We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Real Tea Cafe - CLOSED

The Real Tea Cafe
40a Wood Street, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6JG, England
01789 295044
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Families with children, Entertaining clients, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: The Real Tea Café is a truly independent and contemporary tea experience for people who love tea and respect tea and simply long to stumble upon a decent cup of the stuff while they are out and about. The antithesis of the old-fashioned tearoom – all dusty knick-knacks and lace tablecloths – The Real Tea Café is relaxing, cheerful, fashionable and fresh. Its modern image, vivid colours, rich fabrics and comfortable leather seating areas (just perfect for lingering) lift the mood and lend a sense of occasion without ever being stuffy or intimidating.The Real Tea Café serves a handpicked selection of black, green, white and blue teas, all brewed from the finest whole leaves from the world’s top estates. Also on offer will be infusions and our own unique blended coffee, using a combination of Brazillian Daterra & El Salvador Monte Sion Bourbon beans. All the teas will be available in regular sizes, to drink in or takeaway in our iconic branded cups. Our founder Anthony believes that using local produce and suppliers for our sandwiches is equally important so we use a family butcher in Bull Street for our cooked meats and Paxton & Whitfield (right opposite the store) for our cheeses. Veg comes from just outside Stratford. Finally the bread, Anthony grew up in a small town called Wantage in Oxfordshire and the flour for the breads comes from the traditional Wessex Mill right in the centre of Wantage. All sandwiches, ciabatta, & salads are made fresh in the store that morning
Guildford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“excellent staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

staff were very helpful and informative about how to make decaffeinated tea by using water. Also the cafe itself was clean, comfortable and reasonably priced.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    8
    0
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wilmslow Cheshire
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“If you want tea then this is the place to visit.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We enjoyed a 'real' cup of tea at the cafe and can only say the experience was comparable to the ones experienced in India. Great staff very knowledgable and excellent value for money.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Far cheaper than brand coffee shops & far far better.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

The Millionaire's shortbread is AMAZE-BALLS.

Such good value, £5.20 for tea, soft drink and cake. Friendly staff, and great service.

They make tea in a vacuum device which produces a fab taste. Go in and see it in action.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alcester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“I'll be back again soon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We are local to Stratford-upon-Avon but this was our first visit to The Real Tea Cafe today. I visited with my two teenagers - we are all avid tea drinkers - at first we were a little overwhelmed by the choice of teas but the boards are very clear to understand and it was very simple to choose from the many teas on offer as they were listed in Black/green teas and also coffees. We chose 'Builders Brew', 'More Tea Vicar' and a Cappuccino with whipped cream and marshmallows.

There is plenty of seating available, if downstairs is full you can go upstairs, there are toilets and WiFi available.

The staff are very friendly and the tea was very tasty. The teas are available to buy as are the cute ceramic teapots.

The cakes/cookies looked lovely but I felt they were overpriced.

Will definitely be visiting in the future.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch, Worcestershire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“A 21st century tea shop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

A really good selection of specialty teas in a modern environment, a perfect contrast to the plethora of 'traditional tea shoppes' that Stratford is infested with. Nice cakes as well.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Real Tea Cafe also viewed

Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Real Tea Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.