We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas mini break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel to your Saves list
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Clopton Bridge, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 7HP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Congleton
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Christmas mini break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

Second time we have stayed at this hotel as it is very dog friendly and central enough to walk into town. Staff very helpful, food superb, wine a bit pricey though! Would also recommend the Bistro in town Encore which serves mulled wine and mince pies at this time of the year and is also dog friendly.

Room Tip: If you have a dog choose the ground floor as there are several exists leading onto the car park, it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    392
    272
    153
    58
See reviews for
172
654
20
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Stayed one night December as treat for mums 7oth birthday. Stayed as 4 adults and one 8 yo child. Booked exutive room and requested quitet room. Room very nice with wooden beams, perfectly clean and quiet if a little small. Family room was large in modern part of hotel bit bland but clean and decoration fine. Staff were excellent and polite, especially on reception. Christmas paries were booked at the hotel so one of the staff (sorry forgot your name) booked meal at sister hotel over road, Piere Bistro, which was excellent so thankyou. Checkin very quick and easy.
Not sure on poor comments on here about tired decor, did not notice threadbare or worn carpets and all was clean and did not notice any damage to canopy! And have travelled around the world, think people get too fussy! Breakfast good, decent buffet choice of cold food and orders taken for hot breakfast. Locaton excellent, only 5 min walk into town
Overall good stay and recommended.
And special mention to Mad Museum, excellent decent priced place to visit and escape shakespear!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
verona54, General Manager at Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear guest
Thank you for your positive feedback, and I am delighted to note that you found the hotel and rooms, clean and presentable. There has been considerable investment in the Alveston Manor over the past year and January 2014 has seen the refurbishment of public areas with further work to be carried out in the near future. As you rightly say the Hotel is in an excellent location for visiting Stratford upon Avon. Sam Aziz, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonning Common, Berks
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

We had our wedding reception at the Alveston Manor and revisited this week for our 15th Anniversary. The public rooms, breakfast, health club, spa and location are all excellent. They are not as tired as many reviewers suggest, although the front canopy is in need of repair. Our room was spectacular but as a feature room it came at a high price. Frustratingly the shower did not work properly which was very annoying considering the room rate. Generally prices are high - 2 coffees cost £9 and charging for parking is simply profiteering.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Stayed for 1 night on a business trip. On checking in our reservations could not be found and waited for 20 mins to be checked in. The first room I was shown to was very dirty with bedding stained and hairs in the bed. The second room I moved to was just as bad with a very tired old dirty mattress which is not acceptable. The bathrooms was not clean and had a number of hairs in the bath and mouldy grout around the bath. Overall this is a very tired dirty hotel. One good experience was the service and meals in the restaurant were very good.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
verona54, General Manager at Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear guest
Whilst our rooms are a little tired, they are generally well maintained and clean, we apologise for any shortfall in housekeeping standards on this occasion. There has been considerable investment in the Alveston Manor over the past year, the refurbishment of public areas has recently been completed, and our newly refurbished business centre now offers state of the art conference facilities. We hope that this will continue for the foreseeable future. I am pleased to note that you had a good experience in our restaurant, and hope that we can welcome you back in the future.
Sam Aziz, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

Have just returned from a one night stay with my husband and thought the hotel, location and food was excellent.
Check in was smooth and staff very friendly, managed to get an upgrade to a lovely room with exposed beams and view over the garden area. Room was exceptionally clean, bed very comfortable and hotel was quiet despite the fact there was a large function going on, it was not noticeable. The hotel is located about a 5 minute walk from the centre of Stratford so is perfect if you don't want to drive.
Had breakfast in the morning, service was excellent even though it was busy, staff were friendly and breakfast was served quickly and was really nice with a choice of what you wanted for a cooked breakfast, there was also meats, cheese, fruit, juices and toast. I ordered a coffee but it was too strong so when I asked for them to change it for a tea it was done straight away.
I cant fault the hotel, it was excellent, good value for money and will definitely be returning again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
verona54, General Manager at Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such positive comments about your stay at the Alveston Manor. I am pleased to note that you enjoyed the food, we have recently been visited by an AA inspector who has endorsed a high one rosette award for the restaurant.
As you say the Hotel is in an excellent location for visiting Stratford upon Avon, and we look forward to welcoming you back. Sam Aziz, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

1) Heating/air con - could not get it right, even when showing +30 C it was freezing
2) Breakfast - cold pastries, 20min wait for 2 toasts, chasing for tea and coffee
3) Lunch - food was not refilled unless asked, teas & coffees not offered until asked. You need to actually go and find someone to help you
4) Dinner - Did not see anyone coming to take drinks order, portion sizes different and inconsistent, lamb overcooked. Cheese board was just dumped by a waiter at the end of the table and everyone had to pass it around.
5) Check -out. Painful and slow

We were a group of 16 and the feedback was consistent across the team. We did not feel welcomed and looked after.I would not recommend any of my friend or colleagues to stay here.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
verona54, General Manager at Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Kristine
Thank you for posting your comments. I personally investigated the issues and discussed with you at length and the operations team were in contact with the Trainer on the day. I hope that my conversation with you was satisfactory and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Sam Aziz, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

The hotel is just the other side of the bridge and about 5 minutes walk to the Theatre, lots of the attractions and restaurants and pubs. The room was fine and plenty of car parking (£5 per stay). The meal in the restaurant on Saturday night was good . Cheapest bottle of wine was £22 which was pleasant but very ordinary - in most places for that quality of wine you would be paying £15/16 Breakfast was OK but a bit mean - fried bread was a quarter of a slice of bread - small spoons or tongs for the help yourself buffet - so you can't take too much- butter came in a pretty silver dish with ONE pat of butter on a table of four.

However the staff were exceptional - helpful, smiling and very welcoming throughout the hotel.

Would I stay there again - debatable. Everything was fine but I felt they were charging 5 star prices for a 4 star establishment.

Room Tip: Because its such a rambling hotel you need to see your room before you take your luggage up. The co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel

Address: Clopton Bridge, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 7HP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#10 Romantic Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#13 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel is one of the finest ---4-star hotels in Warwickshire, offering great luxury accommodation in one of the most beautiful and historic parts of England. Set in the very heart of Shakespeare Country, and in close proximity to beautiful Cotswold villages, the historic Alveston Manor Hotel is set in its own grounds just 5 minutes walk from all the cultural attractions of Stratford-upon-Avon. With luxurious bedrooms and a Vital Health Club & Spa this is the perfect destination for those looking for a relaxing or romantic break away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon, England
Alveston Manor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.