groups or conferences, not romantics! The finesse was missing to make it worthy of four stars!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billesleymanor_gm, General Manager at Billesley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Please accept my apologies that your stay was not as expected, further training will take place with the team to ensure that tea is served correctly in future. The hotel does offer fantastic facilities for meetings and events, however the property lends itself to a romantic break and manages to balance the two. I do hope I will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Poor spa area, 2 x deluxe rooms totally different (1 much much smaller!) No Guinness in the bar! Food excellent although £7.50 for a tuna sandwich a little steep, Freddie and Roland in the restaurant were brilliant. Both couples final bills wrong, one by over £150! BEWARE!!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billesleymanor_gm, General Manager at Billesley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for your comments, I am concerned that you claim to have been over charged please, could you contact the Hotel directly so we may sort this out for you.

With regards to the room types, Billesley Manor Hotel offers a diverse range of rooms due to the style and age of the property. I am sorry if this caused you disappointment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Billesley Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Billesley Manor Hotel

Address: Billesley | Near Alcester, Stratford-upon-Avon B49 6NF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#9 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Billesley Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 16th Century, four-star Billesley Manor Hotel has 72 bedrooms and sits in 11 acres of beautiful countryside just outside the medieval town of Stratford-Upon-Avon. Visit the Royal Shakespeare Theatre, discover the myths and magic of Warwick Castle, then enjoy a quiet moment in the hotel’s library, where legend claims that Shakespeare penned As You Like It.A beautiful country retreat with a Health & Leisure Club that features an indoor pool and outdoor tennis court. The hotel also has a listed 100-year-old topiary garden and fountain. The 2 AA Rosette Stuart Restaurant serves modern British food made from seasonal, local produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Billesley Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Stratford Upon Avon
Stratford Upon Avon Barcelo
Billesley Manor Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Billesley Manor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.