We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top notch small boutique hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Arden Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Arden Hotel to your Saves list
The Arden Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Waterside, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6BA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Top notch small boutique hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Myself and my wife stayed here for our wedding anniversary for two nights in June, don't take any notice of the rubbish reviews as our stay was fantastic, the staff were polite, friendly and helpful. Food and drink were excellent as were the rooms. Excellent location just off the centre of town. We will be staying again

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    435
    159
    31
    5
    0
See reviews for
67
404
20
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

After reading some of the reviews we were in two minds about going to this hotel but we are glad we did.
We did have a major problem in our room when going to bed the first night but they could not have been more helpfull or sorry and gave us a choice of three other rooms for the night and returning to our room the next day when the problem had been fixed.
The staff in the hotel were excellent and unlike many reviews we thought the food was also excellent yes it may have been pricey but it is a la carte. We ate in the restaurants on both evenings and breakfast on both days and did not have any complants.
Because of the problem we had with the room when we returned in the afternoon there was a bottle of chilled champagne with a had written card a very nice touch.
We would stay at this hotel again without a second thought

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edlesborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

The Arden is a beautifully finished hotel in an excellent location for the RSC, river walks and town with brilliant shops. My Wife and I who are both involved in the catering industry and a facilities company dealing with many hotels, decided to take a well earned night away for our Wedding Anniversary. The Arden did not disappoint us with the welcome and our room was fantastic, quiet and well decorated with a spacious well appointed bathroom, both were spotlessly clean. After a retail therapy trip in town we settled down on the Brasserie Terrace to enjoy a jug of well prepared Pimms.
Our evening meal was set for the Brasserie at 8pm, but we decided to arrive a little earlier to enjoy a glass of chilled champagne on the terrace once more. This is where things started to go a little pear shaped, whilst reading the menus to make our dinner choices we asked for a bottle of chilled water to be placed on our table with our wine choice, however the very polite eastern European waiter could not grasp this simple request after asking twice and continued to enquire why we wanted 'bread & butter'? After a few moments he grasped what we were requesting and then preceded to bring us a jug of water out to the Terrace?? We gave up trying to explain what we would really like as he was really pleasant and obviously eager to please, even though they charged me £3.30 on my bill for tap water we really didn't want but hey ho?
We made our meal choices which I have to say are not at all cheap so we were expecting very high end quality. My starter of a Roquefort Souffle was very good, however, my Wife's choice of Pate was served with bread so burnt it was still smoking! Of course we returned this immediately and with numerous apologies was replaced quickly, but it should have never made it to the table.
My Wife has fresh salmon for her main course which was served with crushed new potatoes with what we thought were chopped chives, however the potatoes were completely unseasoned and bland and although the salmon was obviously good quality the whole dish was unimaginative, poorly presented and really not worth its price tag. My dish consisted of Pork cooked 3 ways, Black pudding ravioli, pork loin wrapped in sage and pancetta and slow roast belly pork.
The 1 ravioli was interesting, the pork loin was delicious, and the belly pork was a disaster, fatty, badly cooked and the crackling? What crackling, it was still chewy soft and unseasoned. The dish was priced at £18.50, for the amount that was served to me I wanted the flavours to set my palate alight unfortunately it hardly started a smoulder and left me disappointed, confused and worst of all hungry. Thank goodness for the jolly waiter who kept me stocked with granary and tomato bread.
For sweet my Wife had Crème Brulee, her favourite, and at £6.00 a portion needed to be good. I have made better whilst camping in a force 8, really poor, however my cheeseboard was brilliant and the choice of cheeses were very good.
So, to sum up. The Arden as a hotel is pricey but fabulous and the location is excellent, however, it is my opinion that at the moment you may feel a little let down with the Kitchen's creations and may also feel as I do a little cheated on what should have been a memorable meal. Give the Chef a kick up the whatsit, and bring him up to the hotel's obviously high standard. And quickly!

Room Tip: Go for a Deluxe or Above!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IOM
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Across the road from theatre package was room. Breakfast dinner and theatre tickets for Titus Adronicus very handy.
Busy comfortable one night theatre stop easy parking essential for a busy place such as Stratford in season.
Town was heaving.
Food ok again Eastern European staff doing a terrific job.
Would stay there when next visiting the RSC.

Room Tip: Interestingly rooms have names of trees not numbers Free Internet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Considering I booked this hotel direct and, no doubt, paid full rack rate, we were offered a pokey overheated room with a desk fan. This did get changed to a good room with A/C on request. Apart from the porter, the reception staff seemed disaffected. The restaurant (sorry, the Brasserie), with some notable exceptions, was a shambles; the food was pub grub standard which would not normally bother me except that this hotel has pretensions to something better. The hotel advertised a Cocktail and Champagne bar; goodness knows where it was. I wrote a letter of concern to the Manager. A reply never came. I wish I had stayed at the Premier Inn.

Room Tip: Make sure that you examine the room before you do accept anything
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmardenhotel, General Manager at The Arden Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Andytheindolent

Please accept my apologies for your unhappiness. No letter has ever been received, so I would be grateful if you could get in touch. If I am not available please contact my Deputy Tim Brain.

As you can see from our previous 433 reviews, 99% of our guests are very happy rating us good and excellent, so I am surprised by your comments especially in regards to "Pub grub" . We have two AA rosettes and an excellent Head Chef, who aspires to serve fresh, local produce where ever possible.

The Champagne and cocktail bar is right in the middle of the Waterside Brasserie and this is very popular with residents and locals.

Hopefully you will get in touch so we can discuss the issues you encountered.

Kind Regards


Jason Adams
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We booked this venue for 36 guests last November all the way through we were given fantastic advise and support to all of our questions. We were shown around the hotel and straight away we knew this was a special place. A few weeks before our big day there was a few changes to the wedding organizer and the chef we were a little anxious but the food had actually improved from our wedding taster although that was lovely at the time and Tim and his team made everything so perfect we actually felt someone was looking down on our day. All the guests stayed at the hotel and everyone could not believe how lovely the accomadation and the staff were. We all had a lovely breakfast and we had champangne to compliment ours. The staff had cleared everything away for us and flowers and presents were all organized for us. If you want a wedding reception to accomadate up to 40 guests this is the place to come. Thanks to all the staff who worked so hard to make our day special.

Mr and Mrs Owen

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

What a find! This hotel deserves the highest ratings because the Staff have miles of smiles and go the extra at whatever time of day in every aspect of customer service! Perfect location for RSC theatregoers, sightseers to Stratford and with large, secure car park you can relax and enjoy the Champagne bar where they make a mean cocktail too! Rooms vary, our deluxe king Chestnut, was perfect with spotless stylish bathroom, faultless wifi and Aircon! Lovely Orla Kiely toiletries daily replenished! Fresh milk in fridge! Delish cookies! Big soft towels! Getting the picture? It's a YES from me!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Arden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Arden Hotel

Address: Waterside, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6BA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#2 Romantic Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#3 Business Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#4 Family Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Arden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of historic Stratford-upon-Avon, directly opposite the world-renowned Royal Shakespeare Company Theatres, the Arden Hotel has undergone a multi-million pound refurbishment to create an elegant and sophisticated 45-bedroom boutique-style hotel. The transformed Arden Hotel opened its doors in July 2010, and is fast becoming the flagship destination in the redeveloped World Class Stratford, enticing Shakespeare aficionados and theatre-goers from all over the globe.The luxuriously renovated Arden boasts the chic new Waterside Brasserie, a stylish Champagne Bar and spacious suites with beautiful views over the River Avon, providing an inspirational backdrop for your trip, whether for business or pleasure.Set in glorious Warwickshire, the Arden Hotel with its large car park is an ideal base for exploring some of England’s most famous and picturesque countryside, including the charming villages of the Cotswolds, the bountiful Vale of Evesham and the ancient market town of Warwick with its awe-inspiring castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Arden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Arden Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Arden Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.