We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay, but tired, an certainly not bargain of the year!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Stratford-upon-Avon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Stratford-upon-Avon to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bridgefoot, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6YR, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Durban South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Okay, but tired, an certainly not bargain of the year!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Stayed there over a snowy weekend in March. Very helpful staff. A large hotel, mature and getting to the point where it will require a major refit. Be prepared for long walks up and down corridors. Food and drinks of high quality. No complaints - just not the best Holiday Inn I've stayed in...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMHManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Stratford-upon-Avon, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Edward_Dale,

Thank you for taking the time to review your time with us.

I’m very pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us and found our food and beverages to be of a high quality. I hope to welcome you back to our hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Miguel Abellan van Kan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    504
    237
    71
    33
See reviews for
211
450
33
212
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Livingston, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Stayed here for an overnighter to attend a meeting. Room was what you expect from Holiday Inn , compact and functional. Very close to the centre of town and a quiet hotel even though it was almost fully booked due to Cheltenham racing. The breakfast/dining room over looks the river and had a good selection for breakfast. The room was clean but was quite dated. An okay hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMHManager, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Stratford-upon-Avon, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Antho909,

Thank you for leaving feedback on your recent stay with us.

I’m very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our hotel to be everything you were looking for. I hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Miguel Abellan van Kan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Stayed here one night as we had a party on the town. The rooms were clean and of the standard expected from a Holiday Inn. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast room was large and a good selection. I did have to wait a while for my eggs but it was busy at the weekend. The staff at breakfast were if anything over efficient and were clearing away plates before the last mouth were swallowed, still this was not an issue. If you stay here you must use the pancake machine on the breakfast bar. Press a button and in 2 min two fresh pancakes appear, fantastic! In all good hotel but did object to paying £5.00 for the car park.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMHManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Stratford-upon-Avon, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Antrrat,

Thank you for taking the time to review your time with us.

I’m very pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us and found that our team members were hard working and efficient. I’m very pleased you enjoyed your stay and our pancake machine – it’s quite the hit with children at breakfast! I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Miguel Abellan van Kan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

This stay was made by helpful staff, spotless rooms, great bar meals and excellent sports facilities. Will always stay here on visits to Stratford. I have a marathon coming up, they catered for my healthy eating, gym staff helped me, everything was effortless. Would have been five stars but i think evening restaurant needs to have a menu and choices. Not really an issue as the bar caters really well. Young dark haired girl on front reception desk helped my colleague and I with all sorts of problems, issues, directions, room questions etc. She was amazing! We saw her working in bar, delivering meals, helping guest problems as well as always seeming to be on at reception.

Room Tip: Any, my colleague had a room on a different floor and his was equally as good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMHManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Stratford-upon-Avon, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Yoshi-3316,

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us.

I’m very pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us a great deal and found that our team members working very hard to make sure that all of our guests have a comfortable and relaxing stay. I hope your marathon goes well and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Miguel Abellan van Kan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I stayed here over the summer and the rooms were a very good size and the leisure facilities were excellent. Its a great base to explore Stratford from as its so close to the centre but not in a busy area, you can easily walk into the town centre and enjoy the restaurants and a walk by the river and the good pub food that is around.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMHManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Stratford-upon-Avon, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Richard247,

Thank you for writing a review of your time with us.

I’m very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us – in particular our location. I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards,

Miguel Abellan van Kan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

To be recommended. Good service, good food in a clean and quality environment. I've stayed here 3 times and cannot fault the hotel. Wifi should be free and standard nowadays and surely will be soon. Would be nice in summer to sit out by the river. Staff are excellent.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMHManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Stratford-upon-Avon, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Duffel,

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on your stay with us.

I’m very pleased to read that not only did you enjoy your stay with us, but you would happily recommend us to others. I’m pleased to that you enjoyed your meals with us and as a returning customer, continue to enjoy everything our hotel has to offer. I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Miguel Abellan van Kan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

we stayed at this holiday inn for two nights. as really fancied a trip to stratford upon avon and knew it had a good location, upon arrival we went to our room and were utterly disappointed the room was very basic it had mould on the ceiling,stains on duvet,chewing gum stuck on the carpet and a hair under the pillow. We immediately complained and i will say the staff were very helpful they changed our room straight away and this room was alot cleaner but still very basic.
we chose not to eat at the hotel but this was only because there is so many bars and restraurants outside the hotel to choose from. we did make use of the swimming pool and found it to be just about useable not the cleanest of pools wouldnt expect this from a four star hotel.We also enjoyed having a drink in the bar of an evening except chairs all had stains on, All in all ok trip but just needs to be cleaner and get more up to date if this was to happen would consider staying again but there is better hotels in stratford upon avon and better value for money.
Holiday inn need to up there game!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMHManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Stratford-upon-Avon, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear 190725Shell,

Thank you for taking the time to review your time with us.

I’m pleased to read that you left our hotel happy with your stay but I am concerned about your comments concerning our hygiene levels, especially in our pool. I assure you, your comments have been noted and will be discussed at length with our housekeeping team to ensure this does not happen again. I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards,

Miguel Abellan van Kan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Stratford-upon-Avon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Stratford-upon-Avon

Address: Bridgefoot, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6YR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#8 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Stratford-upon-Avon 4*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the River Avon and set in beautiful landscaped gardens, the 4 star Holiday Inn Stratford-upon-Avon is the perfect location for discovering the delights of Shakespeare's birthplace, while other local attractions and historical sites are within walking distance.The hotel is within easy reach of J15 off the M40 and 20 miles from Birmingham Airport and the NEC and only a short drive from the amazing Warwick Castle.All 259 refurbished bedrooms have air-conditioning, wireless internet access and tea and coffee making facilities.Car Parking is available at the hotel with over 300 spaces on site.Renowned as an excellent meeting and conference venue and with the impressively modernised Ballroom with adjoining exhibition areas Holiday Inn Stratford-upon-Avon can host events for up to 550 delegates. To dine in style, the Terrace Lounge and Bar and the Riverside Restaurant offer excellent food to suit all tastes. Or to really unwind and recuperate, the leisure club is available for all guests to use with a wide range of first class facilities including a fully equipped gymnasium, indoor heated swimming pool, sauna and whirlpool. Discover Stratford-upon-Avon and visit the many nearby places of interest including the National Exhibition Centre, The Royal Shakespeare Theatre, Warwickshire and the Heritage Motor Centre. The Hotel, in compliance with UK smoking regulations is completley non smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Stratford-upon-Avon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Stratford-Upon-Avon Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon
Stratford Upon Avon Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Stratford-Upon-Avon England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Stratford-upon-Avon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.