We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mid-week break with the grandson” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stratford Manor Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Stratford Manor Hotel to your Saves list
Stratford Manor Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Warwick Rd, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 OPY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Mid-week break with the grandson”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights on a B/B basis, hotel staff excellent, breakfast good - self service style with plenty of choice. Rooms are clean and comfortable and we found housekeeping very good, plenty of towels etc, although in days gone by we used to have a bottle of sparkling water and a bottle of still water in the room on arrival, unfortunately that is no more! There are plenty of grounds outside for walks and a tennis court (closed and in need of attention badly) and an archery site. There is a large free car park as well. We have been to this hotel many times before as well as its sister hotel in Stratford itself, both of which are very good. Easy for trips to Warwick Castle and the Cotswolds and plenty of historic interest in Stratford itself. We will certainly come back again.

Room Tip: Don't leave it to the last minute for breakfast, as by then the best is gone!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam C, Manager at Stratford Manor Hotel, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear Taffytime
Thank you for your review following your stay with us.
I am pleased to have had an enjoyable stay with us, it sounds like you managed to get a lot done with us. I hope you also managed to find time for a swim and sauna. If not then you will need to come back and stay another couple of nights.
Yours sincerely
Adam Coventry, Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

885 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    374
    327
    133
    32
    19
See reviews for
131
416
16
110
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We stayed there with friends for one night only, but we had a lovely time. The hotel is very nice and clean and the staff was very helpful and tried their best to satisfies us. The rooms are spacious and the bed was very comfortable. We had a dinner at the restaurant and the meals were good. I would like to mansion the greek guy who welcomed us at the restaurant and made us feel very special (sorry don't remember his name). I definitely would like to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam C, Manager at Stratford Manor Hotel, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear Cveta2013
Thank you for your Lovely review of Stratford Manor. I am pleased that you have had a nice time with us, and the Greek guy was very happy to have had your stay special. Next time try to make a whole weekend of it, you will find it very relaxing.
Your sincerely
Adam Coventry, Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

The staff are very friendly and welcoming. They gave us a small colouring kit for our daughter on arrival, which she loved! Tony, the barman, was fabulous. He went above and beyond to assist, and was incredibly friendly with a happy smile.

The room is large, with a double bed and single, desk, and a small table and chairs. There's and ironing board, tea and coffee, but the room lacks a safe and central air conditioning. The bathroom is spacious, with a bath/shower combo. The architrave around the room to the room could use a bit of plaster and paint. We stayed on the ground floor, and a view of the gardens/grass area. Our daughter was quite excited to see the rabbits nibbling the grass on duck and dawn, just outside our window.

The food was nice and serve was quick. A bit pricey but given we were out of town a little bit we had expected this. It's about 10 minutes from central Stratford, but easy enough to find.

We didn't realise there is a pool here before we booked, or we would've packed some bathers, but they have kids times for the pool too. And they have a spa. Something we didn't get to experience but worth noting.

A really great family place, very neat and tidy.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam C, Manager at Stratford Manor Hotel, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear AussieTravellers8
Thank you for your review of Stratford Manor. It's a shame you forgot your cozies as the pool is fantastic, I'm sure your daughter would have loved a swim while you had a treatment in the Spa.
I am pleased Tony went above and beyond, he always strives for nothing but excellence.
I hope to see you back again soon.
Yours sincerely
Adam Coventry, Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

I stayed here with my two daughters and we had a great time. Arriving on my own with the kids after a busy day celebrating a 90th birthday (not mine I hesitate to add) the team on reception couldn't have been more helpful. The Welcome Packs went down really well and gave me time to unpack before we went for a swim. The pool was great, if a touch chilly, and the attendant couldn't have been more helpful, even giving the girls some floats to play with. The warm towels were an added bonus, changing rooms good and pool a great size. The room was clean, beds comfy and bathroom a good size. I asked if we could have an extra bed the next night as my husband was joining us and that was not a problem. Breakfast was great and the team, especially Trevor, made a real fuss of the children. There was a huge range of cold and warm items and we enjoyed two long leisurely breakfasts. We spent a happy hour doing the nature trail which had some great views and lots of wildlife. There's a tennis court and a children's playground plus lots of outdoor seating if the sun is shining. Although its out of Stratford, it's only a five minute drive and very easy to find. Overall, we had a great stay and would return - in fact, the kids have already asked when they're going back. Thanks to all the team for making our stay so enjoyable (and easy when travelling on your own with munchkins)!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam C, Manager at Stratford Manor Hotel, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear 4398
I am pleased that you and the munchkins have had a good stay with us. I hope the little ones learnt something on the nature trail. It sounds as if you are already being hassled for the next holiday, just remember half term is not far away so I hope to see you all again soon.
Yours sincerely
Adam Coventry, Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

