We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Stratford, A QHotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Stratford, A QHotel to your Saves list
The Stratford, A QHotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Arden Street, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6QQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
West Malling, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

I cannot commend this hotel more for a wonderful two night stay. I attended a meeting here and stayed an extra night to sight see. The staff are truly friendly and efficient. The rooms are very clean, comfortable, modern and very well appointed. Breakfast and dinner were top rated. The hotel is situated right next to the station and is only a 5 minute walk to the tourist centre of Stratford. It is a brand of hotels I have never experienced before and I shall definitely be staying again.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheStratford, General Manager at The Stratford, A QHotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
LondonKentTraveller

Stratford is a fantastic town to visit and I am delighted that you enjoyed the hotel and the dining experience. We offer a fantastic Breakaway Club Membership with great deals, have a look on the web site for more details.

Annie Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    790
    488
    93
    19
    18
See reviews for
161
835
32
119
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portugal
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

I chose this hotel after reading the comments other clients wrote on Tripadvisor.
It is really a great place to stay!! Friendly staff, nice breakfast and very good Wi Fi Free Internet all over the hotel including in the rooms. Parking at 5 pounds per day which wasn't expensive comparing to other hotels. My bedroom as a standard double room and I really enjoyed it. If you visit Stratford you won´t regret staying here!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheStratford, General Manager at The Stratford, A QHotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Anjamor

I am delighted that you chose to stay with The Stratford and thank you for your fantastic review.

Annie Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here as we were attending a wedding at another hotel in Stratford. We opted for the non refundable 2 night package with breakfast, a bargain at £155 (which was the cost of 1 night at the wedding venue).

It is in a great spot, with parking available at £5 per night. The staff were welcoming and helpful, without being intrusive.

The room was well laid out, clean and spacious and contained a small fridge, which was very useful for my bottle of bubbly. The hair dryer was also better than the usual.

I liked the comfy chairs in our room, the decor was tasteful.

Breakfast service was excellent and the hot buffet selection was in good supply.

The hotel is a 2 minute walk to the centre of Stratford, so once you have parked up your car need not be used.

There were a few small things lacking but it is down to personal preference. I prefer feather pillows to synthetic, wifi in the room would have been good and a shower cap, cotton wool and cotton buds would have been good to have but that's me being picky.

I would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay here again, as would the other 5 wedding guests and their partners, who I encouraged to book rooms here.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheStratford, General Manager at The Stratford, A QHotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
WWG_Wiltshire

Thank you for your review and recommendation, we do like to think we have a fab product here at The Stratford. Try one of our Q Star rooms next time for the extra touches.

Annie Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cookham, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I was greeted as a friend not a customer,the checking desk staff were all very helpful,on going into the bar Andrew the batman was very efficient at his job and very good at making the ladies at ease. The resturant manager Luke could not have been any more helpful(as my sister -in-law can be very trying)he addressed all her issues with get ease
Please thank every one for a wonderful stay

Room Tip: Pay A little extra and have a Q room,well worth the extra and overlooks the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheStratford, General Manager at The Stratford, A QHotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Ray W

Andrew and Lucas will be delighted with the feedback thank you! I am so pleased they made your stay memorable. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Annie Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, UK
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Booked one night here prior to the Stratford Marathon. Location is good - slightly out of the centre but only about 5/10mins walk to the theatre, shops etc and in lovely grounds. Our room was a very good size, on the ground floor, and quiet. I'm quite sensitive to noise so I was pleased to find no disturbance from passers by in the corridor or car park. Car park charge is £5 but you can leave the car there for the rest of the day after you check out.

It's a modern hotel, and doesn't trade on "ye olde Shakespeare" vibe unlike most of Stratford! Staff were helpful, pleasant and efficient. We had the inclusive evening meal in the dining room which was good. if you like large portions you may be disappointed but we were happy with the tasty and well-presented dishes. Would we stay here again - yes definitely.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheStratford, General Manager at The Stratford, A QHotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Perjam55

Thank you for the review and delighted that you enjoyed your break before the race.

Annie Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I stayed just one night fora conference and was surprised by the quality of the rooms, the standard of the food and the attentiveness of staff.

Although the conference room was fairly average the lunch and then dinner in the evening was just a little different and well presented. The hotel,had arranged a bar-b-que the previous night and wine tasting on the night I stayed, all in a marque on the lawn.

The biggest surprise was the quality of my room. Modern, tasteful, very clean and a good size. I have stayed in a couple of Q Hotels before which have been tired and closer to budget hotels than good business traveller standard. This one is a notch above the rest.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheStratford, General Manager at The Stratford, A QHotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Passepartout1530

Delighted that you enjoyed your event with us and do hope that you will return for a leisure break in Stratford soon. Thank you for your review.

Annie Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

One of the best hotels I've stayed at. Very helpfull and friendly staff at reception. Location is walking distance from everywhere. Ample car parking and good value at only £5 a night. Clean modern room and finally wifi was excellent. Stunning all round, wish they were all like this. Joined trip advisor just to review them!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheStratford, General Manager at The Stratford, A QHotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Swished1

The review is fantastic thank you! Delighted you enjoyed your stay and especially posted this review!

Annie Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Stratford, A QHotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stratford, A QHotel

Address: Arden Street, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6QQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#2 Family Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#4 Business Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#4 Romantic Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Stratford, A QHotel 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chic and sophisticated, this delightful hotel is the epitome of good taste. And we don’t just mean our heavenly restaurant, Quills; awarded an AA rosette for being utterly delicious. Following our £7 million refurbishment, the décor is oh so contemporary and absolutely gorgeous. The extravagant rooms take you to a place beyond comfort. Centrally located, a stroll away from great shopping, theatres and attractions, and 2 minutes from the train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your The Stratford, A QHotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Stratford, a q Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon
The Stratford, A QHotel Stratford-Upon-Avon, England
Stratford a Qhotel Upon Avon
Stratford Victoria Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Stratford, A QHotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.