We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night stay in Stratford upon Avon” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Arden Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Arden Hotel to your Saves list
The Arden Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Waterside, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6BA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“One night stay in Stratford upon Avon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

This hotel is ideally placed for visitors to RSC theatres, just across the road. It has been extensively refurbished to a high standard, but retains some of the quirks of the original building. Reception staff were not particularly welcoming, but all others were excellent: efficient and pleasant. The generous breakfast, with waiter service, was perfect - even the tricky problem of getting boiled and poached eggs just right seems to have been solved. Lunchtime light meals were also of high quality, as was the evening meal, though with limited menu. Timing is critical for theatre-goers, and that was taken into account. We also thought the meals were very reasonably priced. The rooms suffer somewhat from the alterations that have taken place, and some are a strange shape. However, the new bathrooms are large and pristine, and beds new and very comfortable with more pillows than you could ever need! There is only one room suitabled for visitors with a physical disability. Anyone who cannot walk too far should check where their proposed room is situated, as some are a long way from Reception. Overall, a very satisfactory place to stay, in a beautiful setting overlooking the Avon.

Room Tip: As above, check room location if you don't want to walk too far.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    440
    159
    31
    5
    0
See reviews for
67
408
20
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Stayed at the Arden last week for (I think) the tenth time. It was lovely as usual, but some small details left me disappointed, especially as I had brought my wife in this business trip for the first time and she was looking forward to seeing The Arden which I always rave about.

Despite booking long in advance we were given a room at ground level which looked right onto the entrance to reception which meant for privacy we always needed to keep the curtains closed. Little disappointments such as an empty box of tissues in the bathroom, and a newspaper which never arrived (although they did apologise when we checked out). The "King" bed was actually two singles held together to a fitted sheet. This was uncomfortable for the two of us.

Breakfast the next morning was slow despite an empty restaurant. Toast ordered more than once never arrived.

All in all, there were so many small issues that ordinarily would go unnoticed, that they all contributed to a disappointing stay. My wife told me she didn't understand why I always go on about enjoying the Arden, when it was like any other little hotel she'd stayed at.

I'm now wondering if I should go back to The Arden next time I am in Stratford.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugeley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

We have recently returned from a three night stay at this lovely hotel..Staff were very helpful and pleasant ,rooms clean, but what a shame our experience was marred by the service in the dining room. At breakfast and dinner it was so slow and disorganised( except for the two occasions when the manager was on duty) that several guests complained..

Room Tip: We had the room adapted for disabled YEW and it was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarlat-la-Caneda, France
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

We booked a Winter Warmer package for one night to allow us to see the two parts of RSC's dramatisation of Hilary Mantel's Cromwell novels. We were able to use the hotel''s car park from 11am, without extra charges, had our luggage stored until after the matinee performance when we then checked into our room, which was spacious, immaculately clean, with free bottles of water and some fresh fruit - and our luggage was there waiting for us. A two course pre-theatre dinner was included, which was excellent and graciously served; then the welcome short walk across the road to the theatre again. After the evening performance we were given free hot chocolate drinks with marshmallows and cookies - a delicious, relaxed end to the day. Our bedding had been turned down ready for us and there were.warm dressing gowns and plush towels. - all very attentive to our creature comforts. A full English breakfast was also included and again the food was excellent, with plenty of choices all attractively displayed. We had free WiiFi access and didn't need to check out until 11am - allowing a short time for shopping before departure. Elegant excellence at a reasonable rate, with every concern for our enjoyment of the stay in Stratford. Thank you Arden staff, and well done.

Jon

Room Tip: As there are no lifts but plenty of stairs and long corridors to some rooms request a room with the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

My wife and I with two friends returned today from this excellent hotel.
The location of the hotel is ideal for a stay in this attrative town.
The rear of the hotel overlooks the River Avon allowing you to sit on the terrace and watch the pleasure boats pass by.
The accommodation and the meals could not be better with friendly and very helpful staff.The excellent reviews speak for themselves, well done to all the staff.
B & J Fletcher.
Sutton Coldfield

Room Tip: To our knoweldge the majority of the rooms are large and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

We stopped for one night as part of a group booking for a dinner night. The food was excellent and the room was a good size with a lovely view of the river. The staff were very helpful. We don't usually pay this much for a room if left to our own devices, and whilst it was a lovely room we thought it was a bit overpriced. No doubt being in a prime position in Stratford it can charge a premium.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

I stayed at The Arden for three nights from 7 March 2014 on their pay for two nights and get third free. Was a long weekend birthday treat and we wanted a bit of luxury. The hotel is located close to the river and opposite the RSC. Rooms are clean, well furnished and very well maintained, the facilities are excellent, with terrace, gardens, coffee lounge and restaurant. The staff are friendly, helpful, polite, attentive but not overbearing. Food was excellent and the breakfast is plentiful with lots of choice.Thoroughly enjoyed the luxury feel to this Hotel - will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Arden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Arden Hotel

Address: Waterside, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6BA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#2 Romantic Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#3 Business Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#4 Family Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Arden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of historic Stratford-upon-Avon, directly opposite the world-renowned Royal Shakespeare Company Theatres, the Arden Hotel has undergone a multi-million pound refurbishment to create an elegant and sophisticated 45-bedroom boutique-style hotel. The transformed Arden Hotel opened its doors in July 2010, and is fast becoming the flagship destination in the redeveloped World Class Stratford, enticing Shakespeare aficionados and theatre-goers from all over the globe.The luxuriously renovated Arden boasts the chic new Waterside Brasserie, a stylish Champagne Bar and spacious suites with beautiful views over the River Avon, providing an inspirational backdrop for your trip, whether for business or pleasure.Set in glorious Warwickshire, the Arden Hotel with its large car park is an ideal base for exploring some of England’s most famous and picturesque countryside, including the charming villages of the Cotswolds, the bountiful Vale of Evesham and the ancient market town of Warwick with its awe-inspiring castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Arden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Arden Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Arden Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.