We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute House near Downtown” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Caterham House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stratford-upon-Avon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Caterham House
Save
You added Caterham House to your Saves list
58 Rother St., Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6LT, England   |  
Hotel amenities
miami, fl
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Cute House near Downtown”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

I have read some of the other reviews and am really surprised at how many people thought the house was tired and old. We thought it was pretty cute. The beds were twin beds not pushed together, and while we don't like sleeping separate, we slept well. The bathroom was small and funky but it was fine. The breakfast was very good although there was almost no conversation among the guests which was unusual. The owners are somewhat aloof, and the man has that sardonic humor, but I didn't think they found guests to be a bother. The location is great. We walked into town easily. They have a small parking lot out back which was convenient as well.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    16
    7
    14
    13
See reviews for
7
35
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grimsby
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We wanted a stop off on our way down to Cornwall so decided to visit Stratford and stay at the Caterham House Hotel. We stayed for one night on 10/08/13.

I had read on the website that you could use the car park if you arrived earlier than the 1600hrs check-in. We intended to arrive at about 1100hrs so that we could check Stratford out so thought it would be polite to email first. David emailed back to say that it wouldn’t be a problem but this would be subject to availability. When we arrived another couple were just leaving so we managed to get a space in the car park, there would have been more room but they are carrying out refurbishments so there was a skip and a trailer taking up two of the spaces.

Check-in at 1600hrs was fast and efficient, slight odour of drains on the ground floor possibly down to the building work

It is a nice period property, the floor in our room was listing a bit so I couldn’t put anything on the bedside table that rolled which made us laugh. The information pack left in the room was excellent.

Our room was clean, light and airy with dual aspect windows and grey metallic blinds that were a bit bent and tatty but not a major problem. Two single beds pushed together with a bit of an uncomfy ridge down the middle but again not a major problem.

There was a small shower room which was clean and functional.

Great location, just a short walk into the town centre.

Breakfast was from 0730hrs which was good for us as we wanted to make an early start the next day. The Full English was very nice and served quickly and efficiently.

I have read the reviews and they could have been off putting but we gave it a go and here are my thoughts:

You aren’t met with cheesy grins and [--] kissing, you say hello, get checked in, get your key, get directed to your room and that’s it they leave you alone – fine by me.
Breakfast was good quality.
The building and the room were fine, it is a period house not a Travelodge.
The fact that they let you park before check-in and after check-out is a Brucie bonus (think how much money you are saving on parking).
Great location.
It seemed slightly pricey but you are paying for the privilege of staying in a town where some bloke called Bill lived so that is unavoidable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Although the owners were rather unfriendly, they were not particularly rude to us. They just made requests feel like chores, for example, asking for more tea at breakfast. They give the impression they do not particularly like guests! Breakfast was fine but the room was not very nice. Instead of curtains, there are shabby, bent grey Venetian blinds at the windows, which let moon/streetlight in until broad daylight (mid June was very early). Also, you had to choose between being too hot with the windows shut or listening to the Venetians being blown around. The best bit about the B and B is the car parking and the owners did let us leave our cars there, which was very helpful.If you bring earplugs and eye shields, it might be just the place for you!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We had a pleasant stay for the few days we were in Stratford. We had a nice size room and found the welcome friendly. The property is a lovely period property with many stunning period features. The information pack left in the room was excellent and full of really useful items and suggestions. Food was absolutely fine and as far as location is concerned its hard to get a much better location to the town.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

My husband booked our stay away as a surprise and the only good thing was that our stay was so bad it was funny! The house is clean but tired and musty. The owner was polite, but the beds were very uncomfortable, it was cold and the breakfast was dire-rock hard croissant, poor quality food and all of it greasy and salty. Even the tea bags in the rooms are value range. We won't be staying again and cannot understand how it has been awarded four stars!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Stayed for a romantic break stayed in room 1 the room is very tired. Only one plug socket, very uncomfortable bed. Electrical wires in the bathroom exposed. Avoid the breakfast it had to be the worst I’ve every tasted, cheap sausages burnt bacon cold beans & rationed orange juice. This is not a four star B&B sorry maybe 3 stars.

Room Tip: Ask for a discount
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glossop, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We had a very pleasant overnight stay, with a very nice room with a seating area although tv very small. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom although small and dated was clean. Breakfast was also very good. We did not however like the fact that we could not book in until after 4pm which we thought was a little late and checking out time was 10.30am which we thought was a little early. We could however park the car as soon as we arrived and therefore was able to get out and about and there was no rush to move it on booking out. All in all not a bad stay but thought a little overpriced

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Caterham House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caterham House

Address: 58 Rother St., Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6LT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Caterham Hotel Stratford Upon Avon
Caterham House Stratford-Upon-Avon, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caterham House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.