We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central Location, good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel to your Saves list
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Chapel St, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6ER, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 40% OFF THIS WINTER
Southampton
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Central Location, good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2009

We booked a dinner bed and breakfast last minute for a weekend break and were really pleased with the value the hotel offers.

The Hotel itself has a lot of history and is well placed for anyone wanting to visit the local Shakespeare museums. The room was Shakespeare themed and had some nice period touches.

The food was excellent for an inclusive deal and the staff were very friendly.

We felt that the hotel offered good value and would recommend it to others visiting Stratford.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management6630, General Manager at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your positive review and your kind comments about the hotel. I am pleased that you have enjoyed the hotel and Stratford-upon-Avon.

I look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,


Marnix Teeken
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

968 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    395
    173
    77
    37
See reviews for
119
545
35
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2008

We have recently returned from a one night stay at this hotel having stayed there previously under different ownership. The location is the big draw for this hotel but I would consider staying slightly further from the centre, in a hotel where the service is friendlier and more efficient and where the standards of cleanliness are higher.
Our room was pokey and mostly overlooking the carpark. The bathroom was disappointing with a cheap roller blind that did not fully cover the window. There were hairs from the previous occupant in the bath.
The reception staff were rather sullen and unsmiley. It costs nothing to smile and makes a massive difference! Although there was one fire lit on our arrival, others were not despite freezing temperatures outside. The lounge/bar was unwelcoming in the evening despite the potential to be cozy and intimate.
We had a good meal in the brasserie, perfect to eat in with the children. The breakfast was OK but nothing special.
We will be staying elsewhere next time we come to enjoy some Shakespeare!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Level of cleanliness and general service
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2008

I stayed at the Mercure Shakespeare with 3 friends, when we travelled to Stratford to see 'Hamlet' at the RSC.

We booked 2 twin rooms via Hotels.com and paid £60 per room (bed only)

The hotel is very central - it is next door to 'New Place' (house built on the sight of Shakespeare's home) and less than 10 mins walk from the theatre, which was ideal for us. The hotel has some, limited, parking (extra charge - £10 per day). There was plenty of space when we arrived but the car park was full when I left the following day.

The hotel is in a lovely half-timbered building, although it also has more mdern annexes to the rear so if it is important to you to stay in the orgiginal building you may want to check this when you book in.

Our rooms were both on the 1st floor, (where the rooms are all named after shakespearean characters) and were almost identical (all the photos are of one room) - reasonable sized beds, large built-in wardrobes and one arm chair seemed to be standard.

The beds seemed to be made up slightly at random - we found we had feather pillows on the bed in one room and synthtic in the other, although extrs pillows were avsailable in the wardrobes. Oddly, the 2nd set of towels were also in the wardrobe instead of in the bathroom, so initially we thought that we had only one bath towel.

Both of our rooms overlooked the car park and were not very well soundproofed - we could hear other guests walking and talking in the corridors, and the snoring of the guest in a neighbouring room! This wasn't much of a problem as the hotel did not seem to be too busy but might be a problem when it is full.

The hotel is in an old building and this shows - there are several little steps up or down and none of the corridors seem quite straight. I don't recall having seen a lift although there may be one in the newer part of the buiding.

I arrived a little early but the desk staff were helpful - I was able to check in and get into the room without having to wait, and was immediately offered frsh milk to go in tea or coffee ( this was then brought up to the room very promptly)

We went out for lunch, spent the afternoon sightseeing ( the hotel is right in the middle of the town so it is very easy to walk to the main sights such as Shakespeare's birthplace, also to the main shopping areas.

We were going to the theatre so chose to eat in the hotel's own bistro which offers a pre-theatre menu. The meal was excellent - around £25 per hed for 2 courses, excluding drinks.

When we returned to the hotel we spent some time chattting in the reception / lounge area which is furnished with several large squashy sofas and easy chairs, so it is possible to realx away from the bar if you wish. In addition to the bistro the hotel has a separate restaurant and a bar- we didn't eat in the restauraunt but the bar was cosy and free from piped music.

Breakfast was not included in our room rate and at £15 a head was pretty pricy unless you want a full english. (which was on offer, as were kippers!) Also a well stocked buffet with fresh fruit, yoghurt, cereals, coissants etc. The staff were efficient and friendly, bringing tea or coffee, and fresh toast. As I tend not to eat a big breakfast I think that iof I were to stay here in the future I would go out for breakfast, as £15 seems a bit steep for fruit, croissant and coffee!

Good points:
Location
Character
Bistro menu
Friendly and helpful staff

Bad points:
Expensive breakfast
noise

Although the hotel is part of a chain, it didn't feel like it. I felt that we had excellent value for money given the price we paid, both for the room and the bistro meal.

