We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little bit of culture” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Grosvenor Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Grosvenor Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Grosvenor Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Warwick Road, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6YT, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 50% off stays!
Glasgow
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“A little bit of culture”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Nice hotel very near middle of town and all the atractions on offer. We did a sail on the river and were etntertained by Romeo(?) and even had a cup of tea. We visited three of the huseson this occasion, te ones in town that we could walk to. If you want to visit Mary Arden or Anne Hathaway's cottage it wyuld be better to take the red open topped tourist bus, we did this on a previous stay. We like Stratford and the hotel suited us and the food was good and plentiful, the staff were very attentive and efficient. I would go back here, we had a nice quiet room, 172, on the ground floor looking out onto the back garden. The bed was very comfortable and the room was quite spacious.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWGrosvenor, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review of your recent stay attheGrosvenor hotel, I am delighted to find that your stay was pleasant and enjoyable. We take great pride in providing our guests with excellant service. Feedback just like yours helps us toconstantly improve and develop our service.
Thank you again for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

933 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    383
    165
    57
    32
See reviews for
153
488
31
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We booked an afternoon tea with 2 friends for a finale to a weekend away in Warwickshire. The selection of tea, scones and cakes was as good as any 4star hotel and as if you dont get enough on your platter, they deliver a wonderful dish of chocolate fondue, served with mini doughnuts, banana and marsh mellows. The tea is in plentiful supply, the room is bright, clean and cosy and the staff are all polite and professional. If ever staying in Stratford upon Avon you could do a lot worse than to book yourself an afternoon tea delight. Well done Best Western.

Room Tip: The car park is a bit on the small side but there is a pay and display just 2 minutes around the cor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWGrosvenor, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review of your recent afternoon tea here at theGrosvenor I am delighted to find that you enjoyed it so much. Our chefs take great pride in providing our guests with the best experience. I will ensure that your feedback is passed on to all the staff.

I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UNITED KINGDOM
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We only stayed one night but the welcome we had was good.The hotel is central to all the sights and amenities.We only had bed only so cant comment on breakfast or evening meal.If I go to Stratford on Avon again I will be staying at this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWGrosvenor, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review of your recent stay at theGrosvenor hotel, I am delighted to find that your stay was pleasant and enjoyable.

Thank you again for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a week stay at the Grosvenor. We found our room to be very comfortable and the staff most helpful. The only down point we found was the hotel management appeared to try and run the hotel on as few staff as possible which sometimes meant a longer than average wait to be served in the bar and restaurant. We will definitely be staying there again on our next visit to Stratford upon Avon.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWGrosvenor, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you very much for your review of your recent stay at the Grosvenor enjoyable. We take great pride in providing our guests with the best service , I will be looking at the staff service levels and use your feedback to improve and develop our service. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

first impressions were great, the reception, bar and drawing room were fantastic, we found our room seemed small for a double we felt it could do with a refurb it seemed tired, the staff were
very good the food we only had sandwiches were well worth the money all in all it was a nice place to stay stratford town centre was only a few minutes walk away and I walk slow

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWGrosvenor, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel and I'm happy to learn that your stay was enjoyable. We at the hotel take great pride in the service we offer and always try to maintain the highest standards and therefore very much appreciate all guest feedback. As you may have seen we have refurbished our lounge and bar area, hopefully bedrooms will be next.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

My husband, myself and two friends went to the R.S.Theatre, we went to see As You Like It, wonderful, to finish off our day we had booked a 5p.m.afternoon tea, unfortunately we had to wait for a free table( 45mins.) although we had booked. This wasn't a problem, the staff were really helpful, kept us informed of how long we would be waiting and gave us a tray of complimentary coffee and biscuits. The wait was well worth it, excellent afternoon tea, choices of finger sandwiches,cakes galore, and to finish chocolate fondue with mini donuts,marshmallows and sliced banana plus a good selection of different pots of tea. The staff were wonderful, helpful and very friendly.
WELL DONE TO ALL AT THE GROSVENOR. Well worth a visit, we certainly will be returning.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWGrosvenor, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you very much for your wonderful review I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your afternoon tea so much.
All of the team take great pride in providing our guests with the best service. I will use your feedback to improve and develop our service further and I can assure you that your feedback will be passed on to all the staff. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leighton buzzard
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed a wonderful afternoon at the Best Western Grosvenor Hotel in Stratford - upon - Avon to celebrate our 43rd wedding anniversary. The tea selection choices of sandwichs, cakes and teas were great and very tasty but just as good was the superb service and hospitality.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWGrosvenor, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review hotel, I am delighted to find that you enjoyed you afternoon tea. We take great pride in providing our guests with the best service and experience. I will ensure that your feedback is passed on to all the staff.
Many thanks and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Grosvenor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Grosvenor Hotel

Address: Warwick Road, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6YT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#8 Romantic Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Grosvenor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A delightfully elegant, Grade II listed, 3 Star Georgian Hotel with 73 bedrooms, centrally located in Stratford upon Avon, just 3 minutes walk from the RSC Theatre and all main local attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Grosvenor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Stratford-Upon-Avon
Stratford-Upon-Avon Best Western
BEST WESTERN Grosvenor Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Grosvenor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.