We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of No 9 Church St

No 9 Church St
9 Church Street, Stratford-upon-Avon, England
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $23 - $55
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Located between the commercial centre and the heart of Stratford upon Avon’s “Old Town”, No9. Church St. is a grade II listed building dating back over 400 years.Renovated and refurbished to make the most of its original features and character the building is now home to Stratford’s latest addition to its vibrant and diverse restaurant scene.No.9 Church St. is the brain child of Wayne Thomson and Dan Robinson, friends and colleagues for the last 10 years and with over 30 years of culinary experience between them. Their aim is to make No.9 Church St. a town centre restaurant with a neighbourhood feel...serving seasonal British food with a contemporary twist in a relaxed environment with informal yet professional staff, the wine list will feature some fantastic Artisan wines at sensible prices.A unique feature of the restaurant will be Upstairs at No9. A private dining room offering bespoke, tailored menus and a dedicated Butler service to parties of up to 10 people, although larger parties can be catered for in the main restaurant by prior booking.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

Visited a few weeks ago and just had a lovely meal. Friendly service and some really interesting choices. Thoroughly recommend it to anyone.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    374
    78
    21
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“No. 9 Church Street an address to save to your contacts.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Table for 2. We had heard good reports about No 9 Church Street. It takes the name from it's address. Whether you are in Stratford-upon-Avon for the theatre, a day out or happy to go there just to eat, this is a real find. The building is a 15th Century listed building and and well worth a place on your list of places to eat, you will love it. Just a nice size, very attentive service without being a pain and the all important food is to die for. Have you ever heard of deep fried custard? Give it a whirl, you'll love it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A small quality restaurant close to the centre of town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We booked this restaurant for a family dinner (6 of us) before going to see the outstanding production of As You Like It at the RSC. They recommended a 5:45pm booking for a 7:30 performance when we booked. The small dining room is on the first floor. Several of the family are seriously into good food (one daughter spent 6 months on a catering course in downtown San Francisco) but we all enjoyed all three courses. 4 of us had the very good value pre-theatre menu. Service was quiet, efficient and prompt. We had plenty of time to enjoy all three courses plus coffee before paying and strolling to the theatre. A great evening all round. I think Jay Rayner's review in today's Observer is a bit too negative.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, England
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“What a restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

This is a really wonderful small restaurant - intimate, warm and inviting. We had wonderful service from a friendly and engaging waitress. The food was superb: complex, modern, fresh, pleasing to the eye and full of flavour. The whole meal was very good value and drinks were reasonably priced too.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“The best restaurant in Stratford”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We've been visiting Stratford every year for the last 27 years. During that time we've tried an awful lot of restaurants, some OK, some dire. Until it closed a couple of years ago our favourite was Malbec. We tried No 9 Church Street this time and were very impressed, not only by the food but also by the premises (cosy, beamed ceilings etc) and the superb staff. The menu was innovative and had some excellent fish dishes. Wine list was good too. We'll be back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed No 9 Church St also viewed

Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 

Been to No 9 Church St? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage No 9 Church St, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.