We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easter Monday coffee stop” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Menzies Welcombe Hotel & Golf Course

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Menzies Welcombe Hotel & Golf Course to your Saves list
Menzies Welcombe Hotel & Golf Course
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Warwick Road, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 0NR, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
chipping campden
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Easter Monday coffee stop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We took an elderly neighbour for a drive on Easter Monday and called in at the Welcombe Hotel in Stratford upon Avon for coffee. The staff were extremely kind and very knowledgeable about facts relating to the hotel when it was in private hands and the coffee and home made biscuits were delicious.

The setting of this hotel is very beautiful overlooking a golf course.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

820 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    442
    218
    82
    52
    26
See reviews for
101
376
11
88
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We spent one night at the Menzies Welcombe, bed and breakfast, after winning a competition on Twitter! And we had a fab time...considering we hadn't paid for the stay we both thought the service we received was great!

We were able to check into our room early as it was ready at 12.30pm! We were surprised to be in the Dingles Suite (Room 105) which had a separate lounge area - we thought we would just have a standard double room - so that was a nice surprise! The room décor, and the décor around the hotel is beautiful...and the gardens are lovely, even during the colder months of the year.

The spa area was nice, and surprisingly quiet for a Saturday afternoon! We loved the outside vitality pool! The changing facilities were also really good...fab showers!

Breakfast was great - plenty of options and everything you could think of...and presented very well too. We were served promptly and asked if we wanted more tea/toast when we had finished what we had.

All the staff we encountered during our stay were extremely attentive and friendly...real service with a smile.

We love this hotel (but then, we are slightly biased as we are getting married here next year!)!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxon, UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Spent one night at the hotel in the 'Isabella' room, which had a four poster bed and was very comfortable. Dinner was excellent, with really good service, we were offered bread on more than one occasion and it was delicious, can highly recommend the olive bread. There were lots of choice available at breakfast . We spent a very relaxing couples of hours in the spa/pool area, particularly enjoyed the vitality pool, with the amazing water jets. We can thoroughly recommend the hotel and am sure we will be back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Played the Golf Course some years ago and when the offer came up on Secret Escapes I thought we'd give it a go. Went with another couple = 4 Adults Aged 50-55

Firstly, its a fabulous setting and the Hotel offers a raft of activities.
Only down side was our room.
On arrival we were 'Upgraded' to a Spa Suite. These are in fact timeshare units that are a 300 yard walk outside from the main hotel, located at the back of the Spa.
The layout was modern 'Boutique' style with an odd shaped lounge and a horrible spiral staircase up to the two rooms. The major room which was en-suite was excellent.
The lounge however has one small sofa. How can 4 adults use this?
View from our bedroom was the back of the Spa where the very large and 24 hour noisy extractor was facing us about 25 feet away.
For some it would be nice but we went to this hotel for the historical features.
As they were full they could not offer anything else. We got a free glass of champagne with dinner????? OK if you like champagne I guess. But the thought was there from the General Manager. ladies also got a free drink in the afternoon.
Ladies reported the Spa was Excellent whilst the guys played Golf. although very cold its a nice course. £30 a round is guest rate Buggy was £25, so £42.50 each not bad.
Massage in Spa was £60. Probably £15 too much.
Dinner & Breakfast was in the deal with the usual supplements. You are allowed £35 for the meal each. We had steak which was £6 extra. With drinks we paid £15 head on top.
Service was very good, food was excellent.
Breakfast was very extensive and top quality.
I would go back but if paying full rate would not accept the Apartment. How anyone could spend a week there on the timeshare is beyond me. The spiral staircase causes Nausea every time you descend it, and its certainly no good for elderly or infirm.
Very close to Stratford (3 min drive)
I would have given 4 stars if not for he 'Upgrade'.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

Booked into the hotel at the last minute for the Easter weekend. The hotel is well located for visiting Stratford and Warwick. Although it is a short drive to Stratford an evening taxi is only £6. The hotel staff were helpful and friendly. Our room was clean and well maintained. The breakfast was plentiful and served in a bright dining room. The highlight was the spa area which had a larger than average pool and good range of other facilies. You can enjoy a short walk around the surrounding countryside as well.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

We had a fantastic one night stay at the hotel. We were upgraded to the luxury spa apartments, which are brilliant. By far one of the best things about the hotel was the spa. Truly amazing facility free to use by all hotel guests, we spent all afternoon enjoying it! Food was also great. Will definitely be returning soon!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

For the none golfers this is a perfect (if not expensive ) retreat offering a variety of leisure activities and only a few miles from stratford-upon-avon .The rooms are very well equipped with Mac tv/pc's in every room and Free wifi across the whole site .There isnt much wrong with the food either offering a buffet breakfast and sit-down dinner with a v.good menu to match .The down side are the alcohol prices which are high ,with a pint cost just short of £4 a pint and a good wine £26 a bottle but this is what you expect in good places ( it's still a shock tho) Staff a very friendly and accommodating teaching us Rumanian lol.
If you want to play golf as I was the course is a short drive down the road and the course is superb .If you want a romantic weekend in stratford upon avon this ticks all the right boxes.You get what you pay for at the end of the day ,not cheap but very classy.

Room Tip: 1 of our party complained about the smell in their room and were up graded to a suite but be warned...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Menzies Welcombe Hotel & Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Menzies Welcombe Hotel & Golf Course

Address: Warwick Road, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 0NR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#5 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#6 Business Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#7 Romantic Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Menzies Welcombe Hotel & Golf Course 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Menzies Welcombe Hotel & Golf Course reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menzies Welcombe Hotel And Golf Course
Menzies Welcombe Hotel Course
Menzies Welcombe Hotel & Golf Course Stratford-Upon-Avon, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Menzies Welcombe Hotel & Golf Course, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.