We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fiasco of a so-called afternoon tea.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Menzies Welcombe Hotel & Golf Course

Menzies Welcombe Hotel & Golf Course
Warwick Road, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 0NR, England
44 1789 295252
Improve this listing
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fiasco of a so-called afternoon tea.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

We (a group of 6 women) came to celebrate our friends significant birthday. We had booked well in advance and arrived to discover that we were not expected. We had to wait whilst the girl re-laid a table for us and told her why we were there and then waited again.... for ages! Eventually she took our order for drinks and teas and coffees duly arrived but then we waited another half an hour at least for the rest until we had to go and find someone to explain that when we said we were there for afternoon tea we did not literally mean "a cup of tea". Eventually the food arrived. It was honestly a joke. It looked as if they had gone out to the local supermarket and then cut in half a selection of 3 poor quality cakes we even had half a meringue! It was very embarrassing for us all. When we complained the person we spoke to said he would speak to the manager but at no time did we actually see the manager in person. We ended up paying half - £7.50 per head - but it really wasn't even worth that. When we said we would not be returning the person we spoke to could not have cared less - his attitude was dreadful. Very disappointing in deed. Do not come here for afternoon tea. There are plenty of far better places in Stratford. Please read my other reviews to know that I am generally not the moaning type!

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    11
    3
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Valentine set 3 course meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Lovely dining room overlooking the gardens, with well presented food served by very attentive staff.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Unforgettable afternoon tea!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Just back from one of the best afternoon teas I have ever had. The food was delicious and the customer service was outstanding. We had been reserved a large table in front of the roaring fire and the table had been decorated with special table confetti especially for us. Thank you for making a special birthday even more special!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Festive Christmas Lunch with no festivity”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Over 30 of us went yesterday (Sunday 9/12/13) for a Festive Christmas Lunch. Unfortunately, the restaurant was not prepared for Christmas, not a single decoration (no tree, no crackers, no Christmas music. )

The meal was mediocre at best (the soup was the best course) the main course consisted of processed turkey, 2 sprouts, a spoonful of carrots/swede, 2 roast potatoes, 2 pigs in blankets an a ball of tasteless stuffing - not what we expected from a hotel of this standard.

When the manager was brought to the room his comments were "I have some crackers you can have"!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

The pudding was unimaginative also.

VERY DISSAPPONTED.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A good place to take a time and relax the mind.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Very good food, amazing garden and view. Nice Spa... Really a good place to turn off your mind. But the service need to get more experience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Menzies Welcombe Hotel & Golf Course also viewed

Alveston, Stratford-upon-Avon
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 

Been to Menzies Welcombe Hotel & Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Menzies Welcombe Hotel & Golf Course, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.