  • Liked — Location, helpful staff
  • Disliked — bathroom decor was a bit 'tired' : expensive breakfast
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management6630, General Manager at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your time to write this review. I am pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us and all that Stratford-upon-Avon has to offer.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards,

Marnix Teeken
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayti, Missouri
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2008

I booked this hotel through the RSC Shortbreaks website and got a great deal. We needed something close to the theatre and within Stratford-Upon-Avon and got exactly what we needed. The hotel was within walking distance of both the rail station and the theatre.

Check-in was easy and quick and we loved the theming of the rooms - each room is named after a character in one of Shakespeare's plays. We stayed in the "Ariel" room, which was a standard double that overlooked Chapel Street. The room was decently sized, by UK standards, and equipped with all the amenities: tea/coffee maker, fridge, mini-bar, hairdryer, etc. The bathroom was also pretty big, with not just a shower (as is typical in many UK hotels), but also contained a rather large bathtub.

We only stayed one night, but were impressed with the hotel and its service. We had a great nights' sleep on very comfortable beds.

We did not try any of the restaurants, so I cannot comment on those.

  • Liked — The Shakespeare Theming and the "Old World" feel of the rooms' decor.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2008

We came down to Stratford to watch a play. The Mercure is located in a terrific location just off the high street. It is an easy walk to everything that Stratford has to offer. Our room was well presented and of a high quality. Arrive early for the best chance at parking as spaces are limited. The parking is expensive but it's nice to be able to leave your car and not worry.

While the TVs mentioned satellite service, none was received on our television. In fact we struggled just to get BBC1,BBC2, ITV1, Channel 4 and Five. In addition as an oddity we could not figure why a chair was provided that would not fit under a desk.

Stayed October 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management6630, General Manager at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to place a writea positive review here on Tripadvisor. I am pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us and all that Stratford-upon-Avon has to offer.

I hope to welcome back to The Mercure Shakespeare Hotel in the future.

Kind regards,

Marnix Teeken
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seaham
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2008

i found that the hotel was a very good, high qualitey hotel. from the out side the hotel looked quite old fastioned (which is good) but once you get inside that all changes. some of the rooms are key card opened others are just normal keys. all of the rooms are cleaned daily and are of very good qualitey. i went to the hotel with 42 other children and 4-6 staff and all of the people that worked there were not at all unhappy about having 43 children there.overall the experience was very pleasent and i would deffinatly go again.

  • Liked — the size of the roons.
  • Disliked — the amount of stairs to go up in my section of the hotel. lifts only in main block mot gattwik wing
  • Stayed October 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management6630, General Manager at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your positive review and your kind comments about the hotel. I am pleased that you have enjoyed the hotel and Stratford-upon-Avon.

I look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,


Marnix Teeken
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2008

We booked a weekend break here on a Murder Mystery Weekend, Initial view was that this hotel was very well maintained considering it's age.

Hotel - This hotel employs a lot of migrant workers who, on the whole are pleasant and efficient. However a number of them, whilst not rude, were curt and not at all friendly.

Food - Not at all impressed with the food, in fact was quite poorly after one dinner. Breakfast was adequate but not the best I have had. It would help if they provided granulatd sugar because in my experience it's difficult to monitor sugar in your tea when it's in cube form (maybe that's just me).

Security - By far and away the worst part of my experience here. One of our party was returning to her room found that the master key had been left in one of our party's door. She returned the key to reception and reported it, The occupant of the room also lodged an official complaint but no-one from the hotel even bothered to respond.

This hotel advertises Sky TV - none of our party managed to get this. Also 24 hour room service, actually available from 10 am until 21.30 - where I come from this is 11 1/2 hours!

Being on a weekend break we like to have a few drinks after dinner. Ordering a brandy & coke it would be fair to expect that this would contain brandy. Coke was notably brandy free but when questioned with staff a brandy was provided. However, when a further round of drinks was ordered the waiter made a point of bringing the brandy in separately and stating loudly that the previous drink had also contained brandy. Now, being a regular user of brandy I KNOW that I can tell the difference but what was more annoying was the obnoxious way this waiter behaved. What the hell happened to customer service & satisfaction?

Would I use this hotel (or chain) again? Wouldn't think so. Would I recomend it? I don't know anyone I dislike that much!

  • Liked — Not a lot, to be honest!
  • Disliked — Staff
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel

Address: Chapel St, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6ER, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star Tudor hotel with 74 ensuite rooms located in the centre of Shakespeare's Stratford. Ideal for exploring local villages, the Cotswolds, shops and theatres of Stratford. 19 miles from Birmingham International Airport, 1 mile from Stratford upon Avonstation, 10 miles from Warwick Parkway station. Easily accessible via the M40. David Garrick Restaurant, Othello's Bar Brassiere, Quill Bar and Lounge, 6 conference rooms with natural light for up to 100 delegates. Limited parking at GBP10.00 per day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, ACCOR, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel England
Accor Stratford Upon Avon
Shakespeare Hotel Stratford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.