We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good base for visiting Stratford” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Stratford, A QHotel

Save Saved
You added The Stratford, A QHotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Stratford, A QHotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Arden Street, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6QQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good base for visiting Stratford”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

It was our first time of staying at The Stratford Hotel and after reading the reviews prior to going I was not disappointed when I arrived. Rooms were spacious, very clean and beautifully decorated, iron and ironing board in room and air conditioning that was greatly appreciated during the hot weekend.
The service at the bar was fine, if not a little expensive, and the food at breakfast was very good. A range of cereals, fruits and yogurt, full cooked breakfast and croissants to choose from all freshly prepared and piping hot.
I looked at some of the other hotels, such as The Shakespeare and The Swans Nest whilst in Stratford and the Stratford Hotel was by far the better of them.
Very good value for money I would strongly recommend the hotel and will certainly be paying it another visit.

Room Tip: Had room at the front on top floor - noise ok even though opposite a bar. Only downside was the poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheStratford, General Manager at The Stratford, A QHotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
AlyTT

Thank you for your review, great to hear that you rate us so highly; we are definitely proud of our product and service. Thanks for the recommendation.

Annie Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,208 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    679
    414
    82
    18
    15
See reviews for
131
725
29
104
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

First class location. Very convenient for all attractions. Very comfortable room and excellent breakfast. Ate out at night and very convenient for restaurants. Paying a fiver for parking was a bit cheeky but I assume that covered the cost of the barriers etc.
All in all, first class.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheStratford, General Manager at The Stratford, A QHotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Brucey1944

Thank you for your review. Next stay try Quills at The Stratford - 2 courses for £21 or 3 for £26; Delighted that you had such a great stay.

Annie Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Stayed at The Stratford overnight on a Friday and returned again for two nights on the Sunday after a night away for the Silverstone F1 race. The first room was quite large and included a sitting area with couch and chair. The second room was not quite as large, although it was still quite big by British standards. Was staying with my father and requested twin beds. Both times, we were given a room that at first glance appeared to be one King bed, which we had to separate into two twins with about six inches space between. The beds were quite comfortable and the decor of the room very pleasing. The bathroom was reasonably large with a shower/tub combo. The room included lots of electrical plugs, which was a plus. Breakfast was included and was offered in the restaurant in the lobby, with a good variety of continental options and pre-cooked hot items. Staff throughout the hotel were professional and friendly. Easy 5 or 10 minute walk into the heart of the city and Shakespeare's birthplace, a little further to the River Avon. Located just a 5 minute walk from the main train station.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheStratford, General Manager at The Stratford, A QHotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
SpeedwayCJ

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay in Stratford and hope to see you next year!

Annie Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vidor, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Clean hotel within easy walking distance with luggage from the train station. Close to main attractions. Has a nice lawn in front with tables to relax. Our room was clean and roomy. Also wi-fi is free. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheStratford, General Manager at The Stratford, A QHotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
JoeMuck

Thank you for your review; delighted you found our completely free WiFI service of benefit.

Annie Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

The Stratford is the hotel we always stay at when we visit Stratford, approximately 6 times so far, with our next visit already booked for the 4th of August. A nice boutique style hotel perfectly located for a walk into Stratford town and its attractions.Bedroom 105 was an easy access room which was very good for my mother to be able to get around with her walker. Breakfast was good this time, on previous visits cooked breakfast selection has been tepid. Have to mention Douglas who served us breakfast, he was very helpful and attentive and he deserves credit for his work.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheStratford, General Manager at The Stratford, A QHotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
LMargaretW

Thank you for your kind comments about Dougie, I know he will be delighted. I am pleased that you found breakfast to be of a good standard. Thank you for your review.

Annie Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

I booked this for a rare night away without our daughter. Booked online but the rang hotel to book a dinner reservation and confirm a couple of things, from that interaction all I have to say is good things about the staff and their helpfulness.
There is a charge for parking but there is no issue using the car park early or on the day of departure. Sky in the bar and nice bar snacks - we had sandwiches that were lovely and fresh and a good range of drinks available.
We had a superior rated room and it felt like you'd got that little bit more that made it worthwhile very spacious.
For dinner we were on an inclusive package but no problem selecting non set menu items and only a small supplement - the right time was left between courses and the staff were good as was the food!
Breakfast as mentioned is buffet style and again very good with a wide selection - all in all a lovely hotel in a good location and should the opportunity arise will stay again - will also keep Q hotels in mind when looking in the future.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheStratford, General Manager at The Stratford, A QHotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
mpattenden

Thank you for your review and fantastic recommendation. I hope we can welcome your back really soon.

Annie Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Stratford, A QHotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stratford, A QHotel

Address: Arden Street, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6QQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#3 Family Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#4 Business Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#4 Romantic Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Stratford, A QHotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chic and sophisticated, this delightful hotel is the epitome of good taste. And we don’t just mean our heavenly restaurant, Quills; awarded an AA rosette for being utterly delicious. Following our £7 million refurbishment, the décor is oh so contemporary and absolutely gorgeous. The extravagant rooms take you to a place beyond comfort. Centrally located, a stroll away from great shopping, theatres and attractions, and 2 minutes from the train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Otel, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your The Stratford, A QHotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Stratford, a q Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon
The Stratford, A QHotel Stratford-Upon-Avon, England
Stratford a Qhotel Upon Avon
Stratford Victoria Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Stratford, A QHotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.