We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel to your Saves list
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Chapel St, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6ER, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 40% OFF THIS WINTER
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice hotel great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The hotel is in a fantastic location which is the main benefit to staying here. The car park was full so we stayed at the multi story nearby but got a discount through the hotel.

Rooms: We had a standard room. It was ok, fairly small but we didn't spend much time there. Price was ok. The doors and floorboards are squeaky in the corridors so you can hear people walking up and down at night.

Food: We had a lovely afternoon tea with champagne, tea, sandwiches and scones. It was a highlight. Breakfast was expensive so we went to a lovely little cafe over the road which was much cheaper. We were unable to book in for dinner at the hotel as they were fully booked. A coach full of american kids on a football tour turned up which ruined it a bit as the whole hotel was heaving with these visitors and the restaurant was fully booked because of this. We also got a drink at the bar. They shut up as soon as they served us; we were the only people in there which was a shame.

Overall, the hotel is a nice place to stay but I would venture out to other places to eat/drink as Stratford has a lot to offer.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management6630, General Manager at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear Laura,

Thank you for staying with us and posting your review here on Tripadvisor. I am pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us despite the volume of other guests.

I hope to welcome you back to The Shakespeare Hotel in the future.

Kind regards,

Marnix Teeken
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

964 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    395
    171
    77
    36
See reviews for
119
542
35
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Stayed 6/7/13 overnight as going to RSC which is a short walk away. Staff/rooms etc. perfect. Didn't have breakfast (Sorry, too expensive with a Weatherspoons nearby). Although a 'character' building, the room we had was perfect

Room Tip: 102 is large
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management6630, General Manager at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your time posting your review online. I am pleased that you have enjoyed your "perfect" room. We do have an offer on for breakfast which you can pre-book at £ 10 per person. I hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Marnix Teeken
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Country, England
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

From the outside the Shakespeare is a beautiful, very old black and white Tudor period beamed building, with lovely hanging baskets and tiny leaded windows, and the downstairs public areas are also very nice, with a somewhat contemporary modern feel.
The receptionist was pleasant, not overly welcoming, but pleasant none the less. Our room was on the first floor, at the front of the building, and was spacious, with a good size modern bathroom.
The bed had a large Tudor style headboard which was very nice and the bed itself was fairly comfortable. However, the carpet was stained and very dirty, and the cushions, which were on the bed, were also stained with food. The bedside lamps were thick with dust, and the whole room needed a good thorough cleaning. This was supposed to be a 'privilege' room and we had paid extra for this supposed upgrade. The biggest upset was the bathroom towels. There were four, two large bath towels and two hand towels - and to our horror we found two were already used, one covered in pale pink lipstick and the other had some very dubious marks on it. The receptionist did address our concerns about this, and removed the £10.00 per night parking fee from our bill.
Breakfast was not to a standard we are used to. There was no milk for cereal, no butter for toast, our plates weren't cleared, and we were continually having to ask for things that should have been there in the first place. It seemed the international guests were very well attended to, but the locals were left to their own devices and were made to feel an inconvenience.
Overall, the location is superb, the building is superb, it is steeped in history and it could be a fantastic asset to the Mercure group of hotels. However, housekeeping needs a serious investigation, and Mercure should consider investing in new carpets and cushions for the rooms they consider a premium grade in comparison to their 'standard' rooms.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front of the hotel are very noisy, thin window glass and a busy road outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management6630, General Manager at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your review here on Tripadvisor. Please accept my apologies for not meeting your expectations. As a team we work very hard to ensure our guests have an enjoyable time and it is with regret that we have not accomplished this during your stay with us.

I am hope you would re-consider staying at The Shakespeare Hotel in the future.

You can contact me direct and I will look after your reservation.

Kind regards,

Marnix Teeken
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Booked this hotel for a weekend away and was not disappointed. It is perfectly located for the RSC which is less than 5 minutes walk away and all of the other Shakespeare attractions in the town are at most 10 minutes walk.

The staff are very friendly and helpful.

The pre-theatre fixed price menu is good value for money but a bit nouveau cuisine for my liking! The bar is very cosy and again the bar staff very good and polite.

Breakfast was pretty much what you would expect with a wide choice of hot and cold options.

We stayed in a standard room but this was very large with sofa, armchairs and two televisions!. Great for keeping an eye on Wimbledon and watching the news at the same time while getting ready to go out!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management6630, General Manager at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your positive comments about the hotel and the staff. I am pleased to learn that byou have enjoyed your time in Stratford-upon-Avon and the Mercure Shakespeare Hotel.

We hope to welcome you back to hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Marnix Teeken
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paderborn, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Centrally located, everything is just a walk away and Stratford Upon Avon is well worth visiting. If you are looking for a modern hotel with rubbit hutch rooms that all look the same, this isn't for you. For something with a bit more indivualality, that is clean, in a great location and friendly staff and not expensive then look no further. One complaint is paying the car park price, I feel for guests it should be free, other than that no complaints.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management6630, General Manager at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your positive review and kind words about our staff. Good to learn that you have enjoyed your time here at The Mercure Shakespeare Hotel.

Kind regards,

Marnix Teeken
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buxton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

I stayed here for just one night at a wedding. The hotel is lovely, though could do with some refurbishment. The ballroom for the wedding was excellent, with a fabulous courtyard just outside to escape from the party. Bar service was VERY slow all night, until the party finished and then the night porter could not do enough for us, including ristling up some sandwiches. The room was clean and pleasant enough, if a little on the small side. Breakfast was ok, we were quite late getting downstairs and most of the hot food needed replacing.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management6630, General Manager at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review on Tripadvisor. I am pleased that you have enjoyed the wedding held at the hotel. Please accept my apologies for the slow service at one of our two bars. Perhaps we were better staffed at the Quill/Residents bar. I hope this does not deter you from returning to the Mercure Shakespeare Hotel in the future.

Kind regards,

Marnix Teeken
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
265 reviews 265 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
291 helpful votes 291 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Plus points: right in the centre of town and an easy walk to the theatre. Our room on the third floor was quite small, as was the bed, but comfortable and reasonably well-equipped (apart from the broken fridge). There is limited, first-come-first served hotel parking for £10 a day. Our room-only cost was very reasonable at £63.

Negatives: anything extra pushes the cost up sharply. Breakfast in your room? £!5.50 each. And so on. This strays towards rip-off territory with the wifi - advertised as "free". But the free service is useless and is just there as a come-on to get you to sign up to the "premium" service at £10 a day. So if you have a wifi-only device, be prepared to find a cafe where the wifi really is free. Accor (the vast hotel chain that owns this place) must know that free wifi is vital to travellers these days, especially non-UK travellers wanting to avoid sky-high roaming charges when using their phones to access the web. This come-on puts Accor in the same bracket as Ryanair. Can't think of a worse comparison than that!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management6630, General Manager at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and your positive comments. I would like to clarify that we do offer free high speed WiFi, but limited to 512K. So this perfectly sufficient to read emails etc, but you are restricted with downloading films. This free internet is from our experience suitable to most of our guests.

Kind regards,

Marnix Teeken
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel

Address: Chapel St, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6ER, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star Tudor hotel with 74 ensuite rooms located in the centre of Shakespeare's Stratford. Ideal for exploring local villages, the Cotswolds, shops and theatres of Stratford. 19 miles from Birmingham International Airport, 1 mile from Stratford upon Avonstation, 10 miles from Warwick Parkway station. Easily accessible via the M40. David Garrick Restaurant, Othello's Bar Brassiere, Quill Bar and Lounge, 6 conference rooms with natural light for up to 100 delegates. Limited parking at GBP10.00 per day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, ACCOR, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel England
Accor Stratford Upon Avon
Shakespeare Hotel Stratford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.