We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing return visit” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel to your Saves list
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Clopton Bridge, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 7HP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Wiltshire
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Disappointing return visit”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We had wonderful memories of a lovely Christmas spent here some 6 years ago and were looking forward to our return visit. Sadly, the hotel management seems to have 'lost the plot' since we were last there. The lovely open log fires we remembered have been replaced by nasty gas coal effect ones. The whole hotel looked as though it needed a refurb; tatty, worn carpets and shoddy paintwork. No hand towels in the lady's loo on a Saturday night when the hotel was full and buzzing. Our room was clean enough but tired and worn, noisy as the rooms are so spread out that there is constant through traffic (and all night too) in the corridors. But what finished off our stay and will be our parting memory was the shambles that was Sunday breakfast. There were signs saying breakfast on Sunday was busy between 9 and 10 so you have to wait, as we did. When we sat down 10 minutes later there were several empty tables, the staff are just not organised properly to clear and relay quickly enough. There were still people in the queue with tables to our left and right empty - shambles! The chef is good - the breakfast when it came was lovely. So if the restaurant manager knows this, why not open up a function room as an overflow or offer customers a discount to eat after 10 with a later checkout time? The staff were polite and helpful, they just need training and better management. Sadly our fond memories of this hotel will remain that - we won't be gong back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,078 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    343
    234
    126
    49
See reviews for
148
555
16
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
246 reviews 246 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Living in Warwick we visit Stratford regularly and have always admired this hotel from the road as it looks really nice with very well kept grounds. We visited for a spa break as a pick me up for a friend. We found everything to be excellent from the welcome on arrival to the room, the facilities and food. The room was spacious, warm, well equipped and clean, the beds were very comfortable. We had coffee in the bar and a cocktail before dinner served by a very personable young man. Dinner and breakfast was tasty and well cooked, the spa was nice. Even when we left the staff were really nice. The hotel excelled our expectations it was full of character well maintained and worth of its 4 stars.

Room Tip: Ask for ground floor as they are easy access to the bar to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Beautiful hotel and room. Our dinner was not really good for the cost £30 per head,both sweet choices not available. The meal starter ham hock followed by two small pieces of lamb with two vegetables was it worth it i do not think so. this was at 9.15pm so not late. Bottle of Rose wine £23.95 that was the cheapest for a very basic wine that would normally cost at source £5. Breakfast following morning very well presented but lots of empty cereal and fruit containers on display, actual breakfast two bits of bacon a fried egg one small mushroom a quarter of a slice of fried bread and half a tomato, this was probably child portion. I have stayed there before with much better food. Sorry shame because we really like this hotel.

Room Tip: if you stay here there is much better restaurants available with much better value
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

My second visit here in six months. It’s main attractions are the location, very close to the centre of town and the swimming pool. Check in was better than my last visit and help with the bags was offered. Despite this being my seventh or eighth stay, there is no acknowledgement of the fact. Breakfast is the usual shambles, with guests queuing for five minutes to be checked in, while half the tables are unoccupied. Why the serving staff can’t be trusted to note your room number, who knows? This place is unique in my experience.

The hotel was full on the night I was there, and there aren’t enough car park spaces for all the guests so you might have to park on the verge. Despite having pretensions to being a four star hotel, they still think they can charge £5 for internet access. Beyond the joke.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the old coach house if you are tall, the beams are very low.
See more room tips
Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

The Alveston Manor is a lovely hotel, in walking distance of the town centre and all the theatres. The rooms are a little under whelming, nothing wrong with them but I would expect a little more for my money. We didnt eat at the hotel, we prefer to try local restaurants but breakfast the next day was good with a good selection of food and friendly staff.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Alveston Manor for our anniversary last weekend and had a really lovely time. We arrived on Friday afternoon and the very helpful receptionist went out of her way to make it possible for us to check into our room straight away, even though we were early arriving. We were offered tea in the lounge while we waited. The lounge was warm and welcoming, this was a great start to our weekend! Our bedroom in the Manor House was everything we had hoped it would be. It was traditional in stlye with beautiful exposed beams and creaky floor boards yet offered everything we needed for a very comfortable stay. We walked into Stratford in the afternoon. It's a few years since we have been to Stratford and the town is looking better that ever. Bancroft Gardens has been updated and does wonders for the town, i can imagine this would look beautiful in the summer!! We visited the RSC, did lots of shopping and booked our tickets at Shakespeare Birthplace to visit the 5 houses the following day. There is so much to fit in!! The hotel in perfectly located and within 5 minutes we were back in the warmth of the hotel lounge. All staff were so polite and friendly, they remembered us from when we checked in and asked about our day. Service on such a personal level is so hard to come by these days! Dinner that evening was excellent and offered a wide selection of choice. The restaurant service was fantastic and the staff we spoke to could confidently advise us on wine and food choices. There is a really homely feel to the hotel in the evening. My husband went into the gym on Saturday morning and I used the swimming pool. The Health Club, although busy, was very clean and for me, it was great to be able to have a proper swim in the large swimming pool rather than the small pools you find in most hotels. Breakfast is served until 11am at the weekend and this flexibility worked really well for us. The high service standards and friendliess continued. Breakfast had obviously been very busy earlier on, but the continental breakfast was fully refreshed and the hot plated buffet really se us up for the day! All in all a thoroughly enjoyable weekend. We left feeling relaxed and refreshed and would definitely return. If visiting Stratford, i would highly reccomend this hotel!

Room Tip: Our room was in The Manor House, room 14
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Emailed Friday 18th on iPhone from Dublin Airport-flight delayed due to snow @ Birmingham airport
My query last train times and taxi fare Birmingham to Hotel if flight very late
No reply
Arrived Sat 10 am no records yet showed iPhone receipt from hotel
Rooms not ready so case would be kept safe in office
Has meeting and @ 15.40 pm went to reception for room key
Surprise/ surprise case unattended at front door
Still no reply to query so gave up likeHamlets ghost
Enquired on first Sunday train from Stratford on Avon to Moore street and told 8.30 am and reception ordered cab for 8.15
In dining room pre 8am and no hot food till 8 am
Arrived at Station 8.20 am to find if closed and first train 9.30am and it snowing
What an experience
Sean Hannon

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel

Address: Clopton Bridge, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 7HP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#10 Romantic Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#11 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel is one of the finest ---4-star hotels in Warwickshire, offering great luxury accommodation in one of the most beautiful and historic parts of England. Set in the very heart of Shakespeare Country, and in close proximity to beautiful Cotswold villages, the historic Alveston Manor Hotel is set in its own grounds just 5 minutes walk from all the cultural attractions of Stratford-upon-Avon. With luxurious bedrooms and a Vital Health Club & Spa this is the perfect destination for those looking for a relaxing or romantic break away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon, England
Alveston Manor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.