We are on a 17 day tour of the UK and this is one of the best hotels so far! It is an easy walk to the lovely downtown area and has an incredible front lawn where you can sit with a drink and relax. The rooms were very clean and spacious enough and the bathroom was updated and very nice. Meals were good although the dining room staff were not very friendly. Bar area was spacious and welcoming and had several tables with comfy chairs. Dining room was a nice size and lots of tables were situated near a window. We would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam C, Manager at Stratford Manor Hotel, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear Heather D
Thank you for your Lovely review. I am pleased you have had a nice stay, however I think you have stayed at our sister hotel, The Stratford, in the town center. I am pleased that you enjoyed your meals, I know the Head Chef there prides himself on his menu.
Maybe on the return leg of your tour you would like to stay with us, we also have a fantastic terrace to enjoy a drink in the sun.
Yours sincerely
Adam Coventry, Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrowford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stayed here Fri,sat & sun. The first thing to note is that if you drive up to the barrier, it opens,just like that. No problem getting in. The hotel,the staff,the spa, and the restaurant and bar were excellent.The staff were efficient and polite. The french bloke in the bar was great nothing was too much trouble for him(sorry can't remember his name) The room was very comfortable and neat and tidy.all in all a very enjoyable stay. Would stay here again

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam C, Manager at Stratford Manor Hotel, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear Cooch13
Thank you for your review of your stay at Stratford Manor. I am glad you had no trouble getting to the hotel, and found every to be excellent. I have shown your comments to the french bloke and Tony is glad to have been a help. I hope you do return soon for another enjoyable stay.
Yours sincerely
Adam Coventry, Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Where do I begin.... The drive into the grounds looked promising, decent car park, nice fountain, pleasant receptionist etc. however that's where the good bits finished and the disappointment began. The corridors leading to the rooms were in depressing shades of navy and brown, very drab and dark. We were given a disabled room initially, not a problem apart from the bathroom being a wet room style which would have covered the toilet and sink in water for the other person using the bathroom and emergency pull cords and handrails everywhere. This gave a feeling of a hospital rather than a romantic break that we were supposed to be on. So a trip back to reception quickly prevailed and to be fair, the receptionist found us another room even though the hotel was full. When we entered the second room we were met with a disgusting smell which can only be described as a room that has never really been cleaned properly. The window was wide open which also gave the impression that the previous occupant/maid felt the same. Not to want to complain again for fear of looking like a perpetual whinger we went straight out and drove into town where whilst shopping we bought an air freshener for the room. On returning we hoped the smell would have disappeared as we'd left the window open but were sadly disappointed. We hastily made our way out to dinner. The bar area was like a sports bar, spartan without soul, not at all inviting. The restaurant had the same empty feel- like a canteen only with a carpet. The food was the saving grace as there was plenty to choose from and well cooked. We went back to our room to retire and we were not looking forward to sleeping in that room. We found that the headboard and chair were filthy and looked liked they'd never been cleaned (grease on the headboard etc) which added to the smell. The shower had a blocked drain as the water backed up in the bath and we were met with two black beetles/earwigs that had taken up residence in the bathroom. To be honest I felt repulsed but was too tired to have to go back to reception and possibly move our belongings late at night to a third room. Needless to say sleep was erratic and we just wanted to leave as soon as possible so we loaded the car up before having a quick breakfast. The breakfast was basic, the usual full English, cereals, pastries, fruit, nothing spectacular and the coffee was like watered down treacle but it would be hard to make an impression in a dingy dining room. We couldn't wait to leave. I don't know what establishment gave this hotel 4 stars but it was from someone who had never actually stayed here. We wouldn't give it 1 star. So much planning and arranging had gone into this trip organizing childcare so we could get away on a very rare break to spend time away as a couple. A total disaster and one that we will never repeat in a Q hotel.

Room Tip: Check it's been cleaned.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam C, Manager at Stratford Manor Hotel, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear Madamewild
Thank you for your review following your stay with us. I am pleased that you approve of the grounds of the hotel, did you manage to try the Nature walk that traverses our 24 acres?
I am sorry that we were unable to meet you expectations in the public areas and the bedrooms. Please let me assure you that this is not the norm as can be seen in other reviews on the hotel. I do hope by perusing other guests comments you will get the re-assurance to visit ourselves or another Q Hotel in the future.
Yours sincerely
Adam Coventry, Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Stratford Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stratford Manor Hotel

Address: Warwick Rd, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 OPY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#5 Business Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#5 Romantic Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#6 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#8 Family Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Stratford Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Stratford Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stratford Manor Upon Avon
Hotel Stratford Manor
Stratford Manor Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stratford Manor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.