We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for parties but not for business or families” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Kenilworth Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Kenilworth Hotel to your Saves list
The Kenilworth Hotel
61 Warwick Road, Kenilworth CV8 1HN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 12 Kenilworth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
bournemouth
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great for parties but not for business or families”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

My room was over the bar which was noisy until midnight which is not good when you have to get up for business meetings the next day. the rooms have tried hard to be trendy and boutique style and some things work like the coffee machines, the Elemis toiletries and the big screen Tv. however, it looks like there has been a lot if cheap DIY in the bathroom and cheap wardrobes which dont work. fake leather walls, fake leather furniture, strange pictures and furry bed covers dont help. They have turned an old tudor building complete with exposed beams into a New Orleans style boutique hotel but I dont think it has worked. Black furniture with brown curtains etc makes it very dark. my room was at the front whuch was noisy with traffuc. You cant eat in the hotel so not good for single women to have to go out at night although they do a nice simple continental breakfast. The car park is difficult to find too and limited parking spaces with little alternative. this is not a place to stay for families or on business but would be great for hen or stag weekends as it has a lively cocktail bar and garden area in the middle of the town. My rating is purely based on personal taste and suitability for business and although not my cup of tea, it is probably heaven for someone else.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenilworthHotel, Owner at The Kenilworth Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Hi, Thank you for your comments. We have a policy of not using real leather, that's just a personal standard.
It also must meet with today's fire regulations so fire proof 'faux' leather is all we are allowed to use on the walls.

The furniture/wardrobes are bought from a fashion designer in london by the name of Charles Gillmore. Sorry you dont like them.

We lived in New Orleans for over 20 years before setting business back in our home town. These old 16th Century cottages were derelict buildings which we lovingly restored and tried to find a balance of old and new, most like it, but we will never please everyone as everyone has different tastes.

95% of our business in the week is corporate business and those who have an issue with noise chose to stay in the rooms away from the main building :)

The bar is really quiet in the week and the bar hardly generates noise, BUT if there is ever an issue with noise please inform us, we want your stay to be a good relaxing one.

Your room was over the bar area and yes that can be noisier(room3), its a really tough balance for us to keep guests happy in the cocktail lounge whilst making no noise at all (Due to the size of the building this is always tricky)

We combat this by turning all the music off at the latest 11.30pm in the week and closing all the doors to minimise noise, we also ask guests to move away from the bar area, again this really helps.

We are always trying to improve at the kenilworth so really appreciate your comments.

Kind Regards
Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    41
    14
    5
    6
See reviews for
4
102
6
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minchinhampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Wow, what a gem. Lovely rooms and a top class cocktail bar that is 5*. They don't do food, but there are lots of eateries within walking distance. Staff are very friendly and breakfast is continental, no hot food

Room Tip: room 1,2 and 3 are above bar and VERY noisy, so avoid, unless your the ones making the noise !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
496 helpful votes 496 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed here for a cocktail package on a Sunday night which was great value.

The hotel is right on the high street but there is parking behind it. We parked at the rear of the building and walked through the out door courtyard / drinking area and got checked in.

At the time there was a group of, shall we say, loud 20 somethings clearly having a good time outside which wasn't ideal but you can't blame them for enjoying the sun.

The room itself was in a house which which had been split up into rooms. Our room, 11, was on the top floor and therefore had some character thanks to the sloping roof. We loved the room, it was large, well laid out and really well decorated. Special mention to the bathroom, the shower was awesome. Absolutely brilliant shower and very stylish room overall. Certainly felt high quality in the room.

There was a continental breakfast included in the rate which was lovely but we didn't eat very much thanks to the cocktails the night before.

Room Tip: Room 11 is huge, with a sofa, coffee machine and amazing bathroom with a massive shower and full siz...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We recently attended a surprise birthday party for our daughter here. The staff did everything possible to make the moment special. Their flexibility, courtesy and clear desire to make our plans work helped make for a wonderful evening. If you add the quality of the accommodation and a stunning cocktail bar to their effective customer care, then you have the ingredients for a great night and a memorable stay.

Room Tip: Rooms in the annexe are particularly peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wellneededrest
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

the staff were very friendly.
good parking around the back of the hotel
the breakfast is basic. no cooked breakfast I am afraid.
The rooms were spotless and the walk in shower was amazing.
the cocktails on offer were lovely but expensive and slow to come, but then they are all made on the spot. only isue was that the wifi didn't work in the room. would I stay again. ? absolutely

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Visited in September 2011 for boyfriends birthday, FANTASTIC! Rooms well equipped, cocktails fantastic, service amazing. Returned winter last year but didn't stay this time, just drinks with friends - again fantastic service.
Actually booked for a week-on-Thursday (9th) as my own birthday treat from the boyfriend - driving up from our new home in South Wales (previously Lichfield!) for the occasion - Cant wait! Im sure it will again exceed expectations, I shall review again on completion of this next visit!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Fabulously stunning cocktail bar however service was incredibly slow, we waited nearly 30 minutes for our first drinks order to be taken and then had to ask for someone to come and get us further drinks through the night. can't even say it was because they were really busy. Cocktails were poor.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenilworthHotel, Owner at The Kenilworth Hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Dear Ms Soeson
Thank you for more of your feedback. We have discussed this at length in previous emails and i thought you understood the concept of the Kenilworth?
You complained that the cocktails didn't have sparklers or umbrellas and you feel that adding 'bling' to a cocktail is the most important ingredient to a drink. I'm sorry but we will have to disagree, but we do respect your opinion.

The table of 20 that was in before you held your table up and we apologised for that but we do not want to rush any guests and its always difficult to manage how fast people drink their drinks as we explained.

We offered a free cocktail masterclass for you and your husband so you could have a one to one with one of our award winning bartenders so you could understand why we don't need to use sparklers with our drinks, but you declined based on the fact i didn't offer the free masterclass to all of your friends as well.

Kind Regards
The kenilworth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Kenilworth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kenilworth Hotel

Address: 61 Warwick Road, Kenilworth CV8 1HN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Kenilworth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Kenilworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kenilworth is an 11 bedroom boutique Hotel & Cocktail lounge in Kenilworth, Warwickshire. Contemporary features and fittings in a 16th Century Building. Award winning cocktail lounge and voted as one of the top 50 destinations in the UK by 'The Independent'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Kenilworth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kenilworth Hotel Kenilworth
The Hotel Kenilworth
The Kenilworth Hotel Warwickshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kenilworth Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.