We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel to your Saves list
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Chapel St, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6ER, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 40% OFF THIS WINTER
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Relaxing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

the third or fourth time we have stayed here, and always have an interesting, large and comfortable room. Also pleasant relaxing in the bar. Good service. Very handy for the town and the theatre, withh restaurants all around as well.

Room Tip: It is good to be in the main part of the hotel, rather than the Garrick annexe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

964 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    395
    171
    77
    36
See reviews for
119
542
35
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We have stayed @ the Shakespeare several times, as it is well situated for both the RSC & the town itself. This time we took advantage of the Valentines Package The deal included a Room Upgrade which was fine, a cheap 'welcome' bottle of 'fizz' which was poor & Chocolates - well a small box of elizabeth shaw mints , technically a box of chocolates but clearly the cheapest option to comply with advertising standards. On arrival the Hotel Car Park was Full so I gave the Receptionist my Car Keys & asked that someone park my Car when a spot became available - ''No,can't do that, No One Insured'' Well i'll leave it in a gap I had found in the Car Park ''No it must be in a Bay'' Ended up parking at the nearby NCP despite another Car in the Hotel Car Park just left in another gap. To be fair the Evening Meal was excellent but Oh dear Breakfast the next Morning was dreadful. Initially there was hardly any Hot Food, & No Member of Staff about to do anything about it, eventually Two Waitors arrived with more food, only for it to be just about warm but the Mushrooms stone cold - & the Orange Juice was dilute to taste. When we were Checking Out Only One Receptionist despite it being 10.20am & 20 or so people waiting to Depart - the Receptionist was Asked if there was anyone else available but received the reply ''No'' When I finally got to the front of the Queue my Bill Included our Evening Meal - which as I pointed Out was part of the Pre-Paid Package Cost, and the Cost of a Morning Paper - which I hadn't asked for. I did email the Hotel subsequently to Complain & received the standard Apology reply, which glossed over why they didn't have more than One Receptionist available @ a peak Checking Out Time, Why they don't organise their Car Park & Why they can't provide Hot Food, by way of compensation they have offered me a Free Room Upgrade & a Comp.Bottle of whatever on my arrival - which is basically what what I've just had, so where is the compensation in that?

Room Tip: Pay the Extra & have a Junior Suite - we have before & it was far superior to the Room we ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management6630, General Manager at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your feedback. Please accept my sincere apologies for your poor experience. We do have limited car parking available and we offer a good deal with the nearby NCP car park (we provide a voucher at check-out).

Please contact me direct on h6630-gm@accor.com when you plan to re-visit us and I will personally ensure you are looked after.

I am looking forward to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Marnix Teeken
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We have stayed here a couple of times and it is amazing. Individual rooms with loads of character, the breakfast is lovely and the restaurant also. There is a lovely bar with big log fire where ou can sit and relax. The location is faultless right in the centre. I would like to take this opportunity to show what what excellent service is provided here when i booked a weekend for my daughter and her husband. After 3 hours of booking in they had to leave due to a emergency at home and the manager has told them that they can rearrange the weekend!!!! Not many hotels do that !!!!! This hotel is wonderful and I recommend it ti everyone

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management6630, General Manager at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your positive review after such a short stay with us. We did speak to eachother at the reception desk for a short while and I hope to welcome you back real soon.

Kind regards,

Marnix Teeken
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

A well - positioned hotel with staff who care about what they do. We ate in its Othello restaurant and had a great meal. If we ever return to Stratford, I would definitely book in here again.
If you like olde warm charm coupled with modern conveniences, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

A lovely hotel ideally situated for all amenities. Staff we found were very friendly and helpful. Room wascosy and clean, might have been nicer to have had a slightly larger room though, bathroom was spotless and shower excellent........... However the breakfast the first day was edible and plentiful, except for mushrooms, but could have been warmer , alas the 2nd day, was a disaster, empty dishes, this before 9am, cold tea, when food arrived no plates, by the time plates arrived, which were stone cold, food was barely warm, by the time we were ready to eat our toast, which had probably been in the toaster for 1 minute, it was limp . Thankfully we got fresh tea and toast, which was just as well as gave up on lukewarm cooked breakfast as did many other diners. Having said all that we were reimbursed some money,and duty manager extremely professional and well mannered. I also have to say the fault was in the kitchen not with waiters or waitressess. I would like to stay again at this hotel, which is why I have written this review. Hopefully management will ake heed

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management6630, General Manager at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

I would like to personally thank you for staying with us and taking the time to reflect on your stay with us. I am sorry that our breakfast service let us down on the second day. We review our staffing levels daily in relation to number of guests, groups with an early breakfast scheduled etc. Sometimes we have a lot of our residents with a similar itenary and are planning to have breakfast at the same time. It is then a bit challenging to provide our usual optimal service.

We keep trying to ensure all our guests enjoy a good breakfast at The Mercure Shakespeare.

I hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Marnix Teeken
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

There is a distinct feeling here that the staff could not give two hoots about their guests.

Food: Breakfast buffet: dire. Congealed beans, eggs, cheese & stodgy scrambled egg. Melting plastic spatulas instead of stainless steel spoons for each dish kept warm on a hot plate were more akin to motorway service stations not a four star hotel. Crockery and teapots were unclean. Majority of staff were impersonal and unwelcoming, on one morning they were taking orders for hot breakfasts and on the next one it was a buffet, however we were left unattended for so long by the waiter that there was hardly anything left that could pass for food. Nobody welcomed us and informed us that it was a buffet that morning – some of the staff need to be educated about good customer service, acting in a professional manner and communicating to the guest – for example, let the guest know that “breakfast will stop being served in 15 minutes and will not be replenished after that time. Is there anything that I can get for you at the moment?” would be a helpful comment. Don’t allow the guest to walk up to the buffet to find slices of hardened cheese and overcooked bacon. In previous years there has been a very good selection of pastries - this year, cold croissants.

The only well trained and staff with pride in their job were the Spanish maître d’ at dinner and the English waiter at breakfast (who was very helpful and polite) and the (Flemish?) girl at reception who checked us in.

The chef still cared about cooking a decent dinner and there was little to find fault with. It was of a similar standard to the RSC rooftop restaurant, in fact the onion artisan bread could have been identical and sourced from the same place. The interior was not condusive to an evening meal, it was in the breakfast room! We sat at a formica table facing the breakfast dressers with a cash till in full view! This is vastly different to other years when we were seated in the proper restaurant with a candlelit table covered in crisp cloth facing a lit log fire. We were also the only people eating between 8pm -10.30pm.!

Afternoon tea was a complete disappointment with clumsy, thickly cut sandwiches. Why aren’t Mercure educating staff that that Afternoon Tea is a great tradition that should be capitalised upon, it requires a good choice of delicately made sandwiches and variety of exquisite of cakes and this was sorely missing.

At the bar, it wasn’t long ago that there were many varieties of Port on offer, now it is just two brands. It seems that everything is a cost cutting exercise to gain maximum revenue from the guest with minimum labour costs and minimum effort. This has not gone unnoticed, guests were conspicuous by their absence.

Management give the impression of caring little about guest satisfaction. We were told by a dark haired manager (not Marnix Teeken) regarding the lack of water, “You’re not in a junior suite!” No, we were staying in a lowly, four poster bed room (220) for a family celebration and were clearly not deserving of the rare, hallowed waters of Schweppes Abbey Well. We have spent thousands of pounds in this hotel over the years. A bottle of water must be bought at reception if one is required, the cost is £5! The next day we bought a couple of2lt bottles of Evian for a cheaper price. What passes for a couple of biscuits in the room are the smallest, lack lustre cardboard that one can imagine, it is almost an insult - they used to be Scottish Shortbread (M&S up the road fulfilled that craving) There needs to be far greater forward thinking about the needs of the guest and making their stay as comfortable and stress free as possible. We have also stayed at the Alveston Manor, Billesely Manor, White Swan and Mary Arden hotel over more than two decades so can be reasonably discerning about this.

The location is great as is the history of the hotel but the overly modern breakfast room/dining room now looks naff (circa 2009) and lacks elegance and classic touches befitting such a wonderfully historic, listed, English building. The grouting in the bathroom was grubby as was the stained carpet and dirty upholstery.

A calm complaint to the duty manager was met witha quiet "I'll pass it on to management". There was no apology that a family celebration had been marred nor any constructive communication about what they would do to improve matters if we would like to stay again (unlikely). There has been no call from Mercure to apologise. Disappointing.

Room Tip: Check in and about turn to exit if the room looks dirty and management of this hotel is as we found...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management6630, General Manager at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay with us. I am currently investigating the issues you have raised. Please accept my sincere apologies for not meeting your expectations.

I would appreciate if you could contact me personally to discuss your feedback.

Kind regards,

Marnix Teeken
General Manager
marnix.teeken@accor.con
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

This is a very well sited hotel in Stratford upon Avon. The public rooms are beautifully presented. The guest rooms are attractive but variable in their level of comfort, particularly in regard to noise. The bathrooms are all well equipped but the showers are not sufficiently well regulated and can turn very cold or very hot unexpectedly. Breakfast is served in the restaurant and is very good value if booked in advance. Service is generally good but can become rather brisk when the staff are under pressure. Car parking is charged per day and is expensive compared to the price charged in some of the town car parks. In general the hotel provides a relaxing and tranquil environment.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management6630, General Manager at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for your kind comments about our staff and hotel.

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards,

Marnix Teeken
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel

Address: Chapel St, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6ER, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star Tudor hotel with 74 ensuite rooms located in the centre of Shakespeare's Stratford. Ideal for exploring local villages, the Cotswolds, shops and theatres of Stratford. 19 miles from Birmingham International Airport, 1 mile from Stratford upon Avonstation, 10 miles from Warwick Parkway station. Easily accessible via the M40. David Garrick Restaurant, Othello's Bar Brassiere, Quill Bar and Lounge, 6 conference rooms with natural light for up to 100 delegates. Limited parking at GBP10.00 per day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, ACCOR, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel England
Accor Stratford Upon Avon
Shakespeare Hotel Stratford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.