We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“first class spa weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Menzies Welcombe Hotel & Golf Course

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Menzies Welcombe Hotel & Golf Course to your Saves list
Menzies Welcombe Hotel & Golf Course
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Warwick Road, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 0NR, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
West Midlands
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“first class spa weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

on arrival, we were checked in swiftly.
Room was overlooking the reception, perfect view.
Good sized room, with a clothes room too.
Very clean
How other friends did have to move due to a problem in the bathroom, however this was not a problem. Staff arranged as quickly as they could.
Breakfast excellent, dinner perfect 3 course meal.
Our complete stay was set a good value, we also had a free sp treatment.

The staff were very friendly and helpful.

We could not fault this hotel, restuarant or spa ... we would highly recommend this hotel for a lovely, relaxing weekend break.
The hotel is very romantic, so its also ideal to stay here if you were a couple.

Thank you all for a lovely weekend,

Room Tip: ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

916 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    498
    248
    90
    53
    27
See reviews for
121
421
12
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

My wife and I were made to feel at home right away from friendly front desk. Beautiful room. Dinner and breakfast were excellent. Waiting staff very friendly and attentive. Drinks were reasonably priced for a hotel. Well appointed spa - not really the main reason for our stay, but my wife and I used it once - pool, sauna, steam room etc. Well recommended - ideally situated for visiting the Bard. Difficult to find fault.

Room Tip: Can't say anything about any rooms other than ours - Room no. 1 - excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights for work and would very much recommend staying here if you have the opportunity.

Nothing is too much trouble for the hospitality team. The hotel itself is like a glorious Victorian National Trust building with high ceilings, sumptuous fabrics, huge beds and a bath so big and deep I could float!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westgate-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

A group of us Lady Golfers (first night 12 of us, 2nd night 28) went there for a couple of nights. The first night we were in the Restaurant and the service was extremely slow. We sat down to eat at 8, we waited over an hour for our main and our dessert eventually arrived at 10:10. Breakfast in the morning was even worse we had to ask at least 4 times for toast and drinks, they eventually arrived after a 20 min wait. The staff were just wandering around aimlessly. In the evening we were in a seperate room and the service was excellent. We also had our breakfast in there the 2nd morning and the service from the Staff was much better.
On the plus side the food is very good and the Spa and Pool excellent.
The room was OK, a bit "worn" and the pillow was lumpy and like concrete. We had also asked for a twin but was a double, we rang reception and they promised to send someone straight away. When we got back to the room that evening about 11 it still hadn't been done so we had to ask again. Thankfully they did send someone quite quickly.
The Golf course is superb, in beautiful condition considering the weather we've had.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We were looked after from start to finish. From booking to arriving to the whole experience.
Nothing was a problem. The Hotel was imaculate. Hotel staff friendly and approachable
Set in a beautiful area. The Spa facilites were also excellent and staff friendly.
Evening looking into booking for next year. Just a big Thank you

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I have stayed here on several occasions and every time has been wonderful, the staff always do their utmost to make the stay perfect despite how busy they may be. The food is excellent, the spa facilities wonderful, the gardens beautiful. The accommodation is highly satisfactory with ample provisions and catering for my elderly mother who has mobility difficulties. I cannit comment on the golfing facilities personally, but i know several people who have enjoyed using the course,

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

In anticipation of the arrival of our first child, we want a few days away, just the two of us, where we coud catch up on some sleep, eat nice food, lounge, and do some culture. Welcomb and Stratford delivered all of that. We booked a mid week DB&B deal for two nights and upgraded to an executive room, plus we added a third night B&B.
The hotel is nicer than it looks on the website; it still has echoes of what must have been a jolly family house, albeit one on a grand scale. 1920s music piped through contributed to harking back to the house's heyday,
Staff were all very friendly. We were upgraded to a four poster room which was a lovely gesture from the receptionist. The room wasn't amazing but was comfy and spacious (the dirty bedspread was the one down point, and we were glad we'd upgraded as the standard rooms I would imagine are quite corporate).
Food in the restaurant was good - good menu selection of modern European. Breakfasts were also good although you often had to ask for extra supplies at the buffet.
The spa was lovely. Not very busy and a good size pool with nice outside plunge pool and jacuzzi, plus four steam/sauna/crystal rooms for relaxing in, with good changing facilities. We didn't have any treatments but the treatment room looked nice and there was a good selection available.

We had a very nice walk through the hotel grounds and into the nature reserve it sits in the heart of. It is a half hour walk or ten minute drive to Stratford, which was less pretty than we expected, but we saw a very good Hamlet at the RSC.

Overall we had a lovely stay and I would say the hotel's website doesn't necessarily do it justice.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Menzies Welcombe Hotel & Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Menzies Welcombe Hotel & Golf Course

Address: Warwick Road, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 0NR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#5 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#6 Business Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#7 Romantic Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Menzies Welcombe Hotel & Golf Course 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, LateRooms, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Menzies Welcombe Hotel & Golf Course reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menzies Welcombe Hotel And Golf Course
Menzies Welcombe Hotel Course
Menzies Welcombe Hotel & Golf Course Stratford-Upon-Avon, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Menzies Welcombe Hotel & Golf Course, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.