We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel to your Saves list
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Clopton Bridge, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 7HP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Warwick
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Brilliant Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

After reading some of the reviews I was a bit apprehensive about our stay. However, we had nothing to worry about. The hotel is very nice inside and out and has very nice period features.Is in a very good location for visiting Stratford.
Staff were all very friendly and welcoming. Rooms were clean and well equipped. Bed was comfortable and the pillows were very soft. We had booked a spa treatment and our rooms were conveniently located close to the spa.Spa treatments were great and we enjoyed spending time in the relaxation room. Dinner and breakfast was delicious and service was brilliant.
The only very minor weak points were the £5 parking fee, being charged £5 for a 750ml bottle of water in the restaurant and the windows in the bedroom wouldn't open so couldn't get any fresh air (although there was air con).
I will definitely be returning soon and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
verona54, General Manager at Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear guest
Thank you very much for posting such positive comments, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Sam Aziz, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,064 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    340
    230
    126
    48
See reviews for
147
547
16
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
WEST YORKS
Top Contributor
408 reviews 408 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 114 cities Reviews in 114 cities
186 helpful votes 186 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

It was not of choosing that I stayed here recently. I had booked into the Swans Nest opposite but they had managed to lose my booking so sent me across the road to their sister hotel.
From the outside the hotel looks lovely and is just 5 minutes easy walk from the town centre.
On checking in I was looked after by Alice who was polite and friendly.
Even though I had booked a Double room I was sent to an extremely small single as that was all they had available.
The room was poorly decorated, very small and had an extremely uncomfortable single bed.
The room was very hot and I hardly slept all night and when I did I would turn and hit the wall next to my bed.
The shower in the morning was inconsistent and went from burning hot to tepid to end the stay from hell.
Also they do not start serving breakfast till 7 a.m and I had to leave early so did not get anything and no reduction in my bill.
I used to like Mac Donald hotels but this needs a lot of love and attention.

Room Tip: not room 58 and not a single !
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evesham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

My friends and I, all in need of a break booked a spa break. From the minute we arrived the receptionist couldn't of been more helpful and booked us into our rooms even though we had arrived early. Her helpful and friendly attitude instantly helped us all begin to relax. Nothing was too much trouble for the guys who served us our evening meal in the restaurant the same evening. Food was delicious! We all enjoyed the spa and our treatments. Only comment is gym could do with air conditioning. Thank you for a great weekend, we will definitely book here again. The staff made it.

Room Tip: Our room was 153. Very pleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

My husband and I came for a weekend away and I must say we were a little underwhelmed. The hotel is beautiful from the outside and in a fantastic location, close to the river and town. It is a shame that even guests have to pay for parking in the hotel car park. Inside the hotel is well laid out but the decor is tired and a little shabby. Our room was clean and well appointed but nothing special. The restaurant is quite stuffy and old fashioned and we chose to eat elsewhere. We had a few spa treatments booked which were lovely but the spa is not terribly big and it was quite tricky to find a place to sit and relax. Breakfast was ok but again nothing special. The big plus for the hotel though are the staff, throughout our stay we found them to be helpful and friendly. All in all we had a pleasant stay but would just expect a bit more from a four star hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
verona54, General Manager at Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear guest
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments, I am pleased to note that overall you had a pleasant stay with us but sorry that you were a little underwhlemed. The Hotel has recently had considerable investment, with external upgrades and the lounge, bar, reception areas have recently been refurbished. We hope that this investment will continue in the foreseeable future. Thank you for you kind comments about the staff, all of whom work hard to ensure that our guests have a positive experience. Sam Aziz, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wells, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

This hotel is within easy walking distance of the theatre and most of the tourist attractions of the town.The large car park is a bonus. We were in room 35 (very close to room 31) but fellow guests were well behaved the night we stayed and it was very quiet. I usually have difficulty sleeping past 6am, but had to be woken at 9am having slept through the night. Breakfast was what you would expect from a hotel of this standard. Most of the staff were good but I guess that some were new for the season and still under training. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
verona54, General Manager at Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to post your positive review. I am pleased to note that you had a good night's sleep, and enjoyed your stay with us. Training with new team members is ongoing and I hope that you will see the improvements on your next visit; we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Sam Aziz, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

We stayed at Alveston Manor on 10th April after visiting the NEC. We had booked an executive room on a dinner, bed and breakfast basis. Our room was lovely very comfortable and welcoming with nice extra touches like coffee machine and robes. We had a drink in the bar before dinner and the barman couldn't have been more helpful and friendly and after taking our dinner order walked us through to the restaurant and made sure we were happy. The food was gorgeous and the staff were very attentive and friendly.
Breakfast was also lovely with a great selection of breads, pastries, fresh fruit and cereals as well as all the cooked options you would expect.
Overall the hotel was very well presented with beautiful architecture and wood panelling. We had a fantastic stay and the excellent staff really made our time at the hotel special.

Room Tip: Would recommendan executive room for the extras.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
verona54, General Manager at Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to post such positive comments. I am delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay with and that the young man in the bar gave such excellent customer service, I will ensure that your feedback is passed to him. Thank you also for your kind comments about the food, both at dinner and breakfast.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Alveston Manor in the near future.
Sam Aziz, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

“Noisy and small rooms”
Reviewed yesterday NEW
We stayed in room 31 which was on the main corridor and very noisy, we could hear people walking up and down and chatting all evening, which woke us up at least 4 times through the evening, including at 2.30am! We complained and were moved to another room away from the people flight path to the spa, however, the air conditioning in the new room was faulty and was extremely loud, so we had to switch it off to try and get some sleep. Finally, after two nights of disturbed sleep we were woken up with a fire alarm test, which is set for 9am every Monday morning. Very disappointing stay, when we gave the feedback to the staff on reception when leaving, they just smiled and said sorry......., while taking our payment!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the main corridor, this is main main corridor through to the spar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
verona54, General Manager at Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for posting your comments, my apologies that you had such a disturbed night, we do rely on our guests to be considerate of others when returning to their room and I am very sorry that you were awoken in the early hours. It is a challenge to find a suitable time for all to test the fire alarms, Sunday night/Monday morning is historically the quietest night of the week, with any business meetings etc. not commencing until 9am or after.
Again apologies if this detracted from your stay at the Alveston Manor.
Sam Aziz, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel

Address: Clopton Bridge, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 7HP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#10 Romantic Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#11 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel is one of the finest ---4-star hotels in Warwickshire, offering great luxury accommodation in one of the most beautiful and historic parts of England. Set in the very heart of Shakespeare Country, and in close proximity to beautiful Cotswold villages, the historic Alveston Manor Hotel is set in its own grounds just 5 minutes walk from all the cultural attractions of Stratford-upon-Avon. With luxurious bedrooms and a Vital Health Club & Spa this is the perfect destination for those looking for a relaxing or romantic break away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon, England
Alveston Manor